We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
hope street hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$115
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$175
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$84
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$106
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Room Service
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Nadler Liverpool(Liverpool)(Great Value!)
US$63
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$68
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$64
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$114
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$90
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$63
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$61
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (2,203)
Filter reviews
2,203 results
Traveller rating
1,404
520
178
71
30
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,404
520
178
71
30
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslondon carriage worksphilharmonic hallren productsstudio roomgeorgian quarterboutique hotelanglican cathedrallovely hotelthe penthouselarge bathcomfortable bedreception staffwet roomwalk in showercity centrecar parkcooked breakfast
Filter
Updating list...
1,315 - 1,320 of 2,203 reviews
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We went as a couple for a very personal and special occasion, on recommendation, and the hotel and staff exceeded our expectations. We will definitely be returning.

The hotel was stylish without losing any comfort at all, and scrupulously clean. Our room was a king double; very stylish, plenty of space, very well laid out, all the comforts needed, comfortable seats, very comfy bed and superb linen, excellent lighting, great bathroom, very controllable aircon/heating. The wet-room shower and large bath were great. We were at the side of the hotel, with a great view over the roof of the old Royal hospital (come one someone, this really should be redeveloped) to the Met Cathedral and loads of the fantastic architecture of this part of Liverpool.

The reception service was very friendly, and quick and efficient.

Having passed the hotel many times, we wondered what it was like and assumed that it was expensive and maybe one of those places where style trumps comfort and experience. I am delighted to find I was wrong; we found it to be excellent value for the standards offered, and very friendly and relaxed. The attention to style detail and comfort throughout made sure that our visit felt special.

We live an hour away, and know the area well being visitors to the Philharmonic Hall (opposite) at least once a week, so we don't tend to sightsee as such, but we should - this hotel is a gem and ideally placed as a centre to explore this exceptional part of Liverpool, and the rest of this great city. We will in future use it to make special events out of some Phil visits, and make us do some updated on-foot exploring of the area.

We ate at the London Carriage Works, which is the hotel's attached restaurant, and I have separately reviewed that. If you don't bother to read it, the evening prix fixe meal was memorably excellent.

Room Tip: Look at their web site for their deals, and consider booking direct instead of through the usual booking agencies. Rooms on the front look (a quick peep through open doors) to be bigger but overlook the road and may be less private. Do not be put off by pictures of wooden floors - they were very comfortable, very quiet,warm, and we had no problem having a very quiet night's sleep. They just add to the special feel of the rooms.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MikeD1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear MikeD1948,
We are delighted that you came to stay with us as such a frequent visitor to the Philharmonic Hall. I am pleased you liked the view from your room - some rooms have wonderful views of the river too. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 January 2014

An excellent room (once the mysteries of the touch-pad bathroom light were understood) in an excellent location between Liverpool's two cathedrals and right next to the amazing Philharmonic dining r00ms - the most elaborately decorated Edwardian pub you are ever likely to see.
Staff were friendly and helpful. No car parking at the hotel, but they have reserved spaces in a car park not far away (£10 for 24 hours). Not perhaps the most inspiring view from the window - but one doesn't sit in a hotel room in a city looking at the view. In every way convenient for this amazing city.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKDavidL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear UKDavidL,
Thank you for a lovely full marks review. I am pleased you enjoyed your short break in Liverpool, we think it is an amazing city too. We now have on-site parking for £10 and spaces nearby for £6
Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

We visited this hotel with 2 other couples for 2 nights this weekend. Our first impression was a very pleasant and friendly receptionist greeted us and when our friends arrived she gave each of them a note of each couples room number, one of those extra touches. The reception area was surprisingly small. Our room was beautifully presented, a huge bed with top of the range linen. The bathroom was lovely, it was however a little on the cold side (it is January!). The toiletries was also lovely, if being picky, there was no where to put the soap!

The bottled water in the room was another extra touch.

We only ate breakfast at the hotel, and this was of an excellent quality. On the Sunday each one of the party chose variations o the menu, the waiter was obviously used to this and didn't 'bat a eye'.

The general impression was that nothing was too much trouble, and the hotel was exceptionally clean. In fact, the whole hotel as EXCEPTIONAL. Thank you for a lovely weekend.

Room Tip: We asked for a quiet room which was at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shirley Shiers M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear aldertonbank,
Thank you for such a kind review, we are delighted that your party enjoyed the weekend. Nothing is too much trouble for our team and we love looking after our guests. We look forward to another visit soon!
Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2014

Just got back after staying in room 319 for 3 nights in January 2014.
A mixed review with some good things and some not so good things.
Let's start positively. The staff were friendly and courteous at all times which is always a good thing. The room was fantastic with the best shower I've ever had the privilege to enjoy at a hotel. The shower head must have been the size of a dinner plate and considering we were on the third floor the water pressure was good too.
The bed was huge. If you could fill the bed with water, it would be as big as an Olympic size swimming pool (OK Perhaps a little of an exaggeration here).
However like all hotels anywhere they seem to treat you like old biddies, by ramping up the temperature in places like this. By the third night we had all windows open and the thermostat set to 15 degrees and still I slept with the quilt off me.
Upon arrival we had lunch in the restaurant and chose Fish and Chips. Nouvelle Cuisine was the order of the day, which never particularly impresses us (ie lets present the food beautifully at the expense of the quantity of it). The amount of chips can best be expressed by the fact that the fish was presented on top of the chips. All for £11 each.
The following morning we went for breakfast to the same restaurant and, after an hour of waiting and seeing others who clearly had arrived after us being served before we were. Eventually , after complaining, we were served but by which time I was feeling extremely stressed and was unable to finish my meal. I complained to the reception staff and also on leaving spoke to the reception manager ( a very friendly and understanding lady) and we were reimbursed the cost of that morning's breakfast.
After this experience we decided to avoid the restaurant and eat elsewhere (except for breakfast). Sunday night we ate at a lovely Chinese restaurant called The Mayflower on Duke Street,
Am awaiting an email from the hotel. Would we return? I guess we'll have to wait and see.,..

Room Tip: Pick a room with a city view
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Flikster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Flikster,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review, I am sorry that we disappointed you in some ways and I am pleased that we have since resolved this and will be welcoming you back.
Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2014 via mobile

We discovered this hotel as it's round the corner from our daughter's student halls.

A converted Edwardian building stripped back to many of it's original features to look fashionably distressed.

The rate we paid was ridiculously cheap because it was early January but come here on a weekend that Liverpool are playing at home and when hotels are at a premium then I'm sure you'll pay a lot more.

Staff are either demure, polite and helpful or chirpy and effervescent Scousers.

This hotel is a 15 minute downhill stroll from the city centre but beware of having too many drinks there and not allowing for the walk back up the hill.

This is rapidly becoming my favourite city hotel in the UK

Stayed: January 2014
1  Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2014

Dear Gordon C,
We are delighted that you have discovered us, and thank you for a full marks review! We have great value offers throughout the year and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews