We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“90 rooms yet personal and luxurious”
Review of hope street hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
hope street hotel
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 December 2013

I write this. Sat in my incredible room on Christmas Day. Hailing from Liverpool, when I've returned home, it's rare that I've experienced the service I've experienced around the globe on business and pleasure that I have here. I am delighted to say that not only does Hope Street match up, it demolishes competition. As a proud scouser, this is exactly the kind of venue I want visitors to experience. Sat perfectly between the two cathedrals, that, let's be honest, any other city would long to have one of, the building exhumes warmth and comfort. But, that said, the staff elevate the hotel to standards not witnessed at any of the hotels I've stayed at before. Bias for my city aside (my partner is from the south east) this is the best hotel we have stayed at, and pardon my French, value wise it takes the piss. Thank you so much to the staff because, already, you have exceeded expectations and really made our stay far beyond anything we had anticipated. Will and Vikki

Stayed: December 2013
1  Thank TheLa81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear TheLa81 aka Will and Vikki, Thank you so much for your lovely comments and I am so glad you enjoyed being with us and back in our wonderful city. We have all had a group hug!
Hope to see you return soon if not next Christmas. Best wishes, Mary C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,032)
There are newer reviews for hope street hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 2,032 reviews

Reviewed 23 December 2013

My partner booked us into the Hope Street hotel for my birthday. She had emailed in advance that it was for a special occasion and we were not disappointed. We were given a room upgrade on arrival and a complimentary drink. The room was clean and well equipped. The staff were very helpful and the breakfast freshly cooked with a good choice of cereals, fruit etc. I would recommend this to anyone.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bletch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear bletch, Thank you for your lovely post and belated birthday wishes. Look out for our offers for a return visit for clever partner! All the best, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here recently with a view to having a relaxing break. Impossible! Every step on the wooden floor (barefoot) created a squeak and each turn in bed resulted in a creak. Walls very thin and room was way too warm even though I adjusted the temperature. Surrounding noise from heels tip tapping overhead and what sounded like a tumble dryer/washing machine next door meant a disappointing sleep quality. That said, I found the staff to be pleasant and efficient. The Liverpool breakfast was not very warm and bacon portions were inconsistent in that I had one rasher and my partner had two. The black pudding unfortunately resembled a dried up dog doodah, so put me off. The second morning my smoked salmon and scrambled egg was fantastic, tasted divine.
I find the hotel to be overpriced for what should have been relaxing..... I can still hear those squeaky floors now......

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lorraine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2013

Dear goodbuddha, We are sorry you were inconvenienced by any noise if your room. As you say we do have solid wood - Birch - floors, so beautiful we could not bare to cover them. However all rooms have complimentary slippers so our guests can kick their shoes off immediately and relax. The breakfast team apologise for unfair portions ( just a slip) and are happy you thought salmon and scrambled fantastic. Best wishes, Mary

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2013 via mobile

The hotel is centrally located within easy walking distance of pubs shops museums and train station. The staff are friendly and really helpful. The rooms are clean ,beds comfortable and en suite is lovely even if you do need a degree in engineering to work out the lights and the taps! Would recommend and would stay there again if I go back to Liverpool Liverpool itself is a lovely city with friendly locals.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fiona S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Fiona S, Thank you for your lovely post and we are glad you enjoyed being with us and in Liverpool. We hope you venture south of the border again! Best wishes, Mary C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

We stayed here to go to the Philharmonic Hall. It was a lovely hotel with friendly staff, lifts that came when you called them, Scandinavian type decor, comfortable room, and a really good price. The bar had extremely comfortable chairs and we enjoyed a drink there after the show. All in all we would return if we could get the same good rate.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank carolyndaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Carolyn daw, Thank you for your kind review. We are so glad you got to see everything and look out for our seasonal offers. Best wishes, Mary C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

A wonderful hotel in a great location. My partner and I stayed here as we wanted to be near the centre of town, and also close enough to Anfield. We were not disappointed! The room was one of the best we have ever stayed in, really modern and comfortable..bliss! Only wish we could have stayed longer than one night! Cant comment on the breakfast as we did not purchase this at the hotel, though in hindsight we probably should have done as £10 pp was not a lot to charge by hotel standards. We would definitely look to stay again!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheenah s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear Sheenah s, Thank you for your lovely post and we would be delighted to welcome you both back. Best wishes, Mary C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

The rooms were classy with a Scandinavian feel. The bathrooms felt luxurious with a large tub. The dinning room and lounge had excellent food choices and were decorated in a warm and elegant way. A joy to stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tkelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2013

Dear ktelm, Thank you for your lovely post. You used some of our favourite words; charm, warm, elegant and two together, excellent food! Best wishes, Mary C

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,150 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 98 in Liverpool
3,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,454 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 98 in Liverpool
1,773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hope street hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hope street hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £72 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — hope street hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Expedia, TravelUp, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your hope street hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing