We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel with friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed 19 March 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Racquet Club Hotel in Liverpool. The hotel interior had a lot of character (check out the huge Moose head on the upstairs wall), our room was clean and well maintained with fresh towels and bedsheets, and staff members were professional, courteous, and extremely helpful with all requests (thanks for warming up the baby milk). I also found the quality of the food to be up to standards and very tasty.

Location wise the hotel is very near to the docks, so it is ideal if you want to check out the Beatles or Maritime Museum.

Would love to visit again on my next trip to Liverpool.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank xxghostbusterxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    138
    39
    28
    17
    14
See reviews for
53
78
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 March 2014

From the first moment we visited the Racquet Club we knew it would be the perfect venue for our wedding and we were not wrong. The Racquet Club is a lovely old building steeped rich in history, with heaps of character and charm, exactly what we were after. In addition the excellent food, staff and service made it a very easy decision for us to get married there. Our wedding which took place on the 9th March was fantastic in every way and we couldn't have asked for a better day. From start to finish the staff were highly professional and went out of their way to ensure every detail was taken care of and that every element of the day went smoothly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. A very special thanks to Helen the owner who we initially met with, Sue for answering my endless emails and Robert for his hands on approach with everything during the wedding. Unfortunate to see that one relative has deemed it necessary to write a negative review since our wedding but this is his opinion alone and was not shared by us or any other guests who have gone out of their way to tell us what a fabulous time they had. A huge thank you to everyone for making our day so perfect and we look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieRose75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire Dales National Park, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Stayed here on a Friday, visiting my son at Uni and a few weeks before my planned visit, an offer was emailed via Living Social as I was looking for accommodation, so I decided that at £59 for bed and full English breakfast this was a pretty good deal. Sadly, that was not the case. The room was very small for a double but to be fair, at the time of booking, this was mentioned, so wasn't a big disappointment, but what was very uncomfortable was the fact the radiator temperature gauge was broken and we couldn't turn it down from full on heat. Mentioned this at reception on our way out, but when we came back, around 1130, no-one mentioned anything on reception and when back in the room it was obvious nothing had changed since we mentioned it - the room was like a sauna. We had to sleep in the room with the heating on full all night which was incredibly uncomfortable. Breakfast was in a part of the restaurant where the furniture had seen better days. My chair had a broken wooden arm which pinched my hand every time I touched it to get up or sit down and the fabric on all the furniture was very worn and ripped in some instances. The breakfast looked great when it arrived, but went cold very quickly and the sausages tasted sour, which may be a personal preference, so not going to dwell on that. You may say that for £59, why complain and I would say that I'd rather have paid £100 and have everything a good standard otherwise it's a waste of money, no matter how good a deal it looks. The NCP car park cost me £15 for 24 hours, so add that on and it's up to £74. I've stayed previously in The Hoax and if you asked me which I preferred, I'd say The Hoax hands down. The staff we came into contact with at the Racquet Club Hotel weren't customer service orientated, rather indifferent I'd say and no-one seemed interested in asking if everything was okay from when we arrived to when we left. If I'm honest, would not stay here again.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Special-treats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for little Sis wedding which was fantastic loved seeing her get married however staff were rude indignant and overall to young to care. This didn't spoil sis s wedding but others noticed

Come on Racquet Club get some staff who love people and love providing a high quality service where nothing is to much trouble.


Rooms were on the expensive side and need updating side massive ceilings but really glad we didn't stay in height of summer as tiny opening window wouldn't give any relief.

We had a great time but would nt be our first choice

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank DJX135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRacquetClub, Manager at The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.
I’m very sorry you did not have the same experience as the Bride, Groom and the rest of their guests.

I am stunned at your comments reference the staff. I am very proud of the staff here at the Racquet Club. They are very hard working and do go out of their way to help everyone – especially on a wedding day. This is very apparent from all other wedding feedbacks on this site.

If there was a certain incident you would like to contact me over to discuss please get in touch with myself at the hotel and I will most certainly look into it.

Our rooms are not to everybody’s taste, but suit who we are – quirky and boutique. Come the heat of the summer we do indeed have to roll out the air conditioning units for the bedrooms!
I hope the in the future we can look after you again and show you why I am proud of my team here.

Thank you again for leaving us feedback

Robert Ferguson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, Lancs
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Managed together a great overnight stay deal with Living Social and delighted with our choice.
Hotel in northern business district but only a 10min walk to the retail and nightlife centre.
Has a small intimate feel as only 8 bedrooms and 2 self catering apartments. Excellent service, the staff couldn't do enough to help us.
Our room was large, high ceiling, decent bathroom ( though hard work getting the shower temperature just right) and good size flat screen TV. Quite quirky as a mix of modern and antique style furniture and a mix of eclectic art on the walls.
The double bed was incredibly comfortable, best sleep I've had in a hotel for ages. Not too hot either as so many hotel rooms are overheated.
Breakfast was great, my husband had the full English and was very pleased. A full plate and not a spot of grease anywhere. I had the continental and this was great too. The waiter was happy to swap my coffee for a hot chocolate at no extra charge too.
To summarise, if you want corporate perfection, this isn't the hotel for you. If you like character, comfort and quirkiness then you will love it. We will definitely recommend to others and return again.
Many thanks

Room Tip: We had room 3 on 2nd floor and absolutely fine tho the view wasn't great. To be fair Ts surround...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMRacquetClub, Manager at The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Thank you for taking time to leave is feedback!

I am delighted you both enjoyed your stay with us!

I think you hit the nail on the head with; “To summarise, if you want corporate perfection, this isn't the hotel for you. If you like character, comfort and quirkiness then you will love it”

We look forwarding to welcoming you back!


Robert Ferguson
Deputy General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Got married in the Club Rooms, followed by a meal with close family in the Private Dining Room and a party in the evening with more family and friends. We booked the 8 bedrooms for us, friends and family to stay - also gave us an extra hour on the bar! The whole day was amazing from start to finish. The attention to detail and care given by Donna and the rest of the team was second to none. Quite simply and at the risk of sounding like a cliche "the best day of my life" and this was at least partly down to the venue - thank you Racquet Club, keep doing what you do the way you do it xxx

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank joyis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Waterloo,Liverpool
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Just back from an excellent evening at Ziba restaurant. ! A real find. On entering, were enthralled by the architecture and history of the building. Luckily, the standards were matched by the fabulous food and service. Went with husband and another couple, and all of us thoroughly
enjoyed every selection of our 3 course meal. We each chose various meals and sampled each between us, all without complaint,! Perfect evening with good food, excellent service and fabulous company! Get yourselves there x

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stephfraser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,415 reviews
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,647 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant

Property: The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant
Address: Hargreaves Building 5 Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9AG, England (Formerly The Liverpool Racquet Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racquet Club Hotel And Ziba Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing