We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really bad”
Review of The Podworks Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Podworks Hotel
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“Really bad”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights last weekend. Location is good, easy walking distance to everywhere. That's probably the only positive thing about this place. Our room was so tiny that it was almost impossible for 2 people to move around simultaneously. Bed squeeked so badly that it was obvious we wouldn't get much sleep. Also room hadn't been cleaned properly, particularly the floor which was filthy, with lots of hairs everywhere. Asked for a different room, only to be told we couldn't change because we had sat on the bed and there isn't anyone to come and tidy it, and that they were fully booked anyway. Then we were reminded that the price was not refundable. So we were stuck. If it wasn't only for the squeeky bed to keep us awake with every turn, we were also woken up several times by other guests who didn't seem to care that it was early hours in the morning and other people might want to sleep. Maybe we were just unlucky with a number of hen/stag parties... Should also mention that guestrooms are spread over two floors of a basement so there's no mobile phone signal(at least in the lower one where we stayed). All in all, not a good experience and we will not be returning.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Magdamik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear guest,

We are sorry your stay didn't meet your needs. I have spoken to the staff and they have explained that you had used the fasciitis in the room and as it was late we and we were full we could not move you to an alternative room.
I would like to point out that the room sizes are in the description when you booked and in the name of the Hotel ,we have tried to give guests an alternative to the high priced luxury Hotels in the city but still giving value for money in a smalerl space but with the same luxury.

Regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

341 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    125
    103
    56
    20
    37
See reviews for
23
152
34
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Lytham St Anne's, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
237 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

stayed here recently for a couple of nights. Clean and welcoming, staff friendly. Ideal location for town and quiet area. Only problem is related to sound proofing with water pipes .....def stay here again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton
1 review
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Absolutely fabulous. First impressions; smelt wonderful, clean,fresh and immaculate. Great staff team very welcoming, especially jimmy,nothing was too much for him. Rooms are compact but perfect all you need, close to all the nightlife, attractions, docks, trains and shops, but without the hustle and bustle of the high street and noise. Four of us stayed here and we all loved it, looking to revisit in the next few months.

Wards & Edwards

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Wtmgcf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Thank you so much for your great review, I will pass on your remarks to all the staff etc

Warmest regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

I stayed 3 nights in The Pod works hotel, went for a citybreak in Liverpool. It's situated very close to the center of the city, railway station and other attractions. Problem was I didn't get a confirmation email after making the booking. I called the hotel and asked them to send an email with the directions to get there. Still didn't get anything. I eventually got there using my mobile GPS.
I got a room at the floor -2, spotless, all new and clean. Good bed, tea/coffee facitilies, got everything I needed. Except for a mobile signal, nor a Wi fi signal. They don't get down there apoarently. No windows was a bit strange at the begining, but helped me sleep later in the morning.
No breakfast, which wasn't very clear to me from their site. But they have a good and cheap selection of sandwiches at the reception.
Staff very nice and friendly.
Would recomend.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elena D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llanfairpwllgwyngyll, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

Easy to get to, friendly staff really comfy room! Tiny room but it had everything you could need, nice shower and everything was spotlessly clean. The only thing that I can complain about is the sound proofing in the rooms isn't great and the road to get to the hotel is a bit creepy at night but other than that it was really good!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jubsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
128 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stopped there for two nights - great location and very cheap. Strange having no windows but the quality of accommodation was excellent and the staff were great - if not exactly knowledgeable about local places to eat. Would highly recommend

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dazzahurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Perfect location, the rooms are small but we only needed a place to kip. We had no problems with signal or wifi in our rooms but we did stay on the 1st floor. All the staff are lovely, with a special mention to Rebecca for looking after us so well. I would highly recommend the Podworks

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lenny206
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fatcat1964, General Manager at The Podworks Hotel, responded to this review, 8 June 2014
Many thanks for taking the time to review our Hotel.

See you next time !

Regards

Paul Kelly
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Lord Nelson Hotel
The Lord Nelson Hotel
#55 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Campanile Liverpool
#65 of 97 in Liverpool
3.5 of 5 bubbles 931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Podworks Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Podworks Hotel

Property: The Podworks Hotel
Address: 34 Henry Street, Liverpool L1 5BS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Podworks Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new concept in urban accommodation comes to Liverpool. These new and exciting modern low cost rooms are great for travellers on the go who need to be in the heart of the city. Fully functioning remote control air conditioning with a 32" LCD TV at your fingertips; all you need at a price that won't break the bank. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and HRS so you can book your The Podworks Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing