We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 71 Liverpool B&B and Inns
New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Fabulous Stay!”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

This is a wonderful place to stay if you're visiting Liverpool. Here's why: 1) Sue (the owner) is AMAZING!! Friendly, accommodating, gracious, easy to talk to and great cook!! 2) gorgeous (and spotlessly clean) home; 3) beautiful, comfy well-appointed room 4) VERY quiet; 5) very close to transportation into the city; 6) an easy walk to neighborhood restaurants and 7) -- for Beatles fans only -- her neighbor is Pete Best's brother! Sue can hook you up with a personal tour of the Casbah Club, a WONDERFUL place to go to see where it all began for the Fab Four.

Serious -- the Casbah tour is not to be missed for anyone who is a real Beatles fan. Not to be missed.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Carole611
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    70
    10
    0
    1
    1
See reviews for
18
49
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 September 2013

This is the second time we have been to The Avenue and will always be our first choice B&B to stay when we visit our Son at University. Lovely comfortable room and great breakfast. Sue makes you very welcome.

Kevin and Linda from Bristol

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THEHUGHEZES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

My husband and I came to Liverpool to celebrate my 50th birthday, which was so much fun. We stayed at The Avenue for two nights in the Garden Room and all I can say is Fabulous. The room is so so lovely, the house itself wonderful, spotlessley clean, very stylish and homely. The breakfasts are terrific. Sue was absolutely amazing, she made my birthday even more memorable. On the morning of my birthday I came down to a 'Happy Birthday' banner in the breakfast room, how lovely is that. I just want to say thankyou Sue, we had the most amazing time and you are a really special lady, and I shall never forget my birthday made even nicer by all the lovely things you did and said. xx

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jacquelyn d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013 via mobile

We had a terrific time at the Avenue B&B. Our host Sue was wonderful, friendly and informative. The location is great, right on the bus route into town, and walking distance to several shops, pubs and a great, cheap place (Carvery) where it is possible to get a roast meal for under 5 pounds. Very comfortable beds, and quiet. Sue went out of her way to help us when one of our tours did not arrive and helped us sort it out. All up excellent.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2013

Our first visit to Liverpool was made all the more amazing by staying here, Sue the owner is so welcoming and the room was spotless with a very comfy bed and lovely veiw. Super breakfast served in the large stylish dining room.We travelled by bus into the city and the stops are very near the house and this proved to be a quick journey to the centre bus station across from the amazing Albert docks.We would highly reccomend this superb b.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank patsyt187048
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

The house is beautifully decorated and spotless. From the second we walked in the door Sue made us feel at home and the bed was supper comfy :-). Great location easy and cheep to get to Liverpool center cost just a few £ in a taxi. Great fresh breakfast in the morn and an excellent brew. Will be my home from home whenever i visit Liverpool.

Room Tip: They all great
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NolanLK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I dont do reviews but after staying at the Avenue, id feel bad no too, this was our first time staying at a B&B, and was definitely a good move. The house is very nice and moden, the bedrooms Immaculately clean, located in nice area, not to far from the centre.

Sue is lovelly and couldn't do enough for us. 5 * breakfast in the morning, what more can you ask for.

if you are visiting Liverpool, you cant go wrong staying here.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jason W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,010 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
1,574 reviews
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Penny Lane Hotel
#2 of 71 in Liverpool
287 reviews
Orrell Park Hotel
#4 of 71 in Liverpool
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Avenue Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Avenue Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Avenue Bed and Breakfast
Address: 156 Mather Avenue, Liverpool L18 7HD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your The Avenue Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing