We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Boutique Hotel in a Quiet Liverpool Location”
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Newark, Nottinghamshire, England
Level 5 Contributor
33 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 172 helpful votes
“Great Boutique Hotel in a Quiet Liverpool Location”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

I stayed at the Hope Street Hotel for one night on Monday 10 March. The room was booked for me by my host in Liverpool. It was clean and comfortable and the bathroom was very nice and clean too. The bed was large and comfortable and I managed to get a very good night's sleep. All rooms at this hotel have wireless WiFi, flat screen TVs and iPod/MP3 players. The hotel has a restaurant called 'The London Carriage Works' where an excellent buffet breakfast was served. I have to say that the cooked breakfast (made to order) was one of the best that I have ever had. I really enjoyed my stay and I hope to stay at this hotel the next time I visit Liverpool on business. I would like to try the dinner inclusive packages that they have available.

Room Tip: Remember that this is a 'boutique hotel'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dr Ali M.
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Dr Ali M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review following your business stay. We offer seasonal packages throughout the year and currently have an Easter dinner inclusive package that also includes tickets to a film at FACT, The Royal Liverpool Philharmonic Orchestra, the City Explorer bus, or a guided city tour. We hope you find reason to return soon, whether business or leisure.

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,247
    470
    162
    62
    29
See reviews for
248
975
75
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I stayed here recently as I came with my bulldog Lola to see my daughter at University in Liverpool. It was fantastic they are very dog friendly and service was excellent. We had a suite which had a sitting room and bedroom very spacious and great for all of us. It is very rare to find a luxury hotel that takes Dogs without a fuss. All staff Made a fuss of Lola and nothing was too much trouble for them and made us feel at home. Would recommend this hotel especially if you want to travel with a dog.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Gina M,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review after your stay, it was a pleasure to welcome you with Lola, we are very dog friendly and have also welcomed Woody, Luna, Jessie and Juno in recent weeks. I am delighted that you felt at home during your stay, and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

I've stayed at Hope Street a couple of times and love staying here. The location is excellent between Liverpool's cathedrals. The property itself is an stunning period conversion into a hotel. The rooms have loads of exposed brick, are modern, simple and comfortable. Pets allowed!! Feels like home. It offers really good value for money. Food and drink is highly recommended but plenty of options nearby on Hope Street and in the surrounding area and town centre. Lovely staff throughout! REN toiletries too!!! One of the best hotels in the country!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear ChuckySwizzler,

Thank you for such a lovely review, we are delighted to read how you love to stay with us and would rate us as one of the best in the country. We look forward to many more future visits.

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014 via mobile

Very nice though quite expensive. We had a deluxe king room (422) which was nice and spacious - and quiet - with a good shower and bed. Couple of issues were the smell of drains in the bathroom (This needs sorting in a room this expensive), the duvet had a blood stain that could be seen through the cover, and there was nothing to hold the hand soap in the bathroom. We're not moaners so we coped, but a bit of attention needed. Lovely environment and great location with some good restaurants nearby. Good cocktails in London Carriageworks, and we ate at the Side Door and 60 Hope Street, both good. The Georgian quarter is a pleasant and interesting surprise but beware - parking is not great and charges apply on Sundays too. Never seen that before.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lexicles1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Lexicles 1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we send our apologies for the issues you encountered and would like to assure you that they were addressed. We hope to welcome you back to explore the Georgian Quarter again in the future.

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Stayed here for one night on 3 March 2014. The hotel is a short taxi ride from Liverpool Lime Street train station (approximately £4). On arrival I was greeted by professional and courteous staff in the contemporary reception. My room was also contemporary with nice, traditional touches such as a wooden floor and exposed brickwork. It was very spacious and incorporated a sitting area and a large bathroom. I thoroughly recommend the Hope Street Hotel and its restaurant, The London Carriage Works. It will certainly be my first choice the next time I return to Liverpool.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Cio1664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Cio 1664,

Thank you for your review and for the thorough recommendation, we are delighted to hear we will be your first choice hotel and we look forward to your return visit.

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2014

As opposed to the £148 a room quoted on hotels website weManaged to get a good deal for this hotel via hotel tonight app. On arrival we were greeted by the rudest hotel receptionist I have had the displeasure to meet in the last 20 years. For this person just doing her job was an inconvenience I suggest if she hates her job that much she joins that great scouse institution called the dole queue after suffering this person we were finally handed our room key. On entering the room I was instantly disappointed the blind was covered in stains and room hAd a horrid smell like mothballs. The hotel has crammed a tiny room full of furniture. Which just seems out of place. In the bathroom we had a full size
bath and a nice basin but this was let down by Luke warm water temprature and a toilet placed so close to the bathroom door that I am sure largely built people would struggle to sit astride. Also please remember to bring all your toiletries with you as hotel charges £1.50 for a razor and £4 for shaving foam stuff that is given complimentary in even holiday inn express hotels that are a fraction of the price of this place. And don't believe a thing on there website they say rooms have mini bar and safe ours sadly lacked these amenities. Also they say city centre is a 5 minute stroll away. Maybe true if you are mo Farrah but unattainable to anyone else even liverpool councils own street signs state from St. John's centre hope street is a 13 minute walk. To sum it up I would not return here even if I was offered a free stay. I have had superior rooms and service at liverpool strand travelodge. Let me finish by saying I stay at a lot of hotels and am an Accor hotels platinum member, ihg gold member and hilton silver member and you will find superior rooms and service at most of the above chains at a fraction
Of the price of hope street. Avoid at all costs

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank madhound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 10 March 2014
Dear madhound,

'....she joins that great scouse institution called the dole queue.'

We found your comment above rather offensive to the people of Liverpool. However, we are lovely people in a lovely city who enjoy welcoming lovely guests. I am sending our sincere apologies that you were not comfortable in your room. I have spoken with the team and we will broaden our customer service training to learn how to deal with all manner of guests.

We do sell branded toiletries at a high street prices I will look into your charges, I hope you both enjoyed the complimentary REN. St John's Market is probably 13 minutes but it is not the way we would send anyone into town.

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2014

Modern hotel in quiet part of LIverpool. Easy to walk to places of interest. Comfortable bar/coffee area and very nice restaurant serving good food. Rooms with large comfortable beds and very modern bathrooms. Staff couldn't do enough. Several restaurants in the vicinity and close to Hope university and art college. Close to bus stop for tourist bus which is worth doing if you don't know the city.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeannieivy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
Dear jeannieivy,
Thank you for sharing your feedback following your stay with us, I am delighted that you found our staff helpful and that you enjoyed our location. The City Explorer bus stops just along Hope Street and tickets can be bought at reception. We hope to welcome you back soon.
Best Wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 97 in Liverpool
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,378 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Shankly Hotel
The Shankly Hotel
#4 of 97 in Liverpool
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Property: Hope Street Hotel
Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing