We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the worst night's 'sleep' of my life..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Signature Living at Matthew Street
London
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“One of the worst night's 'sleep' of my life..”
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a hotel where people come to to party. It's in a part of town where people come to party. I didn't realise this until I was failing to get to sleep because the floor and windows were vibrating to the sound of the bass from a club on the same street.
I'd booked six months before, thinking "No 1 Liverpool hotel on Tripadvisor, what can go wrong?". I'd texted and asked for a quiet room. Katie, on reception, said I'd probably be OK as there were no Hen or Stags booked in. Perhaps Katie hasn't stayed in Moulin Rouge 1 which gets all the noise from the club until it closes at 0200am. Night staff said there were no rooms free to move me at 0130. I was so desperate to sleep I rang round other hotels but couldn't find anywhere with a room.
The room was lovely, the staff were incredibly friendly, but all this is no good to me without the relative quiet for sleep. Faye, the manageress, tried calling me several times after I'd left, but we didn't make contact. I think I should have done better research and not tried to stay in a party hotel in the party district of town. On the night I stayed it was just noise that was beyond the control of Signature Living that completely ruined my stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    8
    6
    12
    6
See reviews for
9
14
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 July 2014

had a amazing stay at signature living in Liverpool,i can not fault the hotel at all the staff are amazing and helpful, room was spectacular.. there is a hot-tub in the bathroom, really spacious rooms, lovely decorated,the hotel is situated in the city center so lots to do, shopping,restaurants and around the corner from the hotel is the nightlife.

Room Tip: no matter what room you will get it will be wonderful! each room has a different room e.g. the sex i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melona22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawrence1601, Owner at Signature Living at Matthew Street, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Melona,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review.
Both the staff and myself are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your stay with us and the features of our accommodation which you can only find at Signature and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Many thanks

Katie Kenwright
Proprietor
Signature Living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

i enjoyed my stay here, although it was a very short stay.

it would be perfectly suited to girls/boys weekend away, the room was big and a lovely bathroom.

I'd certainly recommend this place for a base for a party weekend, although equally good for a bit of boutique relaxing time, and perfect shopping location

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mekon30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawrence1601, Manager at Signature Living at Matthew Street, responded to this review, 10 September 2014
Dear Mekon,

We would be very keen to here from you.
If you could contact me on 07759217094 to discuss your stay with us further I would appreciate it.

Many thanks

Faye Calvey
Manager
Signature living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

I have just got home from what in my sons words was "the best sleepover....EVER"

We stayed the night in the Bond Duplex for my sons 12th birthday along with 9 children and 3 adults.

On arrival we were welcomed at reception by a lovely young lady who couldn't help us enough.

Once we got to our apartment we were overwhelmed with how immaculate and stylish it was. The views of the Liverpool skyline were beautiful....we could have been in New York!!!

Once all the kids chose their beds they went downstairs to see the lovely lady on reception who loaned them some playstation games to play on the playstation provided in the room!!

This kept them quiet so the adults took advantage of the free tea and coffee in the immaculate kitchen which literally had everything you needed from washing up liquid to cutlery.

Once the boys realised that they had their own jacuzzi bath in their bathroom they couldn't wait to jump in. This wasn't a problem as the hotel provided us with plenty of fresh fluffy towels.

The hotel is located right in the heart of the city centre so we took advantage of this and took the boys out to see the sights.

Once back in the apartment the boys had another jacuzzi followed by a night playing the playstation and watching DVD's...whilst the adults took advantage of the peace and had a go in their very own jacuzzi we even watched the soaps in it and it really was bliss!!!!

As you can imagine the boys were determined to have an 'allnighter' which wasn't a problem as the adults had their own section of the apartment and we couldn't hear a peep out of them.

From start to finish we really enjoyed our experience and will be booking again in October for my 9 year old sonsv5 year anniversary of becoming type 1 diabetic. The boys are already asking "how many sleeps".

I highly recommend the Bond Duplex especially for birthday sleepovers it takes all the stress away from having it in your own home....and the staff at signature living really do have everything covered!!!

Till next time .....

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank DanielleD1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawrence1601, Owner at Signature Living at Matthew Street, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Danielle,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your great review.

We are glad that you and the rest of your party have enjoyed your Bond stay with us and the features of our accommodation which you can only find at Signature.

We hope to welcome you back to stay.

Many Thanks

Katie Kenwright
Proprietor
Signature Living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2014

The second time i have stayed at this wonderful hotel,i thought the 1st time was superb but this time was quite possibly one of the best rooms i have ever stayed in..2 of us were in the Moulin bedroom 1,two massive double beds,a superb bath,2 sofas & one of the best wetrooms i have seen on my travels,as you can see by my reviews i have been lucky enough to stay in some of the worlds top hotels&this one is up there at the very top...to all who are connected with Signature Living,as the commmentator famously said Take a bow, take a bow..Fantastic...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank red kop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawrence1601, Owner at Signature Living at Matthew Street, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear red kop,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your amazing review.
Both the staff and myself are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We appreciate your lovely comments regarding our accommodation, friendly staff and service. All our accommodation is very centrally located and boast amazing facilities second to none.
We do endeavor to make our guest stay with us the best possible experience that it can be.
Hope to see you again on your return to us.

Many thanks

Katie Kenwright
Proprietor
Signature Living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Had a great time,everything we wanted was close by.Lovely apartment,could have stayed longer.Got a great deal and the staff were very helpful,especially Rob,would definitely go back again.Thanks to the staff. From Joan & Kathleen.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathleen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawrence1601, Owner at Signature Living at Matthew Street, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear Joan & Kathleen,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review.
So glad that you recommend us and will make sure your praise is pasted on to Rob.

We hope to welcome you back to stay, maybe even at 30 James Street, with hotel spa, so make sure you give that a try too.

Many Thanks

Katie Kenwright
Proprietor
Signature Living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2014

We arrived at the hotel at the earliest possible check in time. We were greeted by a very friendly receptionist who was extremely helpful. All the staff there were helpful, friendly, courteous and extremely proud of the hotel and this showed in their approach. We stayed in The Casino Suite and this was simply amazing. The facilities and cleanliness were second to none. The presentation of the suite was very special with champagne and rose petals scattered throughout. We will certainly be returning and i would strongly recommend this hotel to anybody considering coming to Liverpool.
Maria Gill

Room Tip: All the rooms were amazing as we have friends that have stayed in several rooms before.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnzie1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawrence1601, Owner at Signature Living at Matthew Street, responded to this review, 1 July 2014
Dear John,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your great review.

We are glad that you have enjoyed your Casino stay with us and the features of our accommodation which you can only find at Signature.

We hope to welcome you back to stay, or try our new edition… 30 James Street with a hotel spa, so make sure you give that a try too.

Many Thanks

Katie Kenwright
Proprietor
Signature Living
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Posh Pads Liverpool ONE
#7 of 97 in Liverpool
819 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
The Shankly Hotel
The Shankly Hotel
#4 of 97 in Liverpool
2,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
The Richmond Pub & Hotel
The Richmond Pub & Hotel
#25 of 71 in Liverpool
36 reviews
Epic Serviced Apartments
#5 of 106 in Liverpool
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Signature Living at Matthew Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Signature Living at Matthew Street

Property: Signature Living at Matthew Street
Address: 9-11 Whitechapel, Liverpool L1 6DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and LateRooms so you can book your Signature Living at Matthew Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing