We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely boutique hotel but caution if you are a wheelchair user”
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
Ranked #13 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A lovely boutique hotel but caution if you are a wheelchair user”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

My husband and I stayed for an overnight break in May. The hotel is lovely with a really unique boutique design and well placed to visit the cathedrals, Everyman Theatre, Philamonic Hall and China Town.
The staff were very helpful and friendly. The car park is very small and quite difficult if you have a large car to get in and out.
Just a note of caution if you are confined to a wheelchair and cannot walk....the bathrooms are difficult to access. The sinks are difficult to get a wheelchair under and the toilet is not easy to use. There is no roll in shower. The bedrooms are spacious and the bed especially comfortable.
The breakfast was wonderful.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Judy C,

Thank you for taking the time to review us following your stay with us in May, I am pleased you liked our design and location and found our team friendly.

Approximately half of our rooms have walk in or roll in showers, so I am sorry that you were not allocated the best room for your requirements, I hope we can discuss this prior to a future stay and allocate you the perfect room. We hope to welcome you back soon!

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,971 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,248
    470
    162
    62
    29
See reviews for
248
976
75
320
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2014

My husband and I have just returned from a stay at this hotel. I have to say it is one of the nicest hotel rooms that I have stayed in. The bathroom was fantastic (huge) and very easily accessible. We stayed on the 4th floor which was very quiet. The bed was extremely comfortable. The bath robe and slippers were a nice extra touch. We booked with 'secret escapes' The offer included bed and breakfast and a complementary bottle of wine. Breakfast time was very relaxing. The cooked breakfast was served to the table. The only criticism I would have was that it was not very warm. The coffee was lovely but again not very hot. We were greeted very warmly by the staff at all times. Checking in and out was very quick.We look forward to returning in the near future.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katie1206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Katie1206, Thank you for kind post and we look forward to welcoming you back. Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My wife and I spent a very pleasurable evening at this hotel on the 6th June 2014. It had been my wife's birthday earlier in the week and as such, I booked a deluxe king room at quite short notice for a night away. As we are locals, I already knew of this hotel and it's location but had never visited it prior to booking. I arrived at around 13:30 hours and as it stated on the website that check in was from 14:00, I expected a short wait for our room.
This was not to be the case and I was warmly greeted by a lovely receptionist who was very polite and extremely efficient. With in minutes I had been checked in and was on my way to our room (420).
The reception of the hotel is very refined and very chic, think lots of stripped wood and light spaces..
The leather clad lift took me quickly to the 4th floor where the decor continued with a hessian type carpet in the hallway leading to my expensive looking, and also leather clad, room door.
Outside my room, I did notice an electrical socket which had excess paint splashed on it. Really nothing to detract from the experience but noticeable. Upon entering our room, it was amazing! It had a large bedroom with amazing views from the window across the city. The wooden floor really added to the classiness of the room. There was a huge king sized bed with lovely crisp white cotton bedding and a large flat screen TV on the wall opposite. The bathroom was of a fairly large size and had a larger than average bath, a rain drop shower head and a funky basin and pedestal. It was a wet room with no shower screen which again added to the quirkiness of the room. The views were again amazing, looking out at a wide vista of Liverpool and beyond.
Unfortunately, in the bathroom were little things that were noticeable about the finishings. On the wall above the toilet was a grubby hand mark and when the left hand door of the sink pedestal was opened, you could see that the floor was unfinished. There was also a little mould in the grouting around the shower floor.
Only little things and didn't matter much to me, but had to mention to provide an honest review.
On to the good things...
Upon arrival, my wife had a complimentary bar of green and blacks chocolate on the bed with a hand written postcard wishing her happy birthday. I must have mentioned it on booking and the hotel had made note of it. Very impressive.
Also, my wife states that in the bathroom she found a shower cap plus hair bobble which was very useful and much appreciated.
The free dvd and cd library is another nice touch from the hotel.
We did not eat at the hotel, but were offered reservations at The London Carriage Works for the evening. I cannot comment but from what I could see, it was busy and looked very nice.
After returning to the hotel later that evening, the reception staff were again very welcoming and pleasant.
When I eventually fell into bed, I found it to be extremely comfortable and easily fell asleep.
I had a lovely nights sleep and fully enjoyed my stay at the hotel.
The few things that I have picked up on I have also mentioned on a comment card left in my room so I am not just slating the hotel from behind my keyboard. Again, these few things mattered not to me but to other people, they may. They are merely my observations. They did not detract from a wonderful stay at a really nice independently owned hotel. It is a very unique building and I found that this really added to my stay. I was really pleased with the attitude and willingness to help from all the staff I encountered (loaning me a brolly when I went to retrieve my car...) and also the value for money I felt I got. I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in the area.
Thank you very much to everyone at the Hope Street Hotel for making our night special.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

This was our 3rd stay at Hope Street Hotel and once again enjoyed our stay in this great city. We chose a studio room with double fronted windows and a gorgeous bathroom. As always the service was great and employees were extremely helpful - we enjoyed a lovely breakfast and one evening meal too. Overall a relaxed and stylish stay!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank AMG351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

This is a fabulous hotel, It has recently won two prestigious awards. The staff are very professional and ensure top quality service is extended at all times. The rooms are very comfortable and are of a very high spec. The location is perfect being just far enough from the hustle and bustle of Liverpools fantastic city centre ensuring a good nights sleep. Free parking is on a first come first serve basis but don't let that put you off because the hotel has an arrangement with the nearby Anglican Cathedral where you can park for just £6.00 for 24 hours. The breakfast was top quality and was served in the hotels restuarant which is known as The London Carriage Works. The restuarant has a reputation for exceptional food and has also won many awards. So if you are looking to book somewhere to stay whilst enjoying a break in this amazing city look no further!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank graham186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
234 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

I come up to Liverpool a lot having family here, sometimes staying with family other times in hotels. This was my first time at the Hope Street Hotel and it won't be my last. In fact I liked it so much I tried to book for a few weeks ahead only to fall foul of degree ceremony time. It is situated near Liverpool and JMU, LIPA is but a few metres away and Hope University is nearby as well. My advice book well in advance, especially with Liverpool playing host to The Open Golf, The Biennial and The Little Girl Giant this summer.
The room was spacious, we had an accessible room and it was ideal. Reception staff were excellent, being both friendly and professional. The was some street noise as we were on the first floor but it didn't affect sleep at all. The room and Bathroom were well equipped. Tea and Coffee making facilities, which some hotels appear to forgo, were resent as was haor dryer, Iron and Ironing Board. The TV was a good size and toiletries were of a good standard. It was as I have noted such a good stay that I tried to book again straight away only to fall foul of Degree Ceremony Season.
As we were seeing family we didn't use the bar or restaurant but saw that they too were busy, perhaps next time.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ruffwood1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
219 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 275 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Everything was right about this hotel from the moment we arrived.

Extremely friendly, classy staff, beautiful room with real wood floors and supremely comfortable bed, great spacious bathroom and excellent REN complimentaries.

Afternoon tea in the stylish dining room is reasonable and very high quality. Breakfast was 5 star (a really good, proper cooked veggie breakfast is a rare treat).

All in all, if you're a fan of urban boutique hotels with a personal touch this place won't disappoint. Highly recommended, especially given the excellent prices available on the net.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,015 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 97 in Liverpool
3,103 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,380 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Shankly Hotel
The Shankly Hotel
#4 of 97 in Liverpool
2,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Property: Hope Street Hotel
Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing