We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous”
Review of Franco's

Franco's
Ranked #653 of 1,710 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Aintree
Level Contributor
52 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 11 March 2014

I visit this restaurant at least once a month. The food is top class and the atmosphere is great. You can go to this restaurant dressed in any code. The food is always fresh and I have never had a bad meal there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AintreeJeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    15
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Italianio!”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

Love Italion food.Been here many times, Service is excellent, portions are huge!.Personally I find the decor a littlte tired & dated but overall a good experience.I had vegetarian risotto........just fabulous! Bruscetta starter was massive! Couldnt finish my mains.Give it a try......you wont be dissapointed.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank chris k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Amazing Food, Franco is a Legend!”
Reviewed 8 March 2014

Took my other half here for his birthday meal and had a fantastic night. Recommended to us by a friend, really worth paying that little bit extra for.

Top notch veggie selection - I had a chilli linguine dish which was utterly different to any other Italian food I've ever had, really authentic. The restaurant itself is underground and has a really rustic feel to it.

Great food, great wine and a fantastic host - joined us for a shot of limoncello after our dessert!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sinead N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derry City, N Ireland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Very pleasant.”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

We were looking for a nice Italian restaurant in the city centre and Franco's fit the bill completely. Initially we were a little concerned by some of the surprisingly negative reviews on TA but we were very pleasantly surprised by all aspects of the evening there. The staff were very friendly and attentive. The food was excellent and serving times were spot on. There was a good choice of wines and for those on a budget Franco's sells a litre carafe of red or white house wine for just £16.99. The meal was so filling we didn't order desserts but the staff brought a complimentary portion of fresh grapes, a selection of biscotti and a shot of lemoncello each for all six in our party which was a nice treat. When the bill arrived we were again very pleasantly surprised. For two courses, drinks, wine and tip the bill averaged out at less than £25 per person. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Doire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Excellent Lunch 1st visit to Franco's”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

A cold wet Wednesday in January & met my friend for lunch. We wanted to give the more trendy bars/restaurants a miss & fell across Franco's in Castle St. I had seen adverts for years in the local paper but had never actually eaten here. So, approx 1pm in we go.
We got a really nice welcome & were shown to our table. The restaurant is not very big however it is decorated in the old Italian style which makes a nice change from all the chrome, stainless steel, glass in the newer restaurants, We both liked the decor, very like New York Italian restaurants.
We were given menu's & our drinks order was taken very politely & quickly. We both just wanted a main course & we both chose spaghetti dishes. I chose the Spaghetti Matriciana & my friend the Spaghetti Marinana and both were delicious & very well portioned & priced.

We could not fit a sweet in however we got a lovely plate of biscotti & fruit which was a lovely touch to go with my coffee.,

The staff were very friendly & attentive & we would not hesitate to go back again.n.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mogdaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Franco's also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Franco's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing