We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of The Podworks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Podworks Hotel
Ranked #58 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent value for money. Very clean location, cosy rooms (although there weren't any windows). Free wifi, very nice and helpful staff. Room was a bit claireaudient, but free earplugs were available ; ).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (360)
There are newer reviews for The Podworks Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 360 reviews

Reviewed 18 April 2014

Not too far from the city centre so location is ideal. My pod room was small but comfortable, but unfortunately I didn't have phone reception or good wi-fi coverage which was frustrating.
The female receptionist was lovely and warm, but the male staff member who others referred to as 'the bouncer' could have been a little friendlier.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tinkatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We last stayed in February and returned this time with our 3 year old grandaughter. We arrived at 11am to leave our bags until check-in but the receptionist moved us to the largest pod and let us check in straight away. Not disappointed. Pod 104 is bigger than the other rooms so we had plenty of space. How anyone can complain about these rooms is beyond me. They are exactly what they say on the box! Pods!! In the basement. This is the very nature of them. They cost £29 per night in the week. If you want a view then pay for a view! I want somewhere clean and comfy to sleep and got exactly that. The staff are also very welcoming and polite. Great location - and try the nearby Amalia Italian Restaurant too - also great value. Thanks Podworks!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank FionaSimpson1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel ,we really appreciate the feedback.
We think your pretty much described our hotel perfectly !

Kind regards

Paul

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014 via mobile

Booked 3 nights but left after a few hours.. The reasons well the welcome wasn't that great when I got there no hello how are you small details that put you at ease. Put on the bottom floor 2 floors down and while I understand that the wi-fi may not work all the time I had no phone coverage and as a single woman travelling on my own I kind of felt unsafe. Now I have stayed here before and it was totally different then so I left after 3 hours and the guy on reception didn't even seem bothered guess you wouldn't though seeing as I had already paid for the room!!! I won't be staying here again sorry and I'm disappointed because I liked the hotel last time but not today

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonKathyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed here for one night. The hotel is very central, minutes away from the major shopping centre, with great bars and restaurants nearby.

The rooms are underground and have no windows. The rooms are quite small and compact but contain everything you need; towels, hairdryer, place to hang clothes, tea and coffee (fairtrade too!). The bathroom is also bigger than expected (given the size of the room). The beds are very comfy! The reception area also has a bar where you can buy drinks.

For the price and location the hotel is great. Having no windows and being two floors underground did freak me out a little and I wouldn't have stayed more than one night (my partner didn't mind this though, so maybe it's just me!). If you're looking for a cheap, clean and friendly place to stay for a short city break I highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on floor one, as the wifi didn't work for us on floor two.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fiona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Had a great time at the podworks from the 7th of april to the 9th. Room was small but very clean, bed was extremely comfy, also location was brilliant. Would defo stay again on my next vist to liverpool.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 1 night on 4th of April 2014. Rooms are very small but well maintained. It is over priced for such a small room but in an ideal location for the night life. Beware you can hear every noise from neighbouring rooms but we didn't go to Liverpool for a quiet night so we were not bothered by the noise.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank xxxdebbiexxxxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2014

Thank you for your review,we always appreciate the feedback.
I would mention that the usuall cost for the room is a between £28/£32 per night which is the cheapest room in the city, the cost on your stay was more expensive due to it being the Grand National weekend.
We can keep our cost low because of the size of the rooms etc but we have kept the standard high as the same specification is in our Penthouse suite, We decided during construction that we would have as much quality in a small space as possible which we believe we have achieved.

Kind regards

Paul Kelly

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 98 in Liverpool
1,424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Travelodge Liverpool Central The Strand
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#56 of 98 in Liverpool
592 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Podworks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Podworks Hotel

Address: 34 Henry Street, Liverpool L1 5BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £30 - £214 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Podworks Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in urban accommodation comes to Liverpool. These new and exciting modern low cost rooms are great for travellers on the go who need to be in the heart of the city. Fully functioning remote control air conditioning with a 32" LCD TV at your fingertips; all you need at a price that won't break the bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your The Podworks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing