We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very attractive city centre pad” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
Ranked #11 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
177 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
“Very attractive city centre pad”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2012

Stayed two nights here, excellent location, clean and good quality facilities, at times painfully trendy but none the worse for that. Breakfast slightly chaotic but nice. I would come back.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank idandb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,889 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,205
    441
    156
    58
    29
See reviews for
235
934
73
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (380)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

The location is great with easy access to all Liverpool has to offer. Deluxe room met all our needs (except hair dyrer!). Good safe parking. Friendly and helpful staff. Superb food. Coming back!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank leicestershire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

We booked Hope Street Hotel for our wedding after falling in love with it over a year ago on our first look round. It made all other venues look stuffy, boring and old fashioned and the prices were also very reasonable for the quality they were offering.

We dealt with Laura initially and she has been fantastic from the get go always responding quickly - nothing has been too much trouble.

We had our entire day and night at the hotel - 50 in the day and then 130 overall for the evening. The staff helped us create the most perfect day that was intimate, chic and relaxed. The food was amazing and so was the tasting session that we had prior to the wedding which was included in the wedding package.

Laura and the team were very flexible and basically allowed me to do what I wanted with the rooms and spaces that we had. Nothing was too much trouble which is exactly what you want for your wedding day.

Service on the day was also wonderful and we had a lovely guy called Dan taking care of everything - he was very professional and made sure every thing ran smoothly.

We also had several friends and family staying at the hotel and again this was dealt with excellently and we cannot praise the reservations team enough who were kind enough to place little gifts in each persons room. The rooms were amazing and we got upgraded to the most beautiful room.

The food, atmosphere, customer service and overall quality of the day we were given was outstanding and every person that attended was blown away by the venue and staff. This is a fantastic little wedding gem that you should definitely look into for your big day - you won't be disappointed :-D We cannot wait to return for our complimentary anniversary stay next year - thank you!!! xxxxxxxxxxxx Kate

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank katie2952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2012

I cannot recommend this hotel too highly. It doesn't feel part of a chain (maybe it isn't). The building is a former industrial one and it has been very nicely converted. We stayed for three nights: staff helpful and friendly, public areas comfortable, nice bar with good drinks open late, comfortable leather seating. Bedrooms very nicely decorated, mine had bare brick behind the wooden headboard. The floors are nice wood, the colours soothing. Great free toiletries in the bathroom and good biscuits, selection of tea, coffee and hot choc in the room, plus still and sparkling mineral water which is replaced when finished.
The breakfast is very high class, with a great range of a la carte dishes and an appetising buffet with great, generously filled fruit cups (and the fruit is really fresh). Great fruit juices.
We paid £99 per room, which is really cheap as it included a lavish and generous breakfast.
Unlike many hotels in the UK, you had the feeling the management and staff cared about the guests' well-being. It was a feelgood experience all-round, and a haven after a hard day's work.
One small minus: the journey from lobby to first floor rooms is complicated and involves two sets of steps as well as several (fire) doors. If you have a heavy bag, even with wheels, it's not easy. But this is a small quibble, really.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
43 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2012

A perfect place to stay in Liverpool. This was the perfect antidote to chain hotels. Great service, well laid out large room and a fantastic breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mwilkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
456 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2012

Excellent boutique hotel with exceedingly friendly staff. Rooms are very clean and comfortable with good sized bathroom/shower. Big soft towels!
Restaurant serves excellent quality food. Scallops and beef well cooked wihout any over-elaboration. Good choice of cheeses if you are not tempted by the desserts. Reasonable wine list at average mark-up prices.
Good location, walkable to Conference centre and a lot more life to it than some of the hotels down in docks area.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Parkgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2012

We only live across the Mersey on the Wirral but had been wanting to stay overnight in one of the many hotels which now service the city. After talking to friends and checking on Tripadvisor we opted for the Hope Street Hotel and had a fabulous time.
We wanted to spend the day shopping and visiting the museums so arrived early at the hotel and the welcoming receptionist stored our bag and 10 minutes later we had walked to the heart of Liverpool where we enjoyed our day. Returning to the hotel, our room was ready and it was spotlessly clean with a large double-ended bath and wetroom shower. (see room tip below)
We had heard that the food in the London Carriage Works within the hotel was very special and it was absolutely delicious. We were allowed to take our time and savour each course by the friendly and informative staff. Consequently, we indulged in the dessert course and it became the perfect dining experience.
Special thanks to Tracy Williams, the reservations manager, for looking after us and making our stay most enjoyable and memorable for all of the right reasons.

Room Tip: Studio room 419 has 2 huge windows - one looking out to the river with views of the Liver buildings...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Parkgategirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,783 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,266 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Shankly Hotel
The Shankly Hotel
#5 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,027 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Property: Hope Street Hotel
Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Expedia and TravelUp so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing