We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel- Would definitely recommmend”
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
High Wycombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel- Would definitely recommmend”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We stayed for 2 nights and enjoyed every moment of it. The rooms are spacious, bathroom facilities tremendous. There is a very small car park out the back that we were lucky to have a space in, there are certainly cheaper places (and more expensive!) places to park in the city but the availability of this car park and the safety of the barrier made our trip much easier.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LR0berts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear LR0berts,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed every moment of your stay. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,232
    454
    157
    59
    29
See reviews for
240
955
75
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Biddulph, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
248 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Just returned from a short stay at this hotel and had a lovely time. The Reception staff were pleasant, professional and helpful, reserving us a car parking space before check-in, in the small car park, which was much appreciated.
The rooms were bright and spotless. The beds, huge and comfortable. There were plenty of toiletries, adding a hint of luxury and the tea tray was stocked with a great variety of fruit teas, chocolate, coffee and English tea. Fresh milk was brought up to the room on request and delivered with a smile. To coin a phrase, 'nothing was too much trouble'.
A gorgeous hotel, situated far enough away from the main hub of the city to be quiet but close enough to get to where all the action is, with ease. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Relaxed33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Relaxed33,

Thank you for a lovely full marks review, we are so pleased to hear how you enjoyed your stay, nothing is too much for our team and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We have had this hotel recommended by so many friends and finally we stayed. It was close enough for us to walk to the equally fantastic 60 Hope St, and a wander the other way to the Philharmonic , and to the pub of the same name. What a great experience! Friendly staff who attended to every question, beautiful building with stunning decor and our bedroom was just lovely. Fab nights sleep (probably in part due to the excellent cocktails served in the bar!), and a really enjoyable breakfast with a great choice. We booked well in advance and so got a great deal, but would be happy to pay full price for a stay as good as this. We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ang5050
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Ang5050,

Thank you for such wonderful comments, and for taking the time to review us. It is lovely to hear that you will definitely be back, we look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Spending three nights at the Hope Street Hotel was as pleasurable an experience as visiting Liverpool itself. Although we arrived early, every effort was made to find a room for us, and we were taken up immediately. Throughout the stay any query or request we had was dealt with curtly by the reception staff and we were overjoyed to find the room spacious, clean and with an amazing night time view. Overall a very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duncan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear l0ngweekenders,

Thank you for a perfect review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your weekend break and the fantastic views!

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I wondered what a boutique hotel would be like; 'small room' I was reliably informed by my well travelled younger brother. Rubbish. The room was wonderful. Comfy bed, great city scape view, marvellous breakfast. If you need anything just ask. Well worth a visit.

Room Tip: Ask for a view towards the docks and see the sun set over the Liver Building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gilliansheath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear gilliansheath,

Thank you for a lovely gem of a review, we hope you will be back soon to see another amazing sunset!

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We booked 2 nights at Hope Street Hotel as a birthday treat and were not disappointed. We had a deluxe room which was spacious, well equipped and clean. Our view was of a derelict building which was quite disappointing. The bed was huge and very comfortable with lovely, crisp bedding. It was very peaceful and quiet at night but it was a bit too hot and the c/c wouldn't go below 17 degrees. Breakfast was delicious and cooked to order. It was served in the hotel's restaurant (The London Carriage Works) which has a lovely atmosphere. All the staff we encountered were very helpful and pleasant.
It was a bit of a walk to the waterfront and Liverpool One but there were lots of restaurants and bars locally.
Just one point to be aware of is that we were advised to park in the Anglican Cathedral car park and were told that it was £6 a day. We parked for just less than 2 days and were charged £28!

Room Tip: The floors are wooden and very creaky so if you are a light sleeper it might be a good idea to reque...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GinnyStaffordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear GinnyStaffordshireUK,

Thank you for your lovely review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are sorry about the confusion with parking, it is only £6 per day, and is an exclusive rate for our guests so we will investigate. We hope to welcome you back soon.

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Hope Street Hotel is my favourite hotel: fine design and superb fittings make it a pleasure to step into the lobby, and even more so into a bedroom, in this excellent hotel! Views from the rooms of the Liverpool skyline and the nearby cathedrals enhance the experience. Staff are unfailingly courteous and efficient. Hope St Hotel is one strong reason to visit Liverpool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Henry L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HSHOperationsManager, Operations Manager at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Dear Henry L,

Thank you for a really lovely review, we are delighted to be named as your favourite hotel! We hope we will welcome you back very soon.

Best wishes,
Orla
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Property: Hope Street Hotel
Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#5 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing