We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Liverpool Central Exchange Street Hotel
Ranked #37 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

A perfectly good hotel for its price. When you don't pay 4* prices, don't expect 4* facilities. Do a little research beforehand to check what is/isn't provided.

Very close to the dock area for the museums, etc. Ten minutes from Lime Street station, though allow a bit more time for all the road junctions in that area. Especially when lugging your case/bag.

Pillows were too hard for me, and I agree that there seems to be a towel 'problem'. All staff we encountered were great.

Didn't try the breakfast, as I didn't think it would be good value for what I want in the morning. There are cafes / coffee shops two minutes walk away that are fine. Lots of restaurants close by for evenings.

All in all, the hotel added to a great (first) visit to Liverpool.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

717 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    344
    226
    91
    27
    29
See reviews for
126
276
45
47
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014 via mobile

Just recently stayed in the travelodge for two nights this week and what can I say... awful experience to say the least.
Arrived at half 9 and asked reception could we leave our bags there until check in. We were told by receptionist it was not possible but our room was ready if we paid an additional £10. Couldnt understand why we couldnt check in then if the room was ready? or leave our bags at reception. We couldn't walk around liverpool until 3 with bags! The receptionist was very rude and was more interested with the business men behind us. Also couldnt get her name as she wasnt wearing a name badge.

When we arrived in the room there was one towel which was a hand towel! Tje shower was also freezing and wouldnt warm!

Our flight going home wasnt until late and again reception refused to hold our bags and gave us an option to pay a further £10 to stay in the room for an extra 2 hours!!

I have stayed in many premier inns and the experience was outstanding compared to this with a similar price and who would hold your bags!!

Overall it was a very bad experience and I wouldnt stay there again or recommend!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jolene O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Liverpool Central Exchange Street Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2014
Thank you for your review Jolene O. We are deeply sorry to learn that you were unhappy with your stay. Unfortunately, at this hotel we do not currently offer a place to hold luggage, however you can request an early check in/out at a cost of £10.00, which will enable you to have an extended access to your room. All rooms should also have access to hot water and all our staff are trained in how to resolve this issue should it arise so it is regrettable to learn that you did not have hot water during your stay. We’d like to be able to contact you to find a resolution so please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to tell us more and when doing so please indicate you have left a TripAdvisor review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stalybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2014

I think it's pretty scandalous that because I booked a room a few weeks after my friend I paid almost double. Justification?

I also think the staff need additional training in the hotel's services, as they seemed pretty clueless. Firstly, our room had 1/8 of a toilet roll, it was a ridiculous amount for an overnight stay. We also only had one towel (in a double room), so as soon as we got there we had to go back down to get more. The towel we had also had hairs on it, which was really gross.

The staff on reception told us we had breakfast included because we had paid a 'premium' price. So having dragged ourselves down the next morning nice and early, we were told our room number was not eligible for breakfast. When we explained this is what we'd been told, the woman said that person was mistaken and we would have to pay additional. When checking out the woman who had told us we could have breakfast was on the desk, and we explained that we hadn't been allowed breakfast. She apologised and said we could have our parking for free, and that if we buzzed when exiting the car park and told security they would let us go. When we did that, the man was totally confused and said 'no, she has no right to say that, you have to pay'.

Wouldn't consider again. The Premier Inn just around the corner is great, I'd go there if you want to stay in that area of Liverpool.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Amy from Customer Service at Travelodge Liverpool Central Exchange Street Hotel, responded to this review, 17 March 2014
We are sorry to learn of you recent dissatisfaction at our Liverpool Central Exchange Street hotel Rebecca P. Our reception staff are expected to be able to provide our guests with a great service and have all the information available regarding services at our hotel. We would also require our housekeeping team to set up all rooms with the correct amount of clean and fresh linen and towels so it is regrettable to learn of the lapse in service. We would like to take the opportunity to investigate your concerns regarding the service you received in more detail so we would very much appreciate it if you would visit our website and use the Contact Us button to provide us with more details.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2014

A really welcoming travelodge not far from the city centre. All the staff we encountered we're friendly and accommodating, nothing was too much trouble. The rooms have been refurbished and are clean and basic but comfortable. What more could you want for such a good price? Kerry on reception was especially empathetic with our parking issue and this is my only grumble. The disabled spaces are accessed via a very tight underground tunnel. I was not forewarned of this and as a result have badly scraped my car all down one side trying to get in. This will be costly to repair and I would like to see a warning to this effect in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Yorskhire_travellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014

Excellent stay during Feb '14 Half Term. Friendly staff. Worth booking the breakfast (kids ate free) for convenience. Able to take gluten-free bread for the toaster. Family room spotless. Good location and staff had a good knowledge of the local area, including public transport. Very impressed with Liverpool as a 3-day city break with our two kids (8 and 10). Used the NCP car park nearby, obtaining discount voucher from Travelodge at checkout.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Curwen1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dundee, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

Conveniently located two minutes walk from Liverpool One, and Mathew Street (Cavern Club), ten minutes from Albert Dock. Hotel was clean, comfortable and quiet. Although located on a quiet side street, it was smack in central Liverpool surrounded by shops, restaurants, pubs, transport links. Great value, no complaints.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Nicola R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014

On arrival staff were friendly , polite and organised.
We had trouble getting into our rooms with our card keys, the staff quickly sorted it out for us. The hotel was clean and tidy , rooms spacious and immaculate. The travelodge was close to the city centre and took us 15minutes to walk from the station , would have been quicker but it was our first time in Liverpool. We were 5 minutes from the Docks and 5 minutes away from Mathew Street and the Cavern club , which is where we spent alot of our time.I stronly recommend the buffet breakfast at the travelodge for £7.65 it was well worth it with Bacon,eggs, tomatoes and sausage, toast , croissants , muffins , cearal , fruit, yogurts , tea coffee and fruit juice , we struggled to find anywhere cheaper. On returning from a late night out the bar was still open for us to have a night cap . Staff cheerful and friendly even at that late hour ,

Room Tip: Family room costs the same as a double ,
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Tune Hotel - Liverpool, City Centre
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,324 reviews
Central Liverpool
Ibis Styles Liverpool Centre Dale Street
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,296 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Liverpool Central Exchange Street Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Liverpool Central Exchange Street Hotel

Property: Travelodge Liverpool Central Exchange Street Hotel
Address: 38 Exchange Street East, Liverpool L2 3PS, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Liverpool Central Exchange Street Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 125
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Liverpool Central Exchange Street Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing