We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not recommended!”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife has been staying at this hotel (?) whilst on a course in Liverpool this week. The room has a great view over Albert Docks, is centrally located and .. errr .. that's about it! As the open golf is on this week the other hotels in the area are all full otherwise she would have moved, yes it is that bad. (1) No AC in the room, they do provide a small electric fan. Open the window and the noise from the street makes sleep impossible. (2) There is not an enclosed wardrobe, just a small hanging rail (3) There is not a single drawer in the room so have to leave clothes packed in suitcase all week (4) Free wifi in the room is for 30 minutes each day, trouble is they don't tell you which 30 so only been possible to log on once. (5) On arrival the room was not clean with such as make up smeared on the wall next to the mirror, what looked like blood on the bathroom door and lets just say what looked like tobacco on the window ledge! I could go on but by now think that you will get the overall picture! Breakfast was poorly prepared and edible only if you are not a fussy eater and consider food is just food. Certainly will not be using this place again.

Room Tip: Best tip would be to choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank billa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    551
    402
    152
    55
    48
See reviews for
232
509
84
83
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent location, right next to James Street station. A few minutes walk from Albert Dock and Liverpool One. Tesco express located in the same building, handy for snacks and drinks.

Although it claims that most rooms have baths, we just had a shower - quite small and poor water pressure. Only problem was the towels - we requested an additional small towel from reception and left all towels on the rail as advised if we didn't need them changing (eco friendly option as advertised) but all towels were taken and the additional one wasn't replaced. Seems a little pointless to have instructions on towels if they are ignored!

Otherwise a good stay, room was fine - plenty of space, view of the docks from the window.

Good restaurants nearby, didn't eat in the hotel but there are so many places you wouldn't need to.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kljohnson35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

One night stay to attend event at Liverpool Cathedral. Good location for Pier Head, Albert Dock. Room overlooking docks with good views. Busy road noise during day but quiet at night. Very helpful staff at Reception.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Gwen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fenny Compton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Pleasant enough staff, rooms small but very clean- everything worked and was comfortable. Would have preferred cushion on chair in room- apart from that very good value for money for an overnight stay

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Pubzillla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

Booked this hotel for a stag night great location not far from the docks or from the main bars thr rooms were very clean and tidy and staff were very helpful and there is a tesco next door would recomend for stag night cheap and good base

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank goldiecrewe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2014

I stayed in this Travelodge for 6 nights in July 2014. The location, staff & room generally were excellent. The hotel had been refurbished & was in keeping with the higher standard of rooms in this chain. I stay in Travelodges regularly. Under any other circumstances, this Travelodge would have earned 5 stars.
However the temperature in the room was stiflingly hot. As soon as I checked in, the staff warned me & offered me a fan. I havent needed one before but within a couple of hours, I took them up on their offer.The outside temperature was not excessively hot and very little direct sun hit the room. The fan made a slight difference, without it I would have checked out of the hotel & sacrificed my pre payment. To give an indication of the heat, I had a bar of chocolate with me overnight and it melted.
I would stay in this hotel again but never in the summer months unless they install air conditioning. I would have happily paid a few pounds a night extra for this. The staff were very sympathetic & helpful, I cant fault them. They said it was an ongoing problem with this hotel.

Room Tip: Avoid in the summer months. Rooms on the higher floors at the front have great views of the Albert D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniecrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

We chose this Travelodge for its views and travel convenience by public transport.
Arrived by train at James Street, hotel 200yds round the corner. Excellent check-in staff, they explained where the Travelodge was located, and gave us a map of Liverpool Centre and recommendations on where to go.
As we had requested a high room with a view, we were located on the top floor, and the receptionist apologised for the high temperatures, and gave us a fan. If it was too hot, we could be moved. The top floor lift lobby was extremely hot, with no opening windows, but the room was very clean and comfortable and not too hot with a restricted opening window. Did not use the restaurant, but breakfast seemed good.
WiFi no good on the top floor, needed to go down to reception. Free for 30 minutes only.
Good value for money stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fossil01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central Exchange Street Hotel
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central
Travelodge Liverpool Central
#46 of 97 in Liverpool
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand

Property: Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand
Address: 9 The Strand, Liverpool L2 0PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Travelodge Hotels Ltd, Agoda, LateRooms, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing