We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very comfortable and up to date.”
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Watkinsville, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Very comfortable and up to date.”
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Lots of space in the room and bathrooms. All beautifully updated and well maintained. King sized bed was so big I couldn't find my husband. :) Great location. We did not eat in the hotel, so I can't say anything about the dining experience. But there were many pleasant restaurants in walking distance. Will stay here again if ever in Liverpool! We flew to Manchester from Atlanta, GA and took a train to Liverpool. We were able to walk to the hotel from the train station.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bloominglilacs2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear bloominglilacs2, Thank you for your gracious post. Hope you can make the long journey again one day! Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,232
    454
    157
    59
    29
See reviews for
240
955
75
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (390)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Excellent service from early check in and baggage drop off, to leaving champagne in the room. The staff are warm, welcoming and friendly.

The suite was excellent with everything we needed. A great location with fantastic views of the city. Comfy bed, excellent bathroom facilities. Breakfast was very tasty also.

Room Tip: If you can get a room at the back of the hotel and on the higher floors, you will have great views o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank andy_2k_99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear andy_2k_99, Thank you for your very kind post and we are so glad you had a lovely time. Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

When you stay in so many top class hotels, the service is all the same characterless perfect service.

The Hope Street is different, as most of the staff are local or students at the nearby University.So it is at a higher level, you rarely get even in a five-star hotel.

I am a coeliac and are thus gluten-free. In all my travels, I've never found another hotel that bakes its own gluten-fre bread. They make their own ice cream too!

A couple of years ago, I went there for a University reception and dinner. I've eaten such dinners in four star hotels, stately homes and Cambridge colleges, but their's was of a standard to beat most other places. In my 67 years, I've only ever been to one better reception and that was a Queen's Award one at Buckingham Palace.

It's not important, but it does seem to have the best TV system, I've ever found in a hotel.

Room Tip: \tell them what you like and I'm sure they'll find you something to your taste. I've nev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnonWidr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear AnonWidr, what a lovely post, thank you so much! Particularly like your tip - tell us how we can help! Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
245 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

Really nice comfortable room with lovely REN skincare products. Underwhelming breakfast buffet however, with service being quite slow with ordered breakfasts. Very good location, near the Cathedral and walking distance from Albert Dock.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Irene L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear IreneWeeny, Thank you for your lovely post. We love REN too. Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Croydon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

On a recent visit to Liverpool it unfortunately spent most of the weekend raining - but we didn't mind staying in the hotel room til the rain clearer up!

We booked a studio room for a one nights stay and it was perfect. The room on the 4th floor had two floors, with a big kingsize bed and roomy bathroom downstairs, and a cosy sofa, armchair and desk upstairs. The room was bright and airy, with skylight windows.

The breakfast was also lovely, with lots to choose from, both hot and continental.

The hotel is about a 10 minute walk into town, and has lots of lovely drinkeries and eateries nearby.

I would definitely recommend this unique hotel for your stay in Liverpool; excellent location, wonderful and comfortable rooms, and a tasty breakfast - all for a very decent price!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ohhellosailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear ohhellosailor, Thank you for your lovely post and high recommendation, hope to welcome you both back one sunny day! Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walthamstow, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

The send time I have stayed in this hotel, and each time the room was exemplary. It's perfectly located in Liverpool for sightseeing, and easy to get to from Lime St (taxi under £5). My only gripe would be the lunchtime service in the bar area - but the food itself was excellent. Overall highly recommended

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Peter H,

Thank you for your lovely post, we hope to welcome you back for a third stay and we'll make sure there will be no gripes! Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

I stayed here whilst at a work function in Liverpool and I was bowled over by the hotel. Staff were fab, room was stunning, bed luxurious and the decor is beautiful!

Breakfast was LUSH!

Highly recommended and location is gorgeous, right by some really lovely cafe's and buildings!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Harri67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Harri67, Thank you for your kind post, come back for pleasure and enjoy our fabulous city!
Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 984 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Property: Hope Street Hotel
Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#5 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing