We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We have just returned from a fantastic 2 days at this Hotel on a Living Social deal. We enjoyed every minute of our stay, all the staff we met were extremely friendly and helpful. The breakfast was cooked to order and served with a smile. Our room was comfortable and clean, the furniture a little tired but the bathroom very modern. We would certainly stay here again it is within walking distance of everything in Liverpool and very close to the Waterfront.

Room Tip: We had a room on the side of the Hotel and found it very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank CarolynBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 237 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

We stayed at the Racquet Club for 2 nights on a Living Social deal which offered fantastic value for money. The hotel was spotlessly clean and comfortable. There was a fan and an air conditioning unit in the room which offered good relief in the hot weather. The breakfast was made to order and was delicious and we didn’t have any issues with slow service. All of the staff from reception, the bar staff and the night porter were extremely friendly and when we checked in the receptionist even asked if we needed directions for anywhere. The hotel is ideally placed for both the docks and the town centre and we would look to return to this hotel if we ever go back to Liverpool.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank VickyW1910
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

We had an 80th birthday party for my Mum here earlier this month - what a great time was had by all. Excellent service, great food and lovely private room. Special mention to the staff who served us whilst eating - fantastic! Everbody was very helpful and I would recommend this venue to everyone. OK, little tired in places but dont let that put you off.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank LiverpoolBoy65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2014 via mobile

I found the racquet club by complete accident, but what a find. Very individual. Don't be put off by some of the other reviews; yes sine of the furniture is "loved", but you could find exactly the same in a chain hotel, and I stayed on a very hot night and slept fine. I know that these boutique hotels aren't for everyone but it was just what I was looking for, will definetly return. If you do go make sure you check out the moose had on the stairs!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Nicholas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Unbelievable venue, location and Sue Donna and the team are amazing. We booked the racquet club after being shown round and fell in love with the place. Nothing was too much trouble for Sue and the team. My endless stupid email questions were always pole answered and nothing was ever too much trouble. We booked the whole place the day before and the day of the wedding and despite being stressed once we arrived sue made everything ok, the ceremony was held in the racquet club with 88 guests. It was amazing the amount of our guests that said it was the best wedding food they have ever had was amazing!! It's the little touches that make sur and her team so amazing like sorting out my car parking because I missed the deadline!! If u want an amazing fantastic venue with an unbelievable team of staff who feel nothing is too much trouble this is the place for you! Anyone who rates the racquet club any then less than amazing is obviously bonkers, we r booking our anniversary there already! I could go on but to be honest they are amazing and make a potentially stressful time fantastic. Sue I love you!! It's a god job I'm Marie to David x x xx

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
3  Thank Matt P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

There is good and bad about this hotel.  For a start, I guess I didn't read the small print.  The 'apartments' are not actually at the Racquet Club but across the road and around the corner.  Not far but not so easy to pop down for breakfast or a drink at the bar. So no different really from not staying at the Racquet Club.

The advantage of the apartments is that they have fridge, microwave, plates and utensils but they lack a few things that would make them feel like home: tea towels, a shelf in the fridge for wine bottles, beer glasses, a toilet brush and a bath mat.  And a reasonably sized bin.  The one provided was no bigger than an ice bucket and doubled as the door stop.  Several of the lights had missing or faulty bulbs and there were signs of mildew, probably partly due to the fact that fan didm't work in the bathroom.  The decor was modern but not necessarily functional.  Glass tables are about as practical as leather hankies.  And the chairs were harder than the floor.  So with the sofa converted into a bed there was nowhere comfortable to sit.  And having a shower was like trying to land the space shuttle.  For holiday let's you need to keep things simple.  These apartments were clearly not designed as holiday lets.

The Racquet Club itself is not as elegant as the name and prices imply.  Cold and empty and lacking character.  The dinner (£16 mains) was expensive but ok - Welsh lamb perfectly pink - the continental breakfast at £8 was just expensive.  It lacked fruit but instead had enough pastries to start a bakery or a heart attack.  Might as well have chosen the £12 full English.

Staff were friendly but the overall impression was of a hotel charging 5 star prices based purely on their name. If you are looking for accommodation in Liverpool, compare it with apartments rather than hotels and give the food a miss.

Location was perfect for us. A few minutes walk to James Street station for the train to the Open at Hoylake.  Good sightseeing, Liver Building, peer and the Cavern district less than 10 minutes walk.  There are also two supermarkets within 2 minutes walk to make use of the apartment and avoid the overpriced restaurant.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank MartinDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Me and my husband held our wedding reception here in June 2014 and it was quite simply amazing.
I had taken on the task of doing a lot of things myself (such as centre pieces and candy cart) and was a little worried about the logistics of getting it all in place but Sue, Donna and Helen were fantastic and they could not do enough for us, taking away all of the stress.
The team at the Racquet Club were incredible and they made sure everything went to plan and that we had the perfect day from start to finish. I cannot praise them enough for everything that they did.
For our wedding breakfast we had a three course meal followed by bacon and sausage sandwiches and fish and chip cones in the evening. The food was fantastic and all our guests commented how much they enjoyed it.
We stayed the night, along with a number of our guests, and enjoyed a beautiful room with a very comfortable bed.
The venue itself is such a pretty place and I love the period décor which gives it so much character and makes it stand out from everywhere else. It truly is a gem in Liverpool City Centre and I cannot recommend it enough to anyone thinking of having an event there, or to anyone who would just like somewhere great to eat.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Charlotte S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 98 in Liverpool
1,621 reviews
Central Liverpool
Mercure Liverpool Atlantic Tower Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool by Marriott
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,471 reviews
Central Liverpool
L3 Living at Irwell Chambers
L3 Living at Irwell Chambers
#47 of 111 in Liverpool
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant

Address: Hargreaves Building 5 Chapel Street, Liverpool L3 9AG, England (Formerly The Liverpool Racquet Club)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 111 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range: £59 - £151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Racquet Club Hotel And Ziba Restaurant

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing