We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A good place to stay, with a competent host!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Elegant House Liverpool B&B
Ranked #8 of 77 Liverpool B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oslo, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A good place to stay, with a competent host!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

We are a family of four (with children of 11 and 15 years) who visited Liverpool 28 September to 2nd of October. Our stay was roughly planned from home, but thanks to John (the host) and his input, the trip became very eventful, with a good mix of visits to museums, historic buildings, art exhibitions, city-walks, architecture, urban areas and surroundings. The residence is just outside the city center, but we did not experience this as negative. Perhaps it was because of the good and long breakfasts, the parks which are close by, or just because your view on the town just became more completed. We will use this as our residence for future visits!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Einar L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    75
    42
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
25
36
23
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2013

大赞!!!老板人特别nice!!!
This was my first time to live in liverpool. I really enjoyed my night in Elegant House.This is a quaint little B&B in a Liverpool. Host John is extremely friendly and knowledgable about the area. He is very helpful in navigating me around the city. The breakfast was traditional british breakfast. I really enjoyed it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C8892EHSteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

This is a quaint little B&B in a Liverpool neighborhood. John is extremely friendly and knowledgable about the area. He was very helpful in navigating me around the city. The room I had was spacious and comfortable. The morning breakfasts were excellent in the very nice kitchen/dining area. Although I didn't take much advantage of the entertainment room it was nice and looked like a great place for a night in playing games or watching the tv.
There is a cat in the household but Mr. Wendy seems friendly and he didn't bother me at all.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Martinatime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lyon, France
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2013

We stayed at Elegant House for the last night of a short stay in the region. After re-checking the address on the phone with John in the afternoon, we met later and stayed the whole evening to hide from the rain. Our host was very welcoming and made us feel comfortable. The room was big and nicely furnished. The whole interior decoration reminded me of some nice north europe/scandinavian design (not sure) I had seen and liked before. That and the great breakfast in the morning together with some good discussions with John made it a good experience. I would come back there and therefore recommend it to any traveller.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEBCA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Our group of 5 adults had a great 2 nights at Elegant House. John was a friendly and knowledgable host. We loved the continental breakfast and chatting with John in the morning. The rooms were large and comfortable and the bathroom was new and clean. Thanks John for a memorable stay in Liverpool. All the best, the gang from Australia!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, UK
Level Contributor
85 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

I got lost on my way to Elegant House and ended up in Liverpool's Chinatown. It is possible to walk to this B&B from Lime Street station, but I would thoroughly recommend taking a bus - there are lots going in that direction - and it may save you having to flag down a cab like me! That said, once I had been armed with John’s excellent maps (tourist and hand-drawn), getting to the Tate by foot the next morning was no problem at all.

Elegant House has been open as a B&B since October 2012, and parts of it are still being adapted. The downstairs bedrooms and bathroom seem more finished in terms of decoration than the upstairs rooms. My upstairs bathroom was still waiting for its mirror, bathmat and soap. Yes, soap!

However, the unique selling point of Elegant House is not its quirky fixtures and fittings, but the sheer exuberance of its host and his consummate skill in preparing the best, most unusual breakfast I’ve ever tasted. Gorgeous bread with ‘postcode’ honey – yes, there’s a story that goes with that! A pear poached in red wine. Granola and muesli soaked in apple juice, yoghurt, melon, lychees, fresh cherries, relishes – and if I’d wanted them: eggs, smoked salmon, ham – the list goes on! John is a perfectly charming host, a fund of information and stories. I won’t tell you any of them, because I believe you need to stay at Elegant House to hear them for yourself.

Room Tip: Even though the downstairs rooms have to share a bathroom, at time of writing (July 2013) they are c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hittheroadjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

A great location with short bus ride to Liverpool One. An enthusiastic host, John was very helpful in assisting us with information about Liverpool's attractions. He served a fresh breakfast that was one of the best we have had during our stay in the UK.
Large room in the early stages of decoration.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angelo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,842 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Penny Lane Hotel
#2 of 77 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
Liverpool Gateway Limited
#13 of 77 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elegant House Liverpool B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elegant House Liverpool B&B

Property: Elegant House Liverpool B&B
Address: Princes Park, Liverpool L8 3TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 77 B&Bs / Inns in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Walk to the centre or be there in minutes by bus. EH mixes minimalism, 1950s furniture, tartans and kilims. French windows open into the terraced garden where breakfast is served on sunny mornings. Rooms have high ceilings and original features. Breakfast on yoghurt, muesli, toast, pastries, cold meats, preserves, tea, coffee and fruit juice. Food is sourced to reflect the multi-cultural district of Princes Park. Television lounge, film / book library, laundry room, complimentary wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Elegant House Liverpool B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing