We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms are too small” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Z Hotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Z Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Troon,Scotland
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Rooms are too small”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2013

Stayed here last week,and we really enjoyed our short trip to Liverpool.
Unfortunately the hotel was not for us,and I would not go back.
Excellent friendly staff,great location ,and a large tv with all the sky channels.Really good bathroom.
Now for the negatives
We are both in our 60s,and had to climb over one another to get into the bed as it was tight against the wall.No cupboards,and nowhere to put your clothes away.Two small drawers,one which was taken up with the hair dryer and no chair to sit on.I like to try and keep room tidy,but it was impossible to do this in the cramped room.
Housekeeping did not come till late afternoon.On our last day we went out at 9am and returned at 3.30pm,and room had still not been cleaned.Girl turned up about 4pm,but we were too tired to go back out so we told girl not to bother cleaning.Was the same the day before,though not just as late.
This hotel would be ideal for singles or young couples.If you travel with even a small amount of luggage,I would forget it as there is just no space to put anything away

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkd41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,299 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    778
    370
    93
    34
    24
See reviews for
86
702
109
104
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (274)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2013

Location and style was it is a pretty good place. I have stayed many times in different hotels in Liverpool as i often travel here for work and also to catch up with my family. Can do a little bit more on customer service front and detail on the cleanliness can give them higher grading here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chantal R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

Thanks to all for being a major part of the wonderful experience of getting married in Liverpool. Encouraged to enjoy ourselves and relax. (Special thanks to young George.) This place has everything and even the gannets were happy and friendly. Thanks again

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

Apparently this hotel in an old office block has only been open since April 2013, but credit to the designers for putting together exactly what the visitor needs:
- a basic but modern room with a comfortable bed
- excellent wet room shower (although you have to know your partner well as it's a glass cubicle with only lower frosted modesty screening!)
- excellent toiletries and towels that don't feel like cardboard
- the usual tea/cofee making facilities
- Freeview TV plus SKY
- free WIFI (with no strings!)
- decent continental or English breakfast options in the foyer cafe
- free wine and cheese in the early evening (but watch out for the gannets who use it as a meal opportunity)
- concession rate on city centre parking if you drive there
- competitive B/B rate
- close to everything including the Albert Docks area

A no frills stay but good quality. Makes Travel Lodges look like something from the past.

Room Tip: The windows in those rooms that have them are sealed so all the ventilation is via internal systems...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BiggerAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013 via mobile

Visited the hotel on a work trip and on first impressions the hotel was good, small but very modern room everything I needed for one night. Then I turned on the tv only to find the person in the room before had been watching po rn the night before, not only did I feel sick knowing what had happened in my room but I cannot believe the tv isn't re-set onto a standard channel. Next I go to get in the bed have to sweep away a dust bunny on the floor then pick short black hairs off the top of the bed. When I pulled the cover back there was also a long curly hair on the pillow yuck! I have complained and after a very defensive email have been offered a free stay but live in London so obviously won't be benefiting from this maybe they should have offered a stay across the estate and they may not have lost a customer.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Emlondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jane M, General Manager at Z Hotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 23 September 2013
Hello Emma,
I am the General Manager at Z Liverpool who responded to your email complaint. I want to assure you that I did follow up on your complaint after you emailed me and as promised I put into place procedures so that TV channels were changed to the News by housekeeping. We also have asked housekeepers to check carefully for hairs after they made the bed..
I'm sorry I cannot offer you a free night in London as you stated in your review -due to our London hotels being operated by a different management company . The offer still stands of a complimentary stay in Z Liverpool.
Once again sincere apologies for the upset this has caused you and thank you for taking the time to register your review.
Kind Regards
Jane Moss
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glasgow
Level Contributor
119 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

Stayed here over the busy bank holiday weekend and I cannot praise the hotel and the staff highly enough. Very nice rooms and great location. Emma, the manageress, was always on hand and extremely helpful.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GlasgowCross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weaverham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2013

I have never felt the need to review a hotel before, but feel this is certainly one worth mentioning! I stayed here with my partner a few weeks ago visiting my daughter. Despite her attending university in Liverpool she had never even heard of Z Hotel but could not believe how 'cool' this little hotel was. Upon arrival we were greeted by a very friendly receptionist with fantastic vibrant blue hair! We were given clear directions to the car park and were even offered recommendations for things to see and do in the city. She advised we had just missed their complimentary wine and cheese which is served every evening but offered wine and nibbles anyway, which was a really lovely gesture. All of the staff in fact were brilliant during our stay, always smiling with a great sense of humour and nothing was too much trouble for them. This hotel has a very unique concept and the staff to match!
The rooms, although small, were perfectly done. Immaculately clean and the beds are very comfortable. We didn't have a window in our room, which I was a bit dubious about at first but it turned out it wasn't an issue at all. My only small complaint was the air conditioning system not working properly but aside from that I can not fault this place. The reception area is the cafe and bar and the staff are just brilliant. We will definitely be staying here again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cathleen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,785 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,269 reviews
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Hotel Liverpool

Property: Z Hotel Liverpool
Address: 2 North John Street, Liverpool L2 4SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Z Hotel Liverpool 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Lastminute and Agoda so you can book your Z Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing