We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great english breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of City Cafe

City Cafe
Ranked #272 of 1,680 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Seating, Waitstaff
2 reviews
“Great english breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2013

Nice atmosphere, good service.. Lovely. A small and convivial place on Stanley Street. The breakfast was very good and good value too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Yale D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

142 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    40
    8
    4
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“City Cafe- the hidden gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a no nonsense good value day time cafe serving excellent all day breakfast, proper pots of tea etc. Handy for Morrfields station, owner Ken is a sunny personality and Amy always looks after us. I've been going every Tuesday morning with my group for a year. www.citycafeliverpool.co.uk

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank muncherUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
2 reviews
“A lovely, unique Cafe in Liverpool, with a lovely food and wall mural”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

At City Cafe you receive the warmest of welcomes - the staff and owner Ken do everything to help you enjoy your visit. The cafe is decorated with a lovely and unique wall mural, depicting aspects of Liverpool life - dedicated by Ken and the artist he commissioned to create it, to Liverpool and the wonderful City. The cafe is a lovely place to sit, relax, and look on to Stanley street and watch the world go by. The food is great value - the breakfasts are great, the Tai curry excellent, as well as delicious almond cakes and scones. I have been going there since first discovering this lovely gem in 2007 and have been going back since. It is places like this that occupy a special place in the City and the heart.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Find”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013

Stumbled upon this little cafe on Stanley Street whilst in Liverpool on work. What an excellent little place. I've been back a few times since. There is so much to like about this place. The food is consistently good, freshly made and at a competative price. The owner, I think his name is Ken is welcoming and friendly, along with his staff. I love the mural "Under a Mersey Moon" on one wall and the general good atmosphere about the place. Definitely a place to be patronised!

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pinkyonesevenone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great for breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

We were staying at the Premier Inn around the corner and had breakfast here on both mornings of our stay.
The owner was friendly and welcoming and the service was excellent. There is a good selection of options and everything we tried was delicious!
It seemed to be popular with tourists and locals, definitely the place to go if you are around this part of Liverpool.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rachel J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed City Cafe also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to City Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing