We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“2014 Liverpool Visit! Nice”
Review of hope street hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
hope street hotel
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Just back after one night here. We arrived on Saturday to check in, unfortunately there is no drop off point if you are in the car, so had to find parking just before we arrived! Note that there is a car park round the corner approx. 25 yards at a cost of £10.00 for 24 hrs. Once checked in we went to find the studio room. It was room 407. Its a nice room, nice and modern and full of charm. The Kids had the lounge as there room and we had our own bedroom. Both had big TV's and were separated by a short corridor and the bathroom. My only grumble with the room was that the carpet had a split in it and that the feature beams were very dusty, 2 little areas of detail I expect be to taken care of.

The bathroom products are all 'Wren' and very nice, and the Tea & Coffee set up is all nice stuff too.

The Bar and restaurant are all very modern. Service fairly good, if not a little slow on occasion.

Breakfast: some of our party were up early so could only get continental breakfast before 8am which was a little disappointing. Some of our party who did get breakfast said it was ok.

Word of warning regarding our room..... if the weather is going to be windy or very wet be prepared to be disturbed! The room was like a metal tin! You've been told!

Overall though pretty good though?

Room Tip: Try and avoid the top floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank partickpebbles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear patrickpebbles,

Thank you for reviewing us after your stay with your family. We do have a loading bay on Hope Place for two cars where guests can stop for 15 minutes to check in should you return. We hope to welcome you and your family back again in the future.

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,060)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,127 - 1,133 of 2,060 reviews

Reviewed 23 March 2014

This hotel offered a spacious room with plenty of storage space for clothes and luggage.We had requested a quiet room and were not disappointed, with there being very little road noise. Hope Street is a little out from the centre of Liverpool but it is a short, down hill walk to the centre. There are several eating places close to the hotel which tend to be very busy early evening with pre-theatre dinners as the Philharmonic Hall and Everyman Theatre are both in Hope Street. The CL bus which stops almost outside of the hotel is perfect for exploring Liverpool as it is a circular route taking in the ferry point, the docks and many of the interesting sites.
All the staff in the hotel were very pleasant and eager to be of assistance.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pmjones45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear pmjones45,

Thank you for reviewing us after your stay, I am pleased you enjoyed our quiet location which is just a short walk from everything Liverpool city centre has to offer. We hope you will find reason to return soon.

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

This is a great building and almost a great hotel. The architects have done a great job of transforming this lovely old building into a tasteful modern hotel. They do seem to have forgotten that guests like to sleep in the hotel. My room was on the first floor and overlooked the bar area and kitchens below. It wasn't too bad at night, reasonably quiet by midnight, but come breakfast time I was woken by chef getting ready in the early hours. I could also hear rooms around me. The curtains didn't really keep out the light either. A shame as it is a very beautiful conversion.
I had no phone reception in my room so sat in the lounge downstairs and had couple of espressos while working. Service was good as was the coffee, and reasonably priced.
There is a also a quiet lounge I used for the same reason in the eve.
I will probably stay again but will check room more carefully!

Room Tip: Check your room doesn't overlook the bar!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Jon B,

Thank you for your review, I am so sorry to read that you were disturbed, if you plan to return please just let us know that you would like a quiet room and we will ensure you are tucked somewhere nice and quiet. Thank you for your kind comments on the design of the hotel, we really hope you will be back to try us again.

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Hope St last weekend and it was fab!

big comfy bed, polite staff and amazing breakfast. Rooms are decorated superbly.

Only complaint is the room was cold and even with the heating on full blast there was a really cold draft coming through the window.

Would recommend!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kkd420
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear kkd420,

Thank you for taking the time to review us following your stay, I am pleased you both enjoyed your stay and thought our breakfast was amazing! We hope to welcome you both back soon.

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

our first stay in Liverpool and not disappointed with our choice of hotel. Hope St Hotel is in a great part of town, the hotel and rooms are modern , well fitted out with all facilities you could want and the Queen sized bed in Room 301 was so amazingly comfortable I wish I could have taken it home.
Staff were very helpful and friendly. Small blip in service when our bottle of Prosecco didn't arrive as requested but again, on request it appeared immediately.
We only ate breakfast in the restaurant but great selection, lovely service, all in a light lively surroundings.
Would thoroughly recommend staying here.

Room Tip: can only say Room 301 had lovely skyline views of "The Liver BIrds" and the bed was to die...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maggie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Maggie M,

I am delighted to read that you enjoyed our wonderful skyline views and had a great weekend. Thank you for a lovely recommendation.

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

My friend and I shared a twin room in Hope Street Hotel, the room was very clean and comfortable. The bathroom was amazing, a great big bath tub and a lovely walk in shower. The room had a lovely view out across towards the cathedral and was very quiet. The reception staff were friendly and helpful they recommended that we park at the Cathedral which was just 5 minutes walk from the hotel and only £6 for 24 hours. The breakfast was delicious with a great choice and a lovely selection of cereals, pastries and juice. I would recommend this hotel whole- heartedly and we will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Liverpool.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank S W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Woody7618,

Thank you for a whole-hearted recommendation and lovely review, we look forward to your return visit soon!

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2014

First stay at this Boutique Hotel,chosen due to its location near the Philharmonic Hall. We booked the 'lazy Sunday' package, standard room, two course evening meal, full English breakfast and midday checkout We were upgraded on arrival, room 319, a gorgeous room with amazing views of the city
Food was outstanding, meals are taken in the London Carriage Works Restaurant.
Service was first class from check in to check out and if you get chance try out their cocktails, I recommend the Orange Blossom.
We will be back soon. Well done Hope Street Hotel

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nicnoodles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Dear Nicnoodles,

I am really pleased to read that you enjoyed your first stay with us and that you rate our service first class. The views from many of our rooms are lovely as you say, we have a great position overlooking the city and river. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,195 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#17 of 98 in Liverpool
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,474 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#22 of 98 in Liverpool
1,841 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hope street hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hope street hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £71 - £312 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — hope street hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotelopia, Booking.com, TravelUp, MrandMrsSmith, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your hope street hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing