We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never again!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Never again!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 April 2014

Booked Racquet Club but moved to Unity building, no choice, no explanation, not what we booked; disgusting, never again!
We arrived at 3pm when we were told we could check-in but the room wasn't ready for another hour and was in another building a few minutes’ walk away. The apartment was grim to say the least; the toilet seat didn't fit the toilet base and was broken anyway; blood on back of bathroom door; sink leaked, toilet brush broken, someone else's clothing left in wardrobe, bedside table broken, bathroom carpet disgustingly dirty, shabby decor and furnishings in general. Reminded me of a student flat. No resemblance to the photos on TripAdvisor whatsoever. Definitely not what we expected and not what we paid for.

Room Tip: Refuse to be located in the Unity Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rexxy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    38
    28
    17
    14
See reviews for
51
78
6
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Polish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 April 2014 via mobile

We had a lovely wedding with 115 day guests on a Sunday in March 2014. Everything the staff could do they did. The Racquet Club really did make our wedding day special. The rooms have lovely high ceilings, the staff have a brilliant attitude and are really helpful. Everything ran smoothly and this was due to a well run place, all the staff should be thanked but especially Sue who calmly moved it all along on the day.
Thanks from a very happy groom

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew_Gillett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cheshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014

Hotel not so easy to find, however the building is impressive. The staff were excellent and went the 'extra mile', couldn't fault any of them at all. We went on a deal so not sure if we were given a 'cheaper room' so can only comment on this one. The bed was very small for a couple, the bathroom was in need of refurbishment, the shower/bath looked good but not very practical. I would say the room was 'tired'. We ate in the bar in the evening and the food was adequate but price was okay for bar food, we didn't have time to eat in the restaurant but it looked very nice. Breakfast was in the area next to the bar, which was a little like a canteen but the food was adequate.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dimcCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

Went to a wedding here on the 9th March 2014 and it was the perfect location for a wonderful day. Staff were polite and attentive and the food was lovely and plentiful! I would definetly recommend this hotel for a wedding and might even use it myself!

Check out the moose at the top of the stairs. We nicknamed him Steve.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Frank2604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

We attended the Racquet Club for our daughter's wedding on 9th March and were highly impressed with the whole thing. Many thanks to Robert who we cannot praise too highly for all his help and organisational skills. The food and the service was excellent as were all the staff we came into contact with. There was absolutely nothing we would have changed about the day, everything was perfect.

The Racquet Club is a beautiful old building full of old world charm and very impressive. Our bedroom was massive and perhaps a little 'tired' but this did not detract from the overall comfort and enjoyment of our stay.

Very sad to see the negative review considering all the positive, glowing reactions from our other guests.

We would not hesitate to recommend this as a wedding venue. Thank you Racquet Club for making the day so special.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathryn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

I really enjoyed my stay at the Racquet Club Hotel in Liverpool. The hotel interior had a lot of character (check out the huge Moose head on the upstairs wall), our room was clean and well maintained with fresh towels and bedsheets, and staff members were professional, courteous, and extremely helpful with all requests (thanks for warming up the baby milk). I also found the quality of the food to be up to standards and very tasty.

Location wise the hotel is very near to the docks, so it is ideal if you want to check out the Beatles or Maritime Museum.

Would love to visit again on my next trip to Liverpool.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank xxghostbusterxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

From the first moment we visited the Racquet Club we knew it would be the perfect venue for our wedding and we were not wrong. The Racquet Club is a lovely old building steeped rich in history, with heaps of character and charm, exactly what we were after. In addition the excellent food, staff and service made it a very easy decision for us to get married there. Our wedding which took place on the 9th March was fantastic in every way and we couldn't have asked for a better day. From start to finish the staff were highly professional and went out of their way to ensure every detail was taken care of and that every element of the day went smoothly. Nothing was too much trouble for them. A very special thanks to Helen the owner who we initially met with, Sue for answering my endless emails and Robert for his hands on approach with everything during the wedding. Unfortunate to see that one relative has deemed it necessary to write a negative review since our wedding but this is his opinion alone and was not shared by us or any other guests who have gone out of their way to tell us what a fabulous time they had. A huge thank you to everyone for making our day so perfect and we look forward to visiting again soon!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SophieRose75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#21 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant

Property: The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant
Address: Hargreaves Building 5 Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9AG, England (Formerly The Liverpool Racquet Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racquet Club Hotel And Ziba Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing