We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fab”
Review of The Grill Room - CLOSED

The Grill Room
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The Grill room in an intimate local restaurant on the border of West Derby. It is family run headed by locally renowned chef Stewart St John and his wife Maisie offering contemporary British cooking from fresh locally sourced produce in a warm and welcoming atmosphere.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“fab”
Reviewed 27 February 2014

This was the first time me and my partner had visited the grill room , we decided to eat there due to all the good reveiws and we wasnt let down , We were seated straight away and had our drinks within a few minutes we chose the early doors menu i had the crispy steak which had a nice little kick to it while my partner had the sol gojouns they looked and tasted so fresh , i had the steak also for my main me and its the first time in ages its been cooked totally to my taste , we had the homemade toffee sticky pudding which was my faviorte part of the meal ,, staff where friendly and professional would reccomend this place to any one and will be visiting again soon

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank katrina555303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

197 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    22
    8
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Wow! Could not rate this any higher..”
Reviewed 23 February 2014

My boyfriend and I visited here after reccomendation and seeing it's highly rated ranking on Trip Advisor. Originally we wanted somewhere in a more lively location where we could visit a few bars after but decided to still try out The Grill Room first and WoW we are glad we did! We are both steak lovers and have had steak in many places across Liverpool, this is defiantly up with my best fillet steak in Liverpool! Served with chips that were also very nice, a portobello mushroom and a tomato. To start my boyfriend had the salt and pepper ribs and I chose the fish cakes, we could not fault either dish!
The Pino Grigio wine we choose was also very nice!
The prices were quite reasonable, £18.95 for fillet steak, they also had an early bird menu for before 7 that sounded nice if you get in early!
Overall I would defiantly reccomend this restaurant!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LauraHen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
1 review
“Lovely place!!!”
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A lovely restaurant with excellent food, service and atmosphere. Cosy and modern. Couldn't fault the food......and wine :). Great value for money. Can't believe I didn't go sooner. Definitely can't wait to go back again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank laura2014xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Valentine's”
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

This was our 2nd visit to the Grill Room & once again we were not disappointed. We chose the Chateau Briand for our main which was cooked to perfection! Absolutely delicious! The staff were very friendly, taking their time to talk to us at our table. We will be going again!!

Helpful?
Thank Anne-Marie D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Splendid”
Reviewed 14 February 2014

Visited on valentine night early evening first time food was unbelievable staff very hospitable took care of all our needs lovely place will be visiting again can't believe how many times i have drove past without going in thank you genuine people

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mcpartland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Grill Room also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing