We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Stay”
Review of Hope Street Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hope Street Hotel
Ranked #11 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay”
Reviewed 14 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for one night in August as we were attending a party at the hotel and were pleasantly surprised. Very nice welcome at reception. Be warned the car park is very small and at the rear of the hotel so it works on a first come first served basis and we luckily got a space and there is access to the hotel from the car park. The room was lovely, wooden floor, a brick feature wall, great tv. Very good quality duvet cover and sheets and very comfortable bed. Bathroom was nice but we struggled with the tap system to get the water to come out of the taps without the shower being on at the same time!!! Lovely complimentary REN products. The party was on the 5th floor and have to say the food and service was absolutely first class. Breakfast was very busy to say the least and the staff seemed a bit hectic but the sausages were great therapy with a bit of a hangover!! We walked to Liverpool 1 to the shops which took about 15 minutes so it is very convenient for a shopping trip. All in all a very pleasant stay and I would happily recommend.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Debbie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,935 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,235
    455
    157
    59
    29
See reviews for
241
957
75
314
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (391)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We headed up to Liverpool for a weekend break and stayed at the Hope Street Hotel. We paid a little extra and got one of Studios - a huge room, massive comfortable bed and a fantastic walk in shower / wet room.
The staff were friendly, the food of a very high standard ( we had breakfast there).
In short couldn't ask for a better hotel and a really good price. And loved the location - lots of great bars and cafés around.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank OMacster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear OMacster, Thank you for your fantastic post! Come back to fabulous Liverpool soon. Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poulton Le Fylde, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

This hotel is beautiful with spacious, clean comfy rooms. The staff were welcoming and the location is brilliant. However, the breakfast was the worst I've seen in any hotel which was really disappointing as its such a lovely place. We were told we would have to wait for a table for breakfast as it was busy which was fine but when we were eventually seated the table had the previous guests leftovers on it and the table was filthy. There was a buffet of cold, greasy bacon, rock hard fried eggs that had clearly been sat for a very long time, two (2) mushrooms floating in grease, yes two for about 20 guests and hard lumps of black pudding. It was all completely cold and hard. We were told breakfast was from 8-11 so going down at 10 we thought would be ample time to get a hearty breakfast which they charge £16.50 for, unfortunately we were wrong. There weren't enough staff on to replenish the cooked food or clean tables or anything. Ive stayed at travel lodges that served a better breakfast than here which is saying something (no offence travel lodge). So stay in the hotel for sure but do not waste your money on breakfast!

Helpful?
Thank bambiN
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear bambiN, thank you for your kind post and recommendation. We send our apologies for your experience at breakfast - we have a lovely breakfast offer (£10.00 when booked with room) which is often mentioned as a big positive to a hope street hotel stay. We are sorry you missed that delicious experience and assure you we have looked into the reasons for that mornings service.
Hope to welcome you back one day and offer you a great start to your day! Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Greenock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for a couple of nights for a break in Liverpool. The hotel is ideally located, between both of the city cathedrals and 10 mins walk from Lime street station. The hotel is modern, clean and the staff were very friendly and welcoming. The room we were given was on the small side but we were not in the room that much on a city break. Breakfast at the hotel was very good. Good bars and restaurants nearby (we had a great meal at Ego across the road) or within easy walk to city centre for livelier night life if that's your preference. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe757
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear Joe757, Thank you for your kind post and look forward to welcoming your return. Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We have stayed in this hotel on a number of occasions. The rooms are lovely and airy with gorgeous comfy beds and spacious bathrooms. We chose a studio room on the 4th floor which had amazing views. This hotel is located in a very interesting and peaceful part of Liverpool which is a welcome escape from the rush and hurry of the town. We have dined in the restaurant and also had breakfast, both of which were very tasty with local products. The staff are really friendly and helpful. Will definitely go back and would recommend.

Room Tip: Corner rooms are large and sunny especially the studio rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MargChester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 13 August 2014
Dear MargeChester, Thank you for your kind post and recommendation. Hope to welcome you back again one day. Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Stayed at Hope Street for 2 nights, we booked using Secret Escapes, so got a very good discount with breakfast and a free bottle of wine (unfortunately which we never received).

Overall a very good stay, the hotel is modern, clean and all the staff are lovely. The location is only a 10 minute walk to the centre, and Liverpool 1 and 15 min walk to the docks. Perfect for a city break.

Only a few negatives which bothered me, but wouldn't stop me from returning. The bed although huge and extremely comfy was very very squeaky. The shower was all open, a wet room type design, however found the bathroom become soaked after each use, which was just really impractical.

Also we stayed on the 4th floor on the side of the hotel. I was kept awake on the Friday night around 2-3am by very loud music coming from a nearby bar below. So ask for a room at the back of the hotel for a quiet stay.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maddy1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear Maddy1991, Thank you for your positive post and apologies for the little negatives - we are looking at both bed and bath mats. Look forward to welcoming you back, best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Being a Mr & Mrs Smith fanatic, I booked a room here whilst on business in Liverpool.

After a 7 hour trip - Everything started so well, staff were pleasant and helpful, and overall feel of the hotel was right up my street. Room was nice (501), went to the quarter for dinner, and returned for cocktails at the bar (outstanding jazz being played).

Upon check out, I was presented with an upgrade charge. (I enquired however did not confirm I wished to be upgraded) however the young lady decided to take it upon herself to upgrade me. An awkward conversation begun whereby I had to prove my case by showing the receptionist the thread of emails. I was subsequently asked by another young girl in an awful tone "did you not realise you were in a suite?"

Needless to say, not the way to speak to a customer. The word suite was never mentioned upon my arrival, nor did I agree the upgrade. They completely missed my point.

Disappointed & insulted.

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank SaintGilesTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
40Hope, Director at Hope Street Hotel, responded to this review, 15 August 2014
Dear TheTruthHurts2014, Thank you for your kind words and we are pleased you enjoyed so much of your stay. We all send apologies for the misunderstanding between our emails and also at check in. I am confident it was a genuine mistake on our part and of course all extra charges were cancelled. My colleague sends her own apology, trying to make light in the confusion she realises her manner had been misunderstood and no insult was meant.

Best wishes, Mary C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#15 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 988 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hope Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hope Street Hotel

Property: Hope Street Hotel
Address: 40 Hope Street, Liverpool L1 9DA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Liverpool
#4 Romantic Hotel in Liverpool
#5 Luxury Hotel in Liverpool
#6 Family Hotel in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hope Street Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 89
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
89 Individually designed hotel rooms - urbane, minimal and chic: solid wood floors, over sized beds draped in bright white Egyptian cotton, wall mounted LCD wide screen TVs with DVD players and ipod stations. Guests enjoy complimentary WiFi, REN toiletries, Pellegrino mineral waters, ironing and shoe shining service. hope street hotel has a two AA Rosette restaurant. The London Carriage Works serves breakfast, a modern British menus and Afternoon Tea. The TLCW bar has an AA Notable Wine List. It also services a 24 hour room service. Hope street is in the middle of the cultural quarter and hope street hotel is no more than a 5 minute walk of its amazing neighbours: the Everyman, Unity and LIPA theatres, liverpool Philharmonic Hall, two iconic Cathedrals the Victoria Gallery and Museum and the National Trust's Hardman House. All threaded through university departments, independent restaurants and infamous hostelries. Winner of Liverpool City Region Best Hotel Tourism Awards 2015 Silver winner for VistEngland Best Hotel 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hope Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hope Street Liverpool
Hotel Hope Street

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing