We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid in the Summer” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Nottingham
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Avoid in the Summer”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014

I stayed in this Travelodge for 6 nights in July 2014. The location, staff & room generally were excellent. The hotel had been refurbished & was in keeping with the higher standard of rooms in this chain. I stay in Travelodges regularly. Under any other circumstances, this Travelodge would have earned 5 stars.
However the temperature in the room was stiflingly hot. As soon as I checked in, the staff warned me & offered me a fan. I havent needed one before but within a couple of hours, I took them up on their offer.The outside temperature was not excessively hot and very little direct sun hit the room. The fan made a slight difference, without it I would have checked out of the hotel & sacrificed my pre payment. To give an indication of the heat, I had a bar of chocolate with me overnight and it melted...even with the fan on all night.
I would stay in this hotel again but never in the summer months unless they install air conditioning. I would have happily paid a few pounds a night extra for this. The staff were very sympathetic & helpful, I cant fault them. They said it was an ongoing problem with this hotel.
Another issue was once either the window was open or the fan was on, you couldn't hear the TV. The volume was set too low at its highest setting. I recently stayed in another Travelodge(Kew Bridge) during very hot weather, much hotter than my stay in Liverpool. There was a fan in the room when I arrived and whilst the hot was hot, it was bearable. The fan kept me cool. Plus when the fan was on, the TV volume setting was fine, much higher, and I had no problem hearing it.

Room Tip: Room Tip: Avoid in the summer months. Rooms on the higher floors at the front have great views of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anniecrocky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,113 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    502
    372
    143
    52
    44
See reviews for
214
467
77
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (188)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Check it is straight forward! when to room and the smell of lemons was overpowering but turned the air freshener off. Very clean! smoke detector flashing Lovely view over the docks. Only problem in sleep was smoke detector flashing red every 10 seconds. Breakfast was basic but the sausages where spot on in flavor and toast was average but they where tight on drink cups as they kept on running out. Very friendly! Would come again as it is superb!

Room Tip: Use your phone's data package and use WiFI Tethering as WiFi is a ripoff!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sprogletto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Booked this hotel last minute, an hour or so before arriving in Liverpool. Perfect location, central to pretty much everything and we had a fabulous view over Albert Docks. Check in was quick and easy, but when we got to our room we noticed it hadn't been cleaned, dirty towels in the bathroom, hairs in the bed, and other people's rubbish still on the desk. Not sure if this was down to our late booking but I'd have thought the room would be cleaned as soon as the previous guests had left! Told the reception staff who apologised and said they'd have a look, and gave us a new room. New room was lovely and clean, everything you'd expect from a Travelodge really. I think the room was around £55 for the night, cheapest we could find that central on short notice. Adequate really, but brilliant location.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LottieLotts27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
135 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

i was at a The Open Championship, and was looking for a hotel with convenient transport to and fro from Hoylake. Was lucky to find the this hotel, a 3 min walk to the station and right on the water front. The rate for Saturday was very High compared to the rate for Sunday, as i was leaving early morning Monday. The Internet was chargeable, but did not work in the mornings, although it worked absolutely fine in the night, seems the routers also fell asleep. The rate differential was too high between the 2 nights. The absence of connectivity with the reception from the room - in the event of an emergency was scary.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jchitlangia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

Unbearably hot room, no aircon, no luggage space. A hanging rail, one plastic chair, no extractor in bathroom - poor value at £140 per room for two nights. The second night, a special bargain rate advance booking was £89 per room because of the Open Golf,

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2014

My wife has been staying at this hotel (?) whilst on a course in Liverpool this week. The room has a great view over Albert Docks, is centrally located and .. errr .. that's about it! As the open golf is on this week the other hotels in the area are all full otherwise she would have moved, yes it is that bad. (1) No AC in the room, they do provide a small electric fan. Open the window and the noise from the street makes sleep impossible. (2) There is not an enclosed wardrobe, just a small hanging rail (3) There is not a single drawer in the room so have to leave clothes packed in suitcase all week (4) Free wifi in the room is for 30 minutes each day, trouble is they don't tell you which 30 so only been possible to log on once. (5) On arrival the room was not clean with such as make up smeared on the wall next to the mirror, what looked like blood on the bathroom door and lets just say what looked like tobacco on the window ledge! I could go on but by now think that you will get the overall picture! Breakfast was poorly prepared and edible only if you are not a fussy eater and consider food is just food. Certainly will not be using this place again.

Room Tip: Best tip would be to choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank billa55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014

Excellent location, right next to James Street station. A few minutes walk from Albert Dock and Liverpool One. Tesco express located in the same building, handy for snacks and drinks.

Although it claims that most rooms have baths, we just had a shower - quite small and poor water pressure. Only problem was the towels - we requested an additional small towel from reception and left all towels on the rail as advised if we didn't need them changing (eco friendly option as advertised) but all towels were taken and the additional one wasn't replaced. Seems a little pointless to have instructions on towels if they are ignored!

Otherwise a good stay, room was fine - plenty of space, view of the docks from the window.

Good restaurants nearby, didn't eat in the hotel but there are so many places you wouldn't need to.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kljohnson35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central Exchange Street Hotel
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central
Travelodge Liverpool Central
#46 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand

Property: Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand
Address: 9 The Strand, Liverpool L2 0PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand 3*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing