We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hoped for more”
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds west yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hoped for more”
Reviewed 15 April 2012

My husband and i stayed at this hotel on Thursday 12 April which unbeknown to us at the time was the first day of the races. As such i think the place was busier than usual. Check in was good, our room being ready straight away at 1 o clock. We were also able to park our car securely across the road straight away.

The suite appeared lovely if a little hot but a call to reception led to a member of staff coming to attend to the air conditioning straight away. However it was clear that this just didnt work and the room remained stifling all night which made me feel a little panicked at times and it was difficult to sleep although the bed was very comfy. There was also a chunk out of the bath and the water from the walk in shower drained very slowly and the door didnt shut so you wouldnt want to be too long taking a shower.

There was some noise from late night revellers but we were on the 4th floor so it wasnt too bad. However as the hotel is close to the universities i imagine during term time this may be worse.

There were blinds on the dormer style windows which worked well but on the mezzanine there was a large inaccessible window which just let all the light in anyway. It was very bright.

Breakfast was ok and the staff were very friendly but overall we did expect more from this hotel.

Room Tip: make sure its not too hot or noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Jolls,

We are sorry you did not experience all that you hoped for. kind regards, Mary Creative Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,232
    454
    157
    59
    29
See reviews for
240
955
75
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

This is the sort of hotel Liverpool needs - the staff are friendly and helpful, the rooms are big and comfortable and the whole place has a nice feel to it. It is surrounded by great restaurants, pubs and theatres. What is not to like?

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Craetive Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Sarah C,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are very proud of our neighbours and Hope Street , one of the most exciting streets in Europe! Two cathedrals, two theatres, one Concert Hall, six independant restaurants and famous pub - all within five minutes from one end to the other and thats not everything!

Best wishes, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wigan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2012

It all started to go wrong when I rang to book a room. ‘We’ve only suites left’ was the receptionist’s reply; which wasn’t what the web site was displaying. I booked a deluxe room via the web site. On arrival, despite my eye being taken by the attentive and attractive reception staff I noticed the white door through to their office was grubby and the area around the handle heavily soiled. Our room itself, at the rear of the property, was very cold as we entered; a quick click on the aircon set it into action, which we discovered hours later had, despite displaying 22 degrees, just circulated cold air.
Unpacking brought realisation that there wasn’t a storage draw in the wardrobe or in the bedside fitments so underwear, socks and the like had to live in the case. There were dressing gowns in the wardrobe but they looked grubby and smelt stale. Trying to enter the bathroom brought another surprise. The door opened about 8” (20cm) and jammed. A good hard shove was needed to open it any further. The bathroom looked attractive but wasn’t very functional. The clear glass window was overlooked by other bathrooms; the wet room style shower had no shelf so shower gel or whatever was left on the bath, a full step away, or on the floor. The screen to the side of the shower was too small so water splashed a fair distance, particularly when distributed by the small of a bent back. Lighting didn’t suit shaving or make up, nor did the lighting in the room. The toilet seat wasn’t centralised on the bowl resulting in unnecessary staining. The toilet paper was suitable for exfoliating but fell apart in use.
We went to the restaurant at 6pm and found it was fully booked for the night. There were no suitable tables in the bar or guest lounge to eat at in comfort. We felt our deluxe room, presuming that is what we were actually given, was too small to eat in. Pity reception didn’t mention the restaurant situation when we booked in.
Returning to the guests lounge late in the evening we noticed the leather on the settee punctured and veneers peeled from table edges.
The overnight noises in our room where extreme. There was a night long buzz from air extractors; the clunk of shoes on wood and bathroom noises from adjacent rooms. Rain on the external metal wall dropped to ping the pressed metal windowsill in the style of the Chinese water torture.
At breakfast the order was immediately taken for cooked options which arrived before we’d had a chance to finish cereals. The sausage seemed poor quality, the poached eggs were hard and the bacon swam in fat.
I wanted this hotel to work for me as I regularly visit both the Cathedrals and the Philharmonic. Some of the youngish staff are excellent, but a couple of them seemed a bit smug. Goes without saying, but I will anyway, that we won’t be going back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank dmg48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broxbourne, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 11 April 2012

Great hotel, lovely huge bed, fantastic room and most of all brilliant friendly staff. Breakfast was the best hotel breakfast i have ever had.
Can't recommend it highly enough, we will be back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChrisH851
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Chris H,

Fantastic review!

Thank you, Mary C CD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cockermouth
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 April 2012

A well situated hotel in Liverpool tastefully renovated from a Victorian building. Pleasant welcome and pleasing room. Very noisy throughout the night as thoughtless guests rattled around on the wooden floors. Breakfast was mediocre, poor service. Very expensive for what it is with an appalling check-out where three different versions of the bill were offered.
Opinion - nice idea but could do (much) better for the price.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Angus B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Angus B,

We apologise for any confusion at check out, a genuine misunderstanding.

Kind regards, MC CD
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

We held our wedding ceremony, reception and evening do at the hotel on Easter weekend. It was everything we dreamed of and more. The venue worked really well covering all areas of the wedding, and all the staff were fantastic in making the day run smoothly. Every detail was considered and any special requests were met without question or fuss, allowing us to create the day we wanted. The rooms were beautiful, particularly 'The Fifth' which despite typical North West wet weather provided a stunning backdrop to the wedding breakfast. The Residents Lounge was an interesting space for an informal but sophisticated evening do, with lots of different areas to relax, mingle, dance and enjoy the superb buffet which was well commented on by all. Many of our guests stayed at the hotel and were really impressed with the food- from the wedding breakfast to the 'recovery' breakfast, it was all outstanding and was coupled with great service. The guest bedrooms were very clean, well maintained, and were all unique, with wonderful big, comfy beds and impressive bathroom facilities and features.
We wanted an easy going, informal wedding that retained a sense of occasion and importance, and that is exactly what we got. Thank you Hope Street Hotel X

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth6412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Ruth6412,

We loved your wedding, it was a lovely day in the hotel for us as well! Thank you to all your family and friends and see you for your anniversary!

Best wishes, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

Beautifully updated hotel, all exposed brick, natural woods and contemporary accents. The room was really comfortable and lovely and breakfast in the morning was seriously delicious. Liverpool is great for walking around and exploring and the Hope Street hotel is maybe a 10-15 minute walk to the downtown area. It was just a quick one night stay, but I'd definitely stay again.

Room Tip: I'd recommend asking where your room is located within the hotel, it's a bit of a rabbit'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Creative Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 20 April 2012
Dear Alex L,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are so glad you had a super time with us and the city.

Best Wishes, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Property: Hope Street Hotel
Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#5 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing