We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel, excellent location and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Z Hotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Z Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel, excellent location and value for money”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014

The Z hotel is very centrally located and is a really great hotel. The welcome from the staff was lovely and the place was so clean and fresh. The rooms are small but large enough for a few nights stay, we were on the 8th floor which gave us a great view over the river and Liver building. The bathroom is a glass box which keeps the room from feeling too crowded but is also overly intimate!
Will definitely stay again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra or a room with a window (the cheapest are in the middle and have no windows) if you ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nik K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    794
    383
    95
    35
    24
See reviews for
88
722
111
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

I have stayed here a couple of times now with my partner. It's a great location for a good night out 2 min walk from Liverpool One. Clean small rooms with welcoming staff. I would recommend this hotel for anyone couple wanting a little get away.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Syerak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Location of the hotel is very good, but the hotel room is really too tiny for 2 people. Would have been ok for a single person. The breakfast is not good - perhaps because I didn't expect a 'bacon roll' to be a piece of bacon between 2 pieces of white bread. The free wine at happy hour is good :) it's a good priced hotel but the value is not great when compared to how tiny the room is.

Room Tip: Doesn't seem to be any choices in rooms - all same sized.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank muffythechef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Z Hotel L, Senior Night Manager at Z Hotel Liverpool, responded to this review, 8 August 2014
Thank you muffythechef for taking time to write your review.

As you mentioned we do try to keep our prices low, this is the concept of our hotel brand. The idea is the more rooms we have means we can charge less per room, this is why the majority of are rooms are small. We do have larger queen rooms, so there is an option of a bigger room at a slightly higher price.

I can only apologise for the bacon roll not being up to our standard. Firstly it should have been on a bread roll not sliced bread (if sliced bread was not requested), secondly you should have had at least 2 slices of bacon but more would always be available on request. We would prefer it if we were told about our customers dissatisfaction immediately so we have the chance to rectify our mistake, it also makes us aware that our own standards aren’t what they should be. We need feedback from our guest/customers, it not only gives us the opportunity to improve what we are doing, it also lets us know if we are doing something right. I do feel our breakfast is good value at £4.95 per person, you do get unlimited tea, coffee, fruit juices, cereal, yogurts, fruit, croissants, with a selection of jams and of course the bacon roll.

Thank you again for your review

Kind Regards

John
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and fell in love with the staff, location and quality of the hotel. Staff were extremely helpful and friendly. Great value for money as the prices are affordable and the quality of the hotel was high. The free wine and cheese between 6-8 was a great chance to socialise with others and a fantastic idea I haven't experienced by any other hotel in Liverpool. We were allowed to leave our luggage at the hotel before the check in time and after our check out time at no extra cost which was a great service provided by the hotel. We were very impressed with the full access to all the sky channels in our room, which was very modern, clean and comfortable. We didn't have a window in our room but it made no difference to our stay. Overall we had a great time in our two day stay, the hotel is right beside the city center and easy to find. We can't wait to come back and encourage others to stay at the hotel.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank irishmegs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spalding, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

We stayed for 2 nights whilst attending the Open and couldn't have wished for a more perfect place to stay. The staff were always available offering advice and making sure we had everything we needed. The wine and cheese every evening was a great touch and when the train bringing us back from Hoylake broke down and we were too late for happy hour, the staff set it all out again!!! Appreciated by everyone!!! The smarties with your late night coffee was also a fun touch. The rooms were absolutely fine, small but clean and tidy and if you're in Liverpool you should be out and about not sitting in your room! Couldn't have asked for a better stay and big thanks to the really wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Had a room on the 8th floor with a window and it was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 68tracy13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

Well just spent four nights at the Z Hotel for a weeks break with myself and the wife. Got to the room and found it to be a bit on the small size for the two of us to stay in for a week, so we upgraded to a Queen room and this room was a lot bigger and suited us very well.

Very modern room and and only a couple of points to note; the bed was in the corner and made a few night time trips to the loo a challenge if you got the wall side of the bed.

Only one socket in the room and if you, like me, have a tablet/laptop, a wearable watch, camera and a phone that needs recharging overnight, pop along to the hardware store just up the road and buy an extension cable or bring one with you.

One little gripe from me was the lack of a lounge type room where one could put their feet up sat in a comfy sofa after a hard day traipsing around the city sites sightseeings/shopping and have a well earned cup of tea or coffee and read a paper.

Z Cafe on the ground floor does a great bacon bun and coffee in the mornings by the way

Other than the above minors negatives, I would recommend this hotel to anyone thats planning a visit to Liverpool and book direct as you could save money.

Room Tip: High up and to the back so you get a view of the dock area
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteBerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirribilli, Australia
Level Contributor
461 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 187 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

I am on my 2nd day of stay here (and have never written a review prior to departure before), but this place is just magic for our short visit. Location is unbeatable, close to everything and with the reception in the cafe, complementary cheese & wine in the evening, and funky modern rooms, this is perfect for a fun break in a fun city. Loving it, don't wanna go home!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank TheConstantEater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,845 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#21 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Hotel Liverpool

Property: Z Hotel Liverpool
Address: 2 North John Street, Liverpool L2 4SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Z Hotel Liverpool 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Odigeo, Agoda, Lastminute, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Z Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing