We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (264)
Filter reviews
264 results
Traveller rating
152
47
32
19
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
152
47
32
19
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wedding venue mini fish and chips fabulous wedding in liverpool city centre pier head member of staff lovely room saturday night racquets docks
Filter
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 264 reviews
Reviewed 7 October 2016

Location ideal to all Liverpool has to offer-tho our room overlooked the Pig and whistle pub entrance there was not much going on mid week ,bare in mind there's been times fri/sat previous music is blasting from here.
The building has so much to give and Is being let down by its shabby rooms ,I feel the hotel is not the priority but focusing on the weddings as a income.
Our room initially a fair size,bathroom with original roll top bath ,lovely high ceilings,newish carpet and updated wallpaper,bathroom very clean and tidy.
Lady on entrance very polite and helpful.
Fans in the room as no aircon
No WiFi as mentioned on the site we booked from,only communal area.
Dog friendly .

Then you spot the overly dirty coffee pot-where spoons have been dipped in out and all grubby..sleigh bed has been fixed many times which makes the loudest of noises at every turn,dust on the 2 bedside lamp shades and stains,thick dust on top of the mirror.
Closed the curtains to find what looks like crimes scene fingerprint dust (with full hand print on the inside of curtain) entrance light not working and a bulb out on the desk lamp.
A loose tile entering bathroom ,and a empty shower gel bottle shoved in the bath mat-which is probably still there..Had anyone asked how our stay was upon leaving I'd probably of just pointed these things out -as they need rectifying in my eyes.
Possibly get rid of the large writing mat on desk as it's had its day and update all 3 lampshades to match as a quick fix.Room 6

Room tip: Check the bed asap,ask for a quiet room upon booking
Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2016

Historic building needs renovations for temperature. We had a business event and it was extremely hot !!!!
Location is realy good. Architecture and decor very traditional. Somekind luxury. Old fashion.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Service
Thank Sandra V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2016

The staff at this hotel make it very nice, plus Frank the office dog gave this traveller her dog fix. There were a few gripes, though. Wi Fi is only available in the common areas which they do advertise, but it makes it difficult to stay in touch with family (although some people may prefer this!). There are only 8 rooms, and it was nice and quiet, but the hallway where the rooms are located is very narrow. My room was very comfy for a single traveller, but couples may be a bit cramped. The shower leaked underneath the claw foot tub, and the floor was wet when I checked in.

I did have a lovely breakfast in the restaurant, and again, the staff was very attentive. The location is great, easy walk to all there is to see and do around the docks, and a nice walk to restaurants downtown.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 September 2016

What awful food. Food was almost cold and the chicken was so dry you could hardly swallow it. Best was the soup starter and nice piece of bread with it. The hotel need a complete upgrade. Furniture in bedrooms very tatty not just old but extremely tatty. Worn carpets throughout. Breakfast which cost £12 per head was absolutely awful. Sausages burnt, so hard they wouldn't cut. Scrambled egg runny not cooked enough, the whole plate was luke warm. Bacon was salty and fused together. Never again.

Date of stay: September 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank stringey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2016 via mobile

Overall we enjoyed our stay at the hotel. The room was quite old fashioned but in keeping with the building. Bed was comfortable and the staff were nice too. The hotel is in a good location and if you're not having breakfast at the hotel I would recommend going to Ma Boyle's which is next to the church at the end of the road.

Date of stay: September 2016
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank BEACHBALL123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews