We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Postcode honey and stories for breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elegant House Liverpool B&B
Ranked #5 of 71 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, UK
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
“Postcode honey and stories for breakfast”
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I got lost on my way to Elegant House and ended up in Liverpool's Chinatown. It is possible to walk to this B&B from Lime Street station, but I would thoroughly recommend taking a bus - there are lots going in that direction - and it may save you having to flag down a cab like me! That said, once I had been armed with John’s excellent maps (tourist and hand-drawn), getting to the Tate by foot the next morning was no problem at all.

Elegant House has been open as a B&B since October 2012, and parts of it are still being adapted. The downstairs bedrooms and bathroom seem more finished in terms of decoration than the upstairs rooms. My upstairs bathroom was still waiting for its mirror, bathmat and soap. Yes, soap!

However, the unique selling point of Elegant House is not its quirky fixtures and fittings, but the sheer exuberance of its host and his consummate skill in preparing the best, most unusual breakfast I’ve ever tasted. Gorgeous bread with ‘postcode’ honey – yes, there’s a story that goes with that! A pear poached in red wine. Granola and muesli soaked in apple juice, yoghurt, melon, lychees, fresh cherries, relishes – and if I’d wanted them: eggs, smoked salmon, ham – the list goes on! John is a perfectly charming host, a fund of information and stories. I won’t tell you any of them, because I believe you need to stay at Elegant House to hear them for yourself.

Room Tip: Even though the downstairs rooms have to share a bathroom, at time of writing (July 2013) they are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hittheroadjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    88
    44
    9
    3
    1
See reviews for
28
47
24
15
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 July 2013

A great location with short bus ride to Liverpool One. An enthusiastic host, John was very helpful in assisting us with information about Liverpool's attractions. He served a fresh breakfast that was one of the best we have had during our stay in the UK.
Large room in the early stages of decoration.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I have spent 2 nights at Elegant House Liverpool B&B, The place is close to the city center about 20 min walking but the path to city has a lot of interesting thing to see. the place is very lovely and clean and tidy.John was a nice host and I really loved his breakfast its the best Breakfast I have ever had in B&B. The Room s are another story, they are very big and very clean and tidy and nice beds.

I recommend Every one to go there and try the Breakfast :)

Amad Tababa

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Emad_Tababa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

John who owns the place obviously enjoys having guests and this is reflected in the attention to detail and effort he puts in to ensuring you enjoy your stay.

Rooms - great, huge

Shared bathroom - good, could do with a bar of soap so you don't have to bring your own

Breakfast - exceptionally good. Continental of the highest quality, e.g. Quality deli items such as smoked salmon, salami, fresh ciabatta, literally hand squeezed orange juice, nice coffee etc. I'm sure he would supply you with anything you requested as well

Location - a two minute walk to a busy street where I didn't wait longer than two minutes for a bus directly into the city centre

John supplys a hand drawn map which I used every day and was very useful.

On the whole brilliant and I could stay months here

I left my bank cards in the room and John phoned me within 30 mins of leaving, saving me a headache.


  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Lovely guest house close to Liverpool's Lark Lane and Sefton Park. A little bit far from town centre, but taxis are cheap. John was a great host and provided an amazing breakfast. Rooms are very large with comfortable beds. Bathroom had amazing showers.

I did have a few problems with payment as I hadn't realised I received an invoice from Paypal, I thought it was a receipt!

Room Tip: Remember to pay the Paypal invoice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
phoenix
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Our trip led us through Liverpool for a few days, and nearly every place I looked at prior to booking had comments to the point of "oh yeah, it's loud, but what can you do"...except for this one. And in fact, it was very quiet while we were there: the bedroom we stayed in was on the first (not ground) floor, facing the street, and there was little noise to speak of.

What we liked:
- Good price. There are cheaper places, but, post-university, I hesitate to stay in them anymore.
- Room size. Ours was just right, on the larger side of things as England goes.
- Location. 5-10 minutes cab to Lime St. Station, 5 minute walk to Teisco & buses going straight into the city center, Princes Park right out the front door (and Sefton Park pretty much next to that), 15-20 minute walk to Lark Lane (some good restaurants).
- Breakfast. I was glad that it wasn't a fry-up, as we had that in the other B&Bs we stayed in; instead, it was a good change - the fresh squeezed juice a nice touch, with excellent locally-made bread. And filling, to boot.
- the atmosphere at breakfast. This is a more difficult thing to describe, but in all the places we stayed on our trip, this was the only one that truly had that B&B feel of community, the kind where you expect to meet interesting other people staying there and to feel like you're all part of the same extended family. That doesn't quite capture it, but whatever "it" is, it is a large part of what makes Elegant House special.
- John (the host). You know, every one of the reviews of this place mentions something about him, and for good reason - he either knows something good to suggest, or knows someone who does, he went out of his way to assist us when we needed it (finding us a nearby dry cleaner and calling to see if they would do pick up/delivery, for example), and he seems eager to hear everyone else's experiences, both with things he's suggested and those (presumably) that could end up as good recommendations to others.

What we thought could be improved:
- bathroom description. We did have a private bathroom, and it was adjacent to, not literally within, the room we stayed in. This wasn't a big deal, it really wasn't even inconvenient, and it's maybe more indicative of my own expectations that turn into assumptions, that it never occurred to me that it could be that way. So, rather than expecting major construction, perhaps the wording can be made more clear.
- signage. At the time we stayed there was no external signage, which, in combination with (again) my own assumption that there would be some sort of signpost and Booking.com's furnishing of not-the-entire address of the place, led to us wandering up and down the street for a few minutes before asking someone nearby, who was kind enough to assist us. At the time, John was deliberating between whether or not to have outside signage, and I think we've decided where to cast our vote: yes to a sign. **Note this is indicative of May 2013, this may or may not have changed since.

You know, this place isn't a soulless, corporate, human container (there are plenty of those in the city center); it is, just like the other reviewer said, "...quirky and different, in a good way". We agree. People gave us the dog-like confused look whenever we said we would be staying in Liverpool for part of our trip, but we're very glad we did.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gabriel_syme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I loved the big spacious room with a single bed which I used and a spare double bed. I had to mention the single bed because it was so exceptionally comfortable with a mattress just right for my back. I had the best sleep. John the host was very knowledgeable and happy to share all sorts of local and interesting information. The breakfast was absolutely wonderful and I have even tried out the special Swiss juice muesli with almond on my return home. The place was very clean and well looked after. Oh before I forget, I could not find a door bell on my arrival and I called John on my mobile to let him know that I had arrived. Should I have to go back to Liverpool I definitely would try to get accommodation at Elegant House again.

Monika

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reallygoodforsure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,058 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#22 of 97 in Liverpool
4,730 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#11 of 97 in Liverpool
2,415 reviews
Titanic Hotel Liverpool
#16 of 97 in Liverpool
3,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant House Liverpool B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant House Liverpool B&B

Property: Elegant House Liverpool B&B
Address: Princes Park, Liverpool L8 3TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 71 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the centre or be there in minutes by bus. EH mixes minimalism, 1950s furniture, tartans and kilims. French windows open into the terraced garden where breakfast is served on sunny mornings. Rooms have high ceilings and original features. Breakfast on yoghurt, muesli, toast, pastries, cold meats, preserves, tea, coffee and fruit juice. Food is sourced to reflect the multi-cultural district of Princes Park. Television lounge, film / book library, laundry room, complimentary wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Elegant House Liverpool B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing