We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money.”
Review of The Podworks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Podworks Hotel
Ranked #60 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The room was smaller than usual hotels but was nice, modern and clean. Had a great nights sleep,the bed was really comfortable.The staff were very helpful and pleasant. The hotel is very close to all the nightlife and all the sights,but the last couple of hundred metres to the hotel are very secluded and as an older person I felt quite nervous.There was a large gap under the door letting light and noise in. The concealed heating pipes clicked all night.The lift area should be made more accessible. Overall the hotel is good value for money and we would stay again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BobCheshireUK1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (377)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

299 - 305 of 377 reviews

Reviewed 27 November 2013

The finish in the bathroom was poor including missing floor tiles where you could only see them from inside the shower and the toilet wasn't fixed to the wall. 2 inch gap under the door lit the room up like a Christmas tree from the light in the corridor. The heating system was a bit noisy and clicked all night. The tea tray hadn't been cleaned for a while, empty sugar packets and crumbs were found in it. The bed was very high and being a very small person, had trouble just sitting on the edge of it and with no other means of sitting (no chair in the room) found it awkward. Although very close to city centre, was located in a very dark, quiet back street. Walking back after finding food at only 8pm, Felt very vulnerable Definitely would not stay there again. Got fleeced for £12 for parking in the nearest car park a few streets away but then found out you can actually park in the street right outside the hotel between 6pm and 8am. If you're not too fussed and just need a bed for a night or 2, this is probably ideal and if you know you're leaving before 8am then it couldn't be any easier.

Room Tip: Park outside the hotel on the street between 6pm and 8am or it will cost you £6 for the car park for...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Zoe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Well, at £30 for myself and my girlfriend to stay, we didn't really expect too much, but we were totally totally surprised! Excellent, in every aspect! We had been late leaving home that morning, and I'd grabbed damp jeans from the line, the manager was kind enough to tumble dry these of me, just as a gesture... Little things, but these make a huge difference. The hotel is spotless, common areas, bedrooms and bathrooms are gleaming. The staff at reception are very very helpful, and at night they seem to provide a slightly more "security conscious" member of staff at reception, both to obviously keep the place safe, but to make sure that any late night party goers are kept within safe noise levels!! I got the feeling these folks wouldn't take any nonsense, and that's a good thing when you need to get a good nights sleep. The rooms are very comfy, and functional. There are plasma TV's in every room, and the beds and linen are super clean and very comfortable. Because the bulk of the "pod" rooms are down stairs and as such have no windows, this did feel a little weird at the start, but its actually a bonus. They are pitch black when the lights are off, and its really soothing to go to sleep in a very dark room. To sum up, these are outstanding value for money rooms, and won't disappoint. Nothing fancy, just totally functional, and a bit of an experience. Book it, you won't regret it!

Room Tip: Go for an underground room. Sund proof, and very dark, good nights sleep for sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Me and my boyfriend just got back from a night at the podrooms. We bought the room on a last minute website. We were really pleased. The rooms are about the size you'd expect in a double caravan room. There was a large tv mounted over the bed, and the beds are padded on the walls around them making them very comfortable for sitting on and watching tv. Bed very comfy too and clean.The en suite shower room was clean and very modern. The room was lovely and quiet, and the option to easily control the heating/ air con. No window in the room, bit not a prob if your looking for somewhere to stay for a night or two on a budget. Very central to the shops and docks, some lovely restaurants only a minute away.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Leah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2013

this hotel is in a backstreet in Liverpool, but I thought it was value for money ,it was clean, there is a small toilet wash hand basin, also a shower, the bed was a little high for my wife, as she is just under 5ft it is well located for the local bars and shopping, tho we didn't do any shopping this time, my wife had a hospital appointment, in the broad green hospital. I found the staff very friendly, there is coffee and sandwiches available along with the crisps,and the usual breakfast items if you are peckish in the morning, these items are available to buy, in the reception area .the rooms are small its true but hey you have a tv a heater, a bed a shower what else do you need?

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bammisammy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

This place did the job- nothing fancy but clean and in a good location. Rooms were small and there were no windows, but we knew that before we booked. I would stay there again because of the price/location.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank samantha1907
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2013

My partner and I wanted to have a night in the city centre going round and few bars and have a meal out without having to worry about getting a cab home so we saw this place on booking.com and thought it was within our budget.
We arrived on a Wednesday night and were welcomed by the nice man on reception and given our card for the room. The room was very clean and fresh looking, the fact that it didn't have a window made it a bit more cosy, I couldn't find any faults with the place at all, great value for money especially to stay in the city centre. The lady (Becky) on reception was very nice and helpful asking had we enjoyed our stay etc. So I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank angela p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
1,474 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#58 of 99 in Liverpool
606 reviews
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Podworks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Podworks Hotel

Address: 34 Henry Street, Liverpool L1 5BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #60 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £25 - £178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Podworks Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in urban accommodation comes to Liverpool. These new and exciting modern low cost rooms are great for travellers on the go who need to be in the heart of the city. Fully functioning remote control air conditioning with a 32" LCD TV at your fingertips; all you need at a price that won't break the bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your The Podworks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing