We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel service and staff”
Review of hope street hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
hope street hotel
Ranked #12 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Stayed in one of the deluxe rooms number 117 which was excellent.
View was poor overlooking a derelict building but quiet except for the noisy neighbour falling through his door at 4am Sunday morning.
Shower and bath two of the biggest we have come across and the room has everything except for a mirror near to the dressing table.
Reception staff are excellent and the parking at £10 per day is reasonable for the inner city.
Breakfasts were good and plentiful. The Liverpool Philarmonic is 100yds away and there are plenty of bars and restaurants to choose from.
You are a good 15-20mins walk away from Liverpool one and the dock area. OK going downhill but coming back with all the shopping, take a taxi for £4.
Best hotel we have stayed in for some time even accounting for the waiter accidentally spilling a glass of wine and tonic water over my trousers on the first day!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank michaelgrainger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,743 - 1,749 of 2,114 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

We picked the hotel based on reviews and the close location to the Philharmonic and really had an excellent stay.
The hotel is in a good location between Liverpools two cathedrals and far enough out of town to avoid the chaos that comes with that.
We arrived early at the hotel and left our bags whilst we had some lunch, on returning to check in we had the pleasant surprise of being upgraded to a penthouse suite. The room was fantastic comprising of two floors and balconies on either side of the hotel with amazing views of the city.
All the staff were very helpful and attentive and deserve a big thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thegayrabbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Creative Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear thegayrabbi,

Thank you for such lovely comments, and we are pleased you enjoyed the view from our terraces – it’s a fantastic view over the city as far as Wales! We often work with the Phil and put together concert packages, so watch out for these in the future.

Best wishes,
Mary CD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Relaxing overnight break. Couldn't fault. Delicious food,lovely room and friendly staff.We will return!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Creative Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear Leri,

Delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, we look forward to your return and hope it is soon!

Best wishes,
Mary CD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

We stayed in a fourth floor suite with two adults, 2 children and a pram. There was also a wedding on while we stayed but we had none of the issues others described. Everyone was very helpful, the room was so nice we stayed for another day. Room service was quick, the food was beautiful and everything was extra comfy, extra cool and extra nice. It is an expensive hotel but they make it worthwhile

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spookycucumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Creative Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear spookycucumber,

It was lovely to have you all to stay an extra night, we have some fantastic family rooms. We also have some great value offers aimed at families, including this easter so do look at our website!

Best wishes,
Mary CD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2012

Excellent service all round. The staff were incredibly helpful and polite. The room was spacious, clean and very comfortable, with everything you could need, provided. A really luxurious feel yet great value for money. The food was fantastic. The rooms do have underfloor heating but easy to control. I cant fault it, and I have to travel an awful lot so have had the opportunity to see the best and worst of hotels in this country, and this is certainly one of the best!

Room Tip: The room I stayed in was facing the court yard, so was very quiet. I did ask for a quiet room and I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RKM_08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Creative Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear RKM_08,

What a compliment to hear you consider us one of the best hotels in the country. We are really proud of our staff for how often they are complimented on how polite and helpful they are. Thank you so much for sharing your kind feedback and for a full five out of five all round!

Best wishes,
Mary CD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 February 2012

Helpful, friendly staff. Room large and clean. Road facing bathrooms have an open view from offices across the road ! Shower controls are complicated but apart from this not much to fault.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank smowbray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Creative Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear smowbray,

Thank you very much for your feedback and your compliments about our staff. Some bathrooms do have a view, but all have full blinds for privacy. We hope you will be returning, if you do then let us know if you have a room preference with regards to your bathroom and we will ensure it is granted.

Best wishes,
Mary CD.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2012

Check in- fast, friendly.Rooms - Stylish, basic, but too hot!Food, London Carriage works is average food but good value for money.Service-average. Not bad, but could be better.Vale for money- very good indeed. Goods deals out there.

Thank louismichaelphillips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Creative Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 9 March 2012

Dear louismichaelphillips,

Thank you for your feedback, we will work on the average and not bad! Most of our rooms have air conditioning so do request this if you return. We have great value offers year-round on our website.

Best wishes,
Mary CD

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,323 reviews
Hard Days Night Hotel
#29 of 99 in Liverpool
3,286 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
3,487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#14 of 99 in Liverpool
2,552 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hope street hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hope street hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#7 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £73 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — hope street hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, MrandMrsSmith, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your hope street hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing