We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it!”
Review of Z Hotel Liverpool

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Z Hotel Liverpool
Ranked #19 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights on my first trip to Liverpool. Location is fantastic and only a short walk to shopping district, tourist attractions and bars. The lady who greeted us on reception was friendly and welcoming. She told us about a cheese and wine night held nightly by hotel (which is free ps!) and answered any questions we had about sightseeing. Room was modern and stylish with a beautiful view of the liver building and city at night. The flat screen tv is a decent size if you're staying in for the night and has some sky channels which was great! The bathroom is like a cube glass design but I personally would welcome if they had more frosted glass! The shower was hot and bathroom had lots of fluffy towels. Perhaps the hotel could provide more toiletries though.
The only "negative" was there was only one socket in the room so perhaps they could get some adaptors (maybe they do...I didn't ask?) We didn't avail of breakfast here but it looked reasonably priced and there were always people eating in the morning.
Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely come back for our next stay!

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eliza651
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,459)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,019 - 1,025 of 1,459 reviews

Reviewed 7 August 2014

I stayed at this hotel August 2014 with my boyfriend during a 2 night weekend break to Liverpool. I booked this hotel based on reviews on this site. The cheese and wine offered is a nice touch and served as a nibble before heading out to dinner. We chose not to take the breakfast so can't comment on that.

We opted for a double room with a window and had a great view over the city. The room was bright and felt spacious. The bed was super comfy, possibly one of the best hotel beds I have slept in. The room was very clean and there was plenty space to put clothes and a few hangers to hang jackets and shirts on. Small niggle, there was a lack of power sockets. In fact there was only one and it wasn't next to the bed! Top tip though, take a European adapter like the kind you take to Spain as next to the only UK plug socket was a European plug socket. I read this on one of the previous reviews and we took a Euro adapter which meant we could charge two phones/cameras/tablets at once. Girls there is a decent hairdryer provided too.

The bathroom with frosted glass walls is fit for purpose with a great, powerful shower. As other reviews have mentioned, although the walls are frosted glass, it does make for a very personal experience so I would recommend booking two rooms if you are not used to sharing a bathroom with this person normally.

The location was great. The hotel is a 10 minute walk to the docks and to Lime Street Station. Matthew Street is about a 2 minute walk and the massive Liverpool One shopping area is a 5 minute walk. There is a Tesco Express nearby so you can stock up before you head out for the day. Also the pub across the road (Rigby's) is worth a try, we had a very nice roast beef Sunday dinner and they have a rather nice wine and ale list.

The girl that was on the front desk was very helpful and provided us with a map and highlighted places of interest on it for us. She also recommended an Indian restaurant to us when we asked where was good to eat and we had a very good meal there.

If your looking for a clean, well priced and well located hotel then this is your place. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a high floor, you get a good view of the city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ktmc123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We arrived at the z hotel a week ago. We requested for a city centre view and it was granted which was very nice, we stayed in room 826, upon our arrival we came bit early check in is around 3pm and we arrived around half past one, but the man from the reception (didnt get his name) let us checked in which was very kind and didnt made us wait. Our room was lovely, bed was comfortable, showerroom was tip top! 40inch tv with sky was awesome! The hotel was at the middle of everything 5mins away from cavern club etc! The only time we had to get taxi was when we went to anfield but the staff in the reception help us book the taxi. Cheese and wine in the evening was pure genius! Love everybit of it, the staff was very nice and helpful, always smiling and approachable, we stayed for 2nights and wouldnt want to go home and we wanted to stay longer but we unfortunately we have to go back to work but we will definitely will come back again by december and we will stay longer! And will recommend the hotel to everyone. :-)

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Julie U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Stayed Saturday and Sunday night. Comfortable room (Would probably go for a room with window next time.) Staff very friendly and helpful. Didn't get to have the cheese and wine as we were out and about, but it's a lovely touch. In town early so no problem with taking care of our bags, and same when leaving. Very centrally located and excellent value. Would have no hesitation about staying here again.

Room Tip: look for room with window if available
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We arrived at the Z hotel yesterday and stayed just for 1 night for a break. The location was central to everything and a 5 min walk from the car park.

The room we stayed in 802 was clean, modern with a massive walk in shower!! The bonus was having sky in our room which was ace!

The young lady that served us (didn't get her name) was very polite, presentable and helpful. She even gave us discounts to the Bierkeller where we had an afternoon of drinking discounted cider and a game of pool.

We were also told about wine & cheese night that they have 6-8pm every night which was unlimited so we had a little pre drink! I don't know about anyone else but I've never had this luxury at another hotel?! FAB!

Overall, this hotel with the staff and cleanliness was brilliant and as a young couple would not fault in any way whatsoever! We will definitely be returning on our next stay in Liverpool & will make sure everyone knows about this hotel.

Thanks again for a welcomed stay and even a discounted price for the car parking we were both pleasantly surprised

  • Stayed: August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hayley1106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Excellent location, friendly staff. Comfortable bed, nice view for our window and the room design was very modern. The hotel served an aperitif with cheese and wine, it was delicious! I recommend also taking the breakfast there. Definitely, I'll stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank Maria Teresa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The Z Hotel is extremely central to shopping , bars and restaurants. I couldn't believe the shops were literally a 2 minute walk away. This was my second time in Liverpool and I realised that I stayed in the totally wrong area the first. I loved the Z Hotel Liverpool and hands down I will be staying here the next time I go to Liverpool, or any other location that has a 'Z Hotel'. Only had the wine and cheese on one of our 3 night stay, but it's great if your into wine and cheese. The staff were extremely helpful. Our room was quiet. No complaints, maybe just to have a few more hangers in the room but only as I done so much shopping.

Room Tip: We got a room with no window - which we loved! It was great to be in complete darkness as when you t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,300 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#26 of 99 in Liverpool
1,971 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Z Hotel Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Z Hotel Liverpool

Address: 2 North John Street, Liverpool L2 4SA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £33 - £142 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Z Hotel Liverpool 3*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Agoda, LateRooms and Cancelon so you can book your Z Hotel Liverpool reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing