We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant city centre hotel”
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
Ranked #12 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Brilliant city centre hotel”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

I loved Hope Street Hotel. It is extremely stylish and has the feel of a small intimate hotel, even though it must have close on 100 rooms. The staff are helpful, friendly and attend to any request very quickly.

Our room had views over Liverpool Metropolitan Cathedral, was reasonably large and had a very effective bathroom with the only wet room that I have ever experienced which worked.

Breakfast was delicious but a little on the slow side - OK for us as we weren't in a hurry.

The location is superb, half way between the 2 cathedrals and a short walk to all the major attractions

We had a special multi-night deal booked several months in advance with Mr and Mrs Smith, which made our 4 night stay not only very comfortable and enjoyable, but also exceptional value.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pit53_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear Pit53_13, Thank you for your brilliant post and we are very pleased you were so comfortable. Look out for our offers - even we are impressed! Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,247
    470
    162
    62
    29
See reviews for
248
975
75
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uk
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Have just returned from a 2 night stay at Hope St Hotel - really fantastic experience and exactly the relaxing break that we were after.

Location wise the hotel is great - easy to wander around Liverpool from here and plenty to see on the doorstep.

However, it is the friendly and efficient service that always impresses us - from front desk throughout the hotel. It is always good to recognise staff when staying at the hotel a year after our last visit, helps to get the feeling that a well looked after team will lead to well looked after guests, which is certainly how we felt.

Really liked the vegetarian cooked breakfast - real highlight!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsparkerUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Ahhh MrsparkerUK it was good to welcome you both back and thank you for your lovely review - again! All the best, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Very much enjoyed the whole experience of this hotel, friendly relaxed staff on reception and serving at breakfast. Clean and tidy room with everything in that we would need. Well done Hope Street Hotel for such high standards.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TPenni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear TPenni, thank you for such a high score! We hope to welcome you back one day. Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
daddyfixit1
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

we have just had a 1night stay at the hotel as a birthday surprise (for me), we arrived on Sunday afternoon. reception said the car park was full, but suggested that we could leave car overnight at the Anglican cathedral car park for £6, cheap at half the price ! we left the car there overnight and returned to the hotel. we found the 2 girls on reception are very pleasant and helpful.
room on the 1st floor didn't have a decent view, but for 1 nights stay it didn't matter. the room was very nice, clean and tidy . it has a large tv on the wall, aircon as standard too. The bathroom is clean/bright and perfect for a short stay with shower over bath, towel heater rail and selection of toiletries. As part of the deal we also had a complimentary bottle of wine brought to the room. We went out for evening meal and returned about 11.00, the hotel isn't noisy despite being in town centre, once the window blinds are dropped the room is almost pitch black---no disturbances from outside----a good nights sleep ensued.
This morning our breakfast was served in the restaurant downstairs (London carriage company) and was a self-service buffet, wide range of hot food available and big plates to load it on !!! we checked out at 11.00 and walked the short distance to the car park, both of us commenting we will have to find an excuse to have another stay-over and are planning it as soon as possible.

Room Tip: park at the Anglican cathedral(£6 overnight) as hotel cannot guarantee parking spaces onsite. next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank daddyfixit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 25 May 2014
Dear daddyfixit1, Thank you for your lovely post and if you need to think of any reason to come back look at the events in the city over the summer! Hope to welcome you back, best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pentraeth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We stayed at the Hope Street Hotel as we were going to a concert at the Liverpool Philharmonic Hall which was right opposite the hotel. Situated between both Liverpool cathedrals, the Hope Street Hotel was a great find. The staff throughout were efficient, and very courteous. They could not have been more helpful. The rooms are modern with good quality bed linen, towels and nice extras. The service in the bar during the evening was excellent and breakfast was great. We will definitely stay here again when we next stay over in Liverpool. It was a very good choice. Hotel parking is very limited so we were directed to parking nearby which was ideal.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angleseypat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear angleseypat, Thank you for your kind post. We are perfect for a Philharmonic visit, look out for our room and concert offers! Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We arrived from a long drive from London to a fairly average welcome. We were offered no help with our bags. Due to a business meeting for my husband I dined alone in the hotel restaurant on Friday night and I was pretty much ignored. I waited 20 minutes before a waiter asked if I would like another drink, no one took my coat and service was very slow. Ditto slow service in the lounge bar on Saturday afternoon, no table service at all I had to keep calling waiters over or going to the bar. Tables and sofas are chipped and stained and I had to ask the next day for the room to be cleaned with fresh sheets and fresh towels to be brought. The room had stains and was completed with a rickety old ironing board and there was a very vocal dog in the room next door. Bathroom toiletries are scant and were not replenished during my two night stay. Overall a really disappointing experience.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatieWeild
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear KatieWeild, We all send our sincere apologies for the disappointment of your stay. It is hard to be alone and we failed to make you feel comfortable and welcome. We do hope you both might return one day, please contact us directly so we can have a second chance to offer you a proper hope street hotel experience. Best wishes, Mary
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Great hotel to stay at.
Studio room (room 116) was lovely despite a squeaky bed but enjoyed our stay . Restaurant was wonderful with great food & service.
Only downside was checking out...rate was wrong and tried to charge for separate things which were part of package.....then they seemed to act confused not knowing what offers were on their web site!!! Not a very good experience at checkout! Check your bills carefully people!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 24 May 2014
Dear DawnH, Thank you for your 'Lovely' post. We also have lovely staff who do not 'act' to falsify a bill. I apologise for any confusion and embarrassment over the offer but as we have a number at a time we do make mistakes - which I am satisfied are always amended quickly and apologised for.

Best regards Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,012 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 97 in Liverpool
3,095 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,379 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Shankly Hotel
The Shankly Hotel
#4 of 97 in Liverpool
2,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Property: Hope Street Hotel
Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing