We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for one night”
Review of The Podworks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Podworks Hotel
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great for one night”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

If you're on a budget and passing through for one night then you could do an awful lot worse than this. My room was clean, the bed was comfy and the bathroom was small but well formed. Becky on front desk is a nice lass, friendly and keen to recommend local eateries and bars (my tip would be the walk 5 mins up Suffolk/Slater Street to Bold Street to choose from many restaurants, bars and takeaways along the way and on Bold Street itself).
The location is great for as it's so close to so much.

Downsides were perhaps obvious things like no windows, but you know that when you book it. My room was quite chilly naturally but the air con sorted that out in a few minutes. The walls also seemed to be fairly thin but with the exception of hearing a few coughs and shuffles in the morning I wasn't disturbed.

My wi-fi worked well and I could make mobile calls, but this may not be true of all rooms.

Overall for £29 it was hard to fault.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor room; wi-fi and mobile signals don't reach the bottom level very well
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul k, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review.
We really appreciate the feedback and I think your review was pretty much on point.

Many thanks

Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    103
    56
    20
    37
See reviews for
23
153
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this hotel whilst going to see a show at the echo arena. The location was brilliant! We were able to check in early which gave us time to hit the shops and then get something to eat before going to the show. The staff were really friendly. The room was small but perfect for what we needed. We came back late after a few drinks and the guy at the reception was lovely....check out was really simple. It was very clean and tidy! Would defo stay here again! Excellent value for money :)

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We really appreciate the fantastic review. I will agin pass your kind words to Becky as your right she does make everyone welcome.
We hope to see you again soon


Kind regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Great rooms, great location, great staff. All round a good place to stay as the staff were very friendly especially the receptionist. Made my visit a very enjoyable one. Would definitely recommend, although the only problem the WiFi was slow.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JossMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
We really love when our guests enjoy their stay and "get" the idea of the Podworks. Our new concept is simple that you can have it all in a small space.

Thank you for taking the time to review

Regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dudley, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Just as you expect
This is a great little hotel perfectly positioned for exploring Liverpool, especially central Liverpool and the famous Albert docks.
The hotel is clean, and well maintained with friendly staff, Becky on reception makes you feel like a good friend and is very helpful too.
Although the rooms are compact they have all things you need, including T.V and air conditioning, and the on suite is modern and stylish too.
I'd definitely recommend staying here and will be doing so again the next time I visit Liverpool.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Diz L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you so much for the great review.

We look forward to seeing you again soon

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Settle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed in this hotel for a week, which was good value for money as it was only £25 per night, having booked it last minute. This hotel is ideally situated in the city centre, close to the shops and public transport. The en-suit was the best part of the pod rooms as it appeared to be refurbished, however the main bedroom was small and the bed I slept in leaned one way due to everybody getting in and out of it the same way. I had no phone reception or wi-fi coverage inside the hotel which was extremely frustrating by the end of the stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victoria2010a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paul k, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Thank you for your kind words, we really appreciate the review.

Regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 April 2014

Excellent value for money. Very clean location, cosy rooms (although there weren't any windows). Free wifi, very nice and helpful staff. Room was a bit claireaudient, but free earplugs were available ; ).

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Not too far from the city centre so location is ideal. My pod room was small but comfortable, but unfortunately I didn't have phone reception or good wi-fi coverage which was frustrating.
The female receptionist was lovely and warm, but the male staff member who others referred to as 'the bouncer' could have been a little friendlier.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinkatin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,349 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Campanile Liverpool
#65 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Podworks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Podworks Hotel

Property: The Podworks Hotel
Address: 34 Henry Street, Liverpool L1 5BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Podworks Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in urban accommodation comes to Liverpool. These new and exciting modern low cost rooms are great for travellers on the go who need to be in the heart of the city. Fully functioning remote control air conditioning with a 32" LCD TV at your fingertips; all you need at a price that won't break the bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Podworks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing