We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great weekend break”
Review of hope street hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
hope street hotel
Ranked #14 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked 2 nights at Hope Street Hotel as a birthday treat and were not disappointed. We had a deluxe room which was spacious, well equipped and clean. Our view was of a derelict building which was quite disappointing. The bed was huge and very comfortable with lovely, crisp bedding. It was very peaceful and quiet at night but it was a bit too hot and the c/c wouldn't go below 17 degrees. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order. It was served in the hotel's restaurant (The London Carriage Works) which has a lovely atmosphere. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and pleasant.
It was a bit of a walk to the waterfront and Liverpool One but there were lots of restaurants and bars locally.
Just one point to be aware of is that we were advised to park in the Anglican Cathedral car park and were told that it was £6 a day. We parked for just less than 2 days and were charged £28!

Room Tip: The floors are wooden and very creaky so if you are a light sleeper it might be a good idea to reque...
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GinnyStaffordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear GinnyStaffordshireUK,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry about the confusion with parking, it is only £6 per day, and is an exclusive rate for our guests so we will investigate. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,029)
There are newer reviews for hope street hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,002 - 1,008 of 2,030 reviews

Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hope Street Hotel is my favourite hotel: fine design and superb fittings make it a pleasure to step into the lobby, and even more so into a bedroom, in this excellent hotel! Views from the rooms of the Liverpool skyline and the nearby cathedrals enhance the experience. Staff are unfailingly courteous and efficient. Hope St Hotel is one strong reason to visit Liverpool.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Henry L,

Thank you for a really lovely review, we are delighted to be named as your favourite hotel! We hope we will welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

very modern hotel with nice decor. had wonderful views of whole city, classy tea n coffee making facilities, a very swish power shower and enormous bed. the staff were also very friendly. breakfast was high quality also. very clean throughout. would recommend to anyone visiting liverpool. good location also- between lime st station and cathedral gardens

Room Tip: I had a room on the 4th floor with panoramic views of city
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank z c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear z c,

Thank you for taking the time to write a lovely review, we are delighted that you enjoyed the views from our 4th floor and hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A special celebration for two oldies and we were so please we chose his hotel. It's only 25 miles from home but it was wroth every penny. From the excellent reception staff to the quality bedroom, it was all we could have wished. Highyl recommended.

Room Tip: Try and get 401. Great room with lovely view and very quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DavidC186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear DavidC186337,

Thank you for your kind reviews for the hotel and our restaurant The London Carriage Works. We are delighted that you enjoyed your special celebration and hope that you will venture the 25 miles back again soon!

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hope Street Hotel really exceeded expectations. Views over Merseyside from bedroom were most impressive. Staff were courteous and helpful. Breakfast was excellent and the price was very competitive (and that included a bottle of wine). Will definitely choose as my hotel of choice when next visiting Liverpool (a much improved city on all counts, by the way).

Room Tip: Room 20, 4th floor had excellent views and a spacious bathroom. Can't speak for the rest.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank michaelcham1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear michaelcham1,

We are delighted to know we are your first choice hotel for your next visit, and that we exceeded expectations. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Very modern clean hotel, plain and simple with breathtaking bathroom views. Great customer service and breakfast had an amazing choice. Centrally located and walking distance to all attractions.
Nice bar area great to sit and watch the world go by, drinks a little pricy but you pay for what you get. I would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lilley_B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Lilley_B,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are pleased that you enjoyed the hotel service and style. We look forward to a return visit.

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2014

We arrived early and managed to get a spot on the hotel carpark, we even managed to get checked in early too, which was a bonus. We stayed overnight in a Suite. The room was lovely, an extra large bathroom overlooking the city, so it was great to take in the views of the city whilst having a soak! Again another great view from the bedroom, just a shame the desk was in the way. We stayed on the 5th floor, which was very quiet, we didn't hear a soul, not even the wedding party. The We loved the quirkiness of the hotel and loved all the oak. The staff were all very attentive, they accomodated our every need. They really couldn't do enough for us. Room service was spot on too.

We had lunch and breakfast at the London Carridge Works. The food was gorgeous and the service was second to none.

Overall we had a lovely romantic night away, would we come back.....most definitely!!!

Room Tip: For amazing views of the City room 501
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Debbie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at hope street hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Dear Debbie C,

It is a pleasure to read your review and to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and the room, views and dining! We hope to welcome you again soon.

Best wishes,
Orla

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,146 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 98 in Liverpool
3,252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,452 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 98 in Liverpool
1,769 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to hope street hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about hope street hotel

Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range: £72 - £298 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — hope street hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with MrandMrsSmith, Booking.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your hope street hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing