We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly service, lovely food, not overpriced”

Christakis Greek Restaurant
Ranked #313 of 1,700 Restaurants in Liverpool
Price range: US$14 - US$27
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Christakis on Smithdown Road opened in 2011 and is sister restaurant to the long established and popular Christakis Greek Taverna on York St. Open 7 days a week serving authentic Greek food and drinks.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly service, lovely food, not overpriced”
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We had a very nice evening at Christakis. The waiters were attentive and looked after us well. We only ordered starters - two for each of us. Unlike in these rip-off tapas places, the starters we generously portioned. Two were enough to fill us up. It all was tasty and not too oily as it sometimes can be in Greek restaurants. The atmosphere was lively and happy but not loud. When the bill arrived, we felt we had had value for money. A really good night out and we will go back. That's for sure.

Helpful?
Thank kay63170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    193
    62
    24
    25
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Go when you are really hungry”
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Went with a Groupon Voucher not expecting much, but we were surprised. The starters,
Houmous and Tzatziki were freshly prepared with plenty of Greek breads. The Pork Afelia was delicious- the meat was tender and tasty. My friends Chicken in Sauce was tasty and creamy. Both dishes were accompanied with Salad and Chips. We couldn't manage a sweet each so we shared a Paclava, delightful. The staff were attentive. We are going back next week as the Meal was great. Only go when you are hungry as the portions are big .

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank oldiebutgoldie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Raw Chicken”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Wasn't expecting much from this restaurant having bought a voucher from woucher for it. But We was expecting half decent food and maybe some friendly staff. After arriving and being put literally in the corner almost on the same table as the next, we were handed a small menu for the woucher experience. the vegetarian option was only for moussaka which was a disappointing dish cold and sloppy. Any way down to the main complaint Raw Chicken, that is what i got. and when i told the waiter i was told i should of said earlier, the dish was taken and that was it no apology or offer of compensation or anything. We asked for our bill for the drinks which they added a extra drink to, so check your bill carefully. And refused to let us pay on card as it was less than £15 all in all a unpleasant experience wont be returning. I can see why they are throwing all the special vouchers at ppl to get them in.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank keerny n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Good food, good service and good value.”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Went here with a Groupon voucher and didn't expect to get so much food. The offer was limited to 5- 6 choices for starter and the same for main course, however this was plenty to choose from.
Both of us had Greek salad to start which was a large portion with a pile of Greek breads on the side.
Then meatballs and Afelia for our mains which were huge and included a dish of chips and rice and another large Greek salad.
The food was delicious and piping hot and the the staff were friendly. Despite being very busy we didn't have to wait long and the smells from the open-plan kitchen were good.
This is a family run business with a local friendly feel about the place. Definitely recommend Christakis and would go back to try something different from the extensive menu.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen_G_1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level Contributor
31 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great, food, service,& value for money”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We have just been out to Christakis Restaurant in Smithdown Road Liverpool which was our first visit, but certainly won't be our last. We ate from the 2 for £9.50 menu which for the amount of food was extremely good value. The food was tasty and very well presented. The restaurant is spacious and nicely decorated with a good atmosphere. The waiter Yohan Fouad was very attentive and other waiters were all friendly and quick to serve us and clear away our dirty plates. As a family we enjoyed our evening immensely and will certainly be going back again soon. We can highly recommend people to try Christakis, we are sure you will enjoy your visit.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JanWignall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Christakis Greek Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Christakis Greek Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing