We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Treat spoilt”
Review of Michelangelo's Restaurant - CLOSED

Michelangelo's Restaurant
Price range: US$7 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Michelangelo's serves high quality Italian, European and Modern British Cuisine. Open daily from 12.00PM and with just 28 covers, we offer an intimate and relaxing setting in which to enjoy your meal whilst taking in the views over Sefton Park boating lake. Alongside our A La Carte Menu, we offer a full lunch menu which is available daily till 5.00PM and an Early Bird menu which is available till 6.30PM Monday - Thursday and till 5.30PM Friday - Saturday. We are located in The Sefton Park Hotel which is located just inside the Aigburth Road entrance to Sefton Park. Plenty of free car parking is available, both on site and adjacent to the hotel. We are a family friendly venue and also welcome large groups. In addition to the main restaurant we can also host private dinners for up to 90 guests in the hotel's recently refurbished function suites. We hope to see you soon!
Reviewed 23 February 2014

Husband had enjoyed lunch at Michelangelos so we booked again for sons birthday. Arrived at 7.30pm Saturday as booked, no one to meet and greet us, two very busy waitresses rushing about, restaurant looked as if it was hosting childrens party?

Eventually I was able to speak to waitress and was told we would need to wait at least 20 minutes and as bar was full, there was nowhere to sit. No apology offered!

We left, disappointed and annoyed at being treated so rudely ~ to try to find another restaurant on Saturday evening.

Thanks ~ for nothing!!

    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Thank sunshine1980_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelangelos_GM, General Manager at Michelangelo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Dear Sunshine1989_9,

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry to read that you had a negative experience at Michelangelo's.

The restaurant was extremely busy on the night which you came and we had a large family party in whose table had run slightly over due to several of them arriving late which genuinely couldn't be helped. I'm sure you will appreciate that this can sometimes be case with large gatherings when people are travelling from different locations. They were however in the process of leaving as you arrived and our Restaurant Hostess for the evening explained that there would be a 5 - 10 minute wait for your table whilst they cleared up and re-set the table, and offered each of you a drink with our compliments whilst you waited. Naturally we wouldn't wish to rush any of our valued customers.

On this occasion you chose to decline this offer and said that you would rather find somewhere else, despite the fact that our waiting staff were in the process of setting your table and you would only have had to wait a short amount of time. This is your prerogative as the customer and we were not going to argue with it, something which we would never do as we wish to deliver excellent customer service at all times.

We would be delighted to welcome you back to Michelangelo's at any time. Please ask for me in person and I will be delighted to look after you.

Kindest regards
Conor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 35 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 20 February 2014

Called in to enjoy the Steak Night offered on Sugarvine only to be told that it had ended.....however the staff agreed to extend the offer so as not to disappoint us which I thought was very kind indeed.

The restaurant is very small and intimate and the staff are wonderful. As it happened we decided to go "a la carte" and the food we had was beautiful.

I had not previously considered this place as I thought it did not have a restaurant but a friend informed me that Sunday lunch here was fantastic...I cannot vouch for that but I will certainly return to enjoy the food served in the restaurant during the week. We both really enjoyed our meals.

It is certainly worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Cags1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelangelos_GM, General Manager at Michelangelo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Cags70,

Thank you very much for your review. We always go the extra mile to try and please all our customers. We're delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us. Please do pop in again and try our Sunday Lunch, it's very popular indeed!

Kindest regards
Conor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014

The staff are very kind an responsive, always checking to make sure that everything is all right. The foot was inventive, plentiful and delicious! Fully recommended!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Oliver C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelangelos_GM, General Manager at Michelangelo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2014

Hi Oliver C,

Thank you very much for your review. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit to Michelangelo's and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Best regards
Conor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 January 2014

Myself and my work collegaues visited Michealongelos last week for a post Christmas night out. The resturant which is inside a hotel was modern and welcoming. The menu itself offers a wide range of food ranging from steaks cooked on a hot stone to amazing risotto balls in breadcrumbs for a starter.
The young lady who served us and also worked behind the bar was very professional and catered for our every need we were never without a drink nothing was too much trouble. She was very polite and had a lovely manner about her and is a credit to the resturant.
The food itself was excellent, i ordered the the Arancini Risotto which were delicious and moreish! Then I had the cod and chips with tartare sauce and peas which again didnt disappoint the only thing i would say was good old mushy peas inside of normal gardens peas might be a nice idea :) For dessert i had the chocolate fudge cake which was a great end to a fab meal.
Will definitely be visiting again soon...

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Hollief1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelangelos_GM, General Manager at Michelangelo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hi HollieF,
Thanks a million for taking the time to write such a detailed review. We're delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and I have passed your kind feedback onto our team.
Look forward to seeing you again soon,
Best regards
Conor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Just came back from our 1st visit to the restaurant for my partners 30th. It has to be the best steak we have ever had. The girl looking after us make are visit excellent and had the best customer service skills nothing was to much to ask for. It was a calm experience and we shall be certainly returning

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katie0986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelangelos_GM, General Manager at Michelangelo's Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 30 January 2014

Hi Katie0986,
Thanks for the great review. We pride ourselves on offering the highest standards of food and service at all times. Our steaks, and the Steak on the Stone in particular are our most popular dishes. I have shared your kind comments with my colleague who looked after you as well, she was delighted to hear your feedback. Please do come back and dine with us soon.
Kindest regards
Conor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Michelangelo's Restaurant also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing