We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Brilliant stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Podworks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Podworks Hotel
Ranked #57 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Motherwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Had a great time at the podworks from the 7th of april to the 9th. Room was small but very clean, bed was extremely comfy, also location was brilliant. Would defo stay again on my next vist to liverpool.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    103
    52
    20
    36
See reviews for
22
148
33
25
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on 4th of April 2014. Rooms are very small but well maintained. It is over priced for such a small room but in an ideal location for the night life. Beware you can hear every noise from neighbouring rooms but we didn't go to Liverpool for a quiet night so we were not bothered by the noise.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank xxxdebbiexxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, 11 April 2014
Thank you for your review,we always appreciate the feedback.
I would mention that the usuall cost for the room is a between £28/£32 per night which is the cheapest room in the city, the cost on your stay was more expensive due to it being the Grand National weekend.
We can keep our cost low because of the size of the rooms etc but we have kept the standard high as the same specification is in our Penthouse suite, We decided during construction that we would have as much quality in a small space as possible which we believe we have achieved.

Kind regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

This was a last minute booking as we were in need of a night away. Totally impressed with location, service, room and facilities. Immaculately clean, compact but really comfortable, great climate control, spacious bathroom with double shower cubicle, fair trade coffee/tea stuff which was really impressive. Best night's sleep for ages. Will definitely visit again.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Coloratura100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul k, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, 10 April 2014
Thank you so much for your kind words and your positive reaction to our new concept.
We really appreciate you taking the time to review and we look forward to greeting you both again soon

Kind regards

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

I was really disappointed to have booked the Printworks Hotel and been told just upon arrival that I was moved to the Podworks which is part of the same company. I was further frustrated when I was put in tiny room, 2 levels underground with no mobile coverage. No breakfast is served. But, here comes Becky, the receptionist, who gave me a warm welcome. She was extremely hospitable and kind. She offered to move me to another room where mobile coverage is available. She really made up my stay in this frustrating hotel. If you are staying in this hotel make sure you be on the first floor basement.

Room Tip: Room on basement1, or ask Becky. she is incredibly helpful.
See more room tips
Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Malek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul k, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to review.
I would like to point out that the Printwork Hotel that you had booked has exactly the same windowless room as we have and that they exactly the same size. We also do not advertise breakfasts.
I will pass on your regards to Becky and I will thank her personally for her efforts in making you feel welcome.

Kind regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for grand national weekend and can't recommend highly enough.

The rooms are basic and small but very clean and modern (bathrooms are very large in comparison to room)

The location of the hotel is excellent, with some lovely bars and restaurants on the doorstep (whilst we did no shopping john lewis is a couple of hundred yards away)

The staff couldn't have been more friendly or helpful ... We will definitely be returning when next visit Liverpool.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ljjackson81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank your for the marvellous review .
We really appreciate your kind words and look forward to welcoming you back again soon

Kind regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberystwyth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014

This hotel was booked by a record label, who will now be sure to never book it again. We stayed here for four nights while my partner rehearsed for an important gig; the hotel was so terrible that the experience almost ruined what was otherwise a great time in Liverpool. On the first night we discovered that there was no WIFI in the lobby nor in our room, we were told (grumpily) that the WIFI was usually fine but had been patchy that day. This turned out not to be the case, the WIFI didn't work for the duration of our stay. The television reception was also dodgy. There were two sachets of bad coffee in our room on the first day, on the second they had not been replaced and when we asked if we could possibly have a couple more we were told aggressively that they were replaced daily. This wasn't true, they were replaced once over the four night period. House-keeping in fact seemed entirely non-existent, the only sign that they had been to check on the room and (not) replace refreshments were two towels dumped in the bathroom sink. The bathroom had not been cleaned, in fact it appeared dirtier than how we'd left it, with paper towels left in the toilet and water everywhere. On our last night we arrived at the hotel late after the gig, we asked if we might purchase some food and pay on departure, I was amazed at the aggressive manner in which I was addressed, the bar man (who was terribly dressed, resembling a thug), spoke to me as a bouncer might speak to a trouble-making punter. As we left the lobby my partner turned to me and said, 'OK, come on, let's go down and NOT use WIFI, or maybe stare at a blank television'. Half an hour later there was an aggressive knock on the door, I answered, pregnant and in my pyjamas, to be confronted by a man claiming to be the owner of the hotel, who asked if we had 'kicked off' with the bar man upstairs. I am not usually spoken to in such a way, and don't use such language. Again, this man resembled some sort of thug or gangster, had I not been with my partner I would have felt awfully intimidated. It felt like he was accustomed to addressing yobs, and had little or no idea how to speak to a polite and well spoken woman. I assured the man that this was not the case, that we were simply disgruntled because the services we had paid for didn't work. He essentially threatened to ask us to leave. My partner told him that he was not happy that nothing in the room worked, and the man eventually left. When we made a complaint the next morning the (thankfully very friendly) female receptionist seemed perplexed, and told us that the hotel owner did not match the description we gave of the man who'd banged angrily on our door late at night.

I am absolutely appalled by the customer service we experienced at this hotel. The staff are at best unfriendly, at worst threatening and aggressive. I would not recommend that anyone with or expecting children stay at this hotel, it is the sort of place that one looking for a horrible dirty weekend might stay, but certainly not anyone working on anything important, or seeking a pleasant time.

Room Tip: If you HAVE to stay at this horrible place, be sure not to take a room in the basement, there is a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank tafarnteifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Thank you for taking time to review but I would like to point out that the gangster type you mentioned was Kieron who has worked for our company for many years and is a very amiable and friendly person.
He did knock on your door because your partner had become very agitated in the bar/reception area because he had wanted to take food and drinks back to your room but wanted to pay for them the next day, our repetionist explained this was not possible and he became very angry with him hence Kieron coming to your room as he was concerned and wanted to explain that we will not allow any staff member to be abused.


Regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merseyside, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

I recently stayed here for 2 nights, the room was clean and tidy the only negative points i can think of is there was no heated towel rack in the bathroom and no bin in the bedroom which aren't really major issues. The receptionist becky was possibly the friendliest receptionist i have encountered and very helpful. Overall good value for money and would definitley stay again

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anthonyisdead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,299 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 564 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Campanile Liverpool
#61 of 99 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Podworks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Podworks Hotel

Property: The Podworks Hotel
Address: 34 Henry Street, Liverpool L1 5BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Podworks Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in urban accommodation comes to Liverpool. These new and exciting modern low cost rooms are great for travellers on the go who need to be in the heart of the city. Fully functioning remote control air conditioning with a 32" LCD TV at your fingertips; all you need at a price that won't break the bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your The Podworks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing