We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very poor stay clear”
Review of Z Hotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Z Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very poor stay clear”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The room was hot, air con very poor.we asked for a window room and paid extra only to discover the windows do not open.during the night I rolled over and found a foot sock tucked down the side of the bed clearly a remnant of a prior guest. The en suite is similar to an indoor greenhouse, the last thing we wanted was to watch each other using the toilet. Staff were ok but we were not offered our money back for our night of hell.we were supposed to stay for two nights but could not wait to leave, we vacated at 6:30am.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swifty1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,348 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    799
    393
    97
    35
    24
See reviews for
89
727
116
107
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (284)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ballina
Level Contributor
65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We got a room with no window but it still did not disappoint.. The work gone into those rooms is exceptional, attention to detail is wonderful, very modern and good standard of fittings. Lovely big shower, huge tv with all the sky channels, comfy bed that doesn't squeak ;-) ..

Nice tea/coffee in the room, fresh towels each day, lovely staff... Location is also amazing, right next to the main part of liverpool and the cavern pub.. We will be back soon..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adrian w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed he for a weekend.

The rooms are correct (they tick ALL the right boxes -there's SKY TV too), small, but beautifully compact, complete and clean.

Location is superb for shipping, nights out and sightseeing.

Value for money is probably one of the best ratios I have seen in a while.


But the real gem of this hotel is their staff: helpful, friendly, caring and truly welcoming and accommodating. They deserve a MASSIVE part on the back.

This is now my home from home in Liverpool.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SergioBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Les Carroz-d'Araches, France
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Ditto .... Windowless room exceptional value for money and has everything needed for a comfortable nights stay, but just wanted to say a special word about the staffs "our hotel is your home" attitude.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EmilyB7476
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Considering the location of Z Hotel the price is excellent and what you get for your money is very good. The hotel is 15 minutes walk from the Tate Art Gallery, 5 minutes walk from Liverpool One and 10 minutes walk from Liverpool Lime Street. We stayed in a room with a window (on checking in we requested the window) and I think this did make the room seem a little bigger which was nice as the rooms are very small but perfectly proportioned. We did not have an issue with storage as we only stayed a couple of nights and did not have much with us but I think for a longer stay I would have preferred more space. The glass partition area holds the shower (excellent powerful shower) and the toilet and actually due to the frosted glass felt more private than I would have thought. Still I would not recommend for new couples as you can hear everything.The TV was brilliant, the bed comfortable, the style luxurious. It was a nice touch with the free wine and cheese but you may have to inquire about it as we were not offered it.

Room Tip: Ask for a window if you want the room to be less boxy
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Moira L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
83 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Like so many before I can't praise this hotel enough for value for money. I'm a seasoned traveller who has stayed in hundreds of hotels but you wouldn't go far wrong at Z hotels. If you spend more than the evening and night in your hotel room then this might not be the place for you but if it's a bed for the night (or two) it's perfect. Cosy, clean and a wet room that has a fantastic shower its difficult to fault for the money. The added bonus of being close to the main shopping centre, the Cavern Sector and other attractions make it a well placed hotel for ease and convenience. Honestly don't waste money choosing dearer hotels when this will do you fine.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Stayed for one night in a windowless room, chose the hotel because it was cheaper than the Travelodge nearby. As others have said there is free cheese and wine available in the bar/reception area in the early evening which is a nice touch.

The room was small but big enough for an overnight stay, bed was comfy and the shower room was well equiped and roomy. It was very hot in room and you need to get reception to alter the temperature. TV was full Sky package which again was nice. We had no problem with noise and as the room had no window it was dark enough although there is a nightlight by the door. Room was clean but we did notice some hairgrips against the wall on the floor which had been missed.
It was well fitted out and the staff were firendly and willing to help but a lot of the fitments were what looked like the "economy" versions so I think they will wear quickly

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank screen101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,895 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,326 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 913 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Hotel Liverpool

Property: Z Hotel Liverpool
Address: 2 North John Street, Liverpool L2 4SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Z Hotel Liverpool 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Lastminute, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Z Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing