We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very enjoyable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Very enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 7 February 2014

We stayed here on a Travel Zoo deal which we were bought for Christmas and we really enjoyed our stay.

The hotel is ideally located for central Liverpool. The staff at the hotel were excellent and friendly and we received excellent service from all the staff we met.

The room was large and spotlessly clean. We enjoyed our evening meal very much and the wine was very reasonably priced for a hotel. Breakfast was tasty and there was a good choice from the hot and cold buffet. The waitresses also brought fresh tea and coffee to out table and came to top this up without being prompted.

As with our check-in, the check-out process was swift and efficient and we would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phyllis1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,059 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    619
    254
    112
    61
See reviews for
231
1,091
26
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Midlands
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014 via mobile

Impressive hotel with helpful friendly staff. Rooms are well equipped but let down by poor maintenance. Our room had a worrying crack on the wall which extended through the cornice and across the ceiling, it was also visible on the exterior wall. The external walls were covered in large damp patches which got significantly worse after only one night. We complained and were moved to a suite which was very nice. This is a old building and it shows, the windows were very dirty and the exterior of the building is very run down. Meals in the restaurant are tasty and good value, breakfast is a buffet with great selection however the hot food is left too long under the heat lamps. Hotel guests get complimentary entry to the Olympus Health Club and Spa which is located opposite the hotel. The health club has a small but adequate gym, sauna, steam room, hot/cold plunge pools and a spa bath. During our visit the spa bath and pool side shower were not working, and the main pool relaxation area had an unpleasant musty smell. The Richmond is located close to the main shopping area and other tourist attractions such as the Pier-head and the famous Cavern Club. All in all the hotel has great potential but still needs considerable work to reach its true level.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Lichfield_Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeskyStevens, General Manager at The Richmond, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 11 February 2014
Thanks for taking the time to pass on your comments. May I begin with an apology not all met expectation, and whilst we did have some maintenance work taking place at the Spa, and apologise it wasn't in full use during your stay.
The Richmond is the previous "Mersey Travel Headquarters" building and is Grade II listed, our refurbishment has been sympathetic to the building and whilst going thru our first winter, we have had some exterior damp we have been resolving as it has come to fruition, a difficult one to combat whilst working through busy periods, and often thru a refurbishment, often isn't always seen until the building settles.
We are proud of our Independent refurbishment, and hope that the few little niggles are resolved in full in early 2014 as we reach our first year operation after a staged opening plan over the year.
Kind Regards
Steven Hesketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2014

A Nice hotel, the staff are very pleasant and the rooms are comfortable. Room service food was very disapointing but I think that is the same where ever you stay. I would book this hotel again in the future.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cle10Midlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
49 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We got a 'Living Social Deal' for this hotel. We found it to be a good location - very central. The room was a good size and well equipped. We had to phone reception twice for things we needed and both times the response was very slow. The staff were polite though. The breakfast was a typical buffet - not bad, although disappointingly the bread that had been put out for toast was still frozen. It wouldn't have mattered too much for toast, but I wanted to make a bacon sandwich! If you get a budget deal then I would recommend this hotel for it's location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JaneyWaneyYorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

We visited for a one night stay using a Groupon voucher. For just under £100 we got a nights stay, breakfast and an evening meal with a bottle of wine. There was also access to the spa across the road. We found the reception staff pleasant, the room was beautiful, the food delicious and Liverpool was amazing- we needed longer!!! The only hitch during our visit was a power cut during the night which meant we woke up unable to have a hot drink, shower or watch TV. We decided to go down for breakfast earlier than we'd wanted to and mention it at reception. However as we walked out of our room, two men with a ladder were already on the job!! We had a gorgeous breakfast then came up to get ready. Despite this being a groupon, we had a lovely room with lots of little touches like a cafetiere (sorry I can't spell it), deep bath, really high standards. We had a great time at Liverpool One, Albert Docks and The Beatles museum. Liverpool has some beautiful architecture too. Our only quibble would be the spa was a little grubby (scum on water and muck in bottom of pools, sweet wrappers in sauna and dirty glass) and was having some technical problems with water jets at time of our visit. But service was friendly and good facilities. Overall we loved the Richmond and can't wAit to return :-)

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheffieldtraveller8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My daughter bought us our overnight stay at the Richmond .we arrived early ,but was able to register and go to our room.the room was great plenty of room and all facilities,although there wasn't a mirror near a plug which made hair drying hard.
The bathroom was clean with great shower and bath,also nice toiletries.We ate in the restaurant in the evening.food was excellent although would have liked a roll with my soup that hadn't been microwaved.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lancashirenadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south yorkshire
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We got a great deal from living social for DBB. On arrival the first impressions were good, lovely building and stylish decor, check in was quick & efficient and we were able to get into our room early at 1pm so that was a good start. The suite we were allocated was gorgeous but freezing cold! So we cranked the heating up and went off out for the afternoon, but unfortunately when we came back it was no warmer and on reporting this to reception were told that there was a problem with the heating in this room the day before and we needed to be moved. No problem, off we went to our new room which I liked less than the first but was still nice, and still cold! Anyway we got over that by using the oven & hob for additional heating and it warmed up eventually. (One probably shouldn't have to do this though in a 'luxury' establishment!). Dinner was nice enough, from the limited menu we had an average calamari, a good burger and a great steak. Desserts were poor- strawberry ice ream with sticky toffee pudding does not work, and the creme brûlée was overcooked and eggy. Restaurant service was warm & friendly. Breakfast was the usual buffet offering, no more no less. Overall, although we loved the decor & style of the rooms I would imagine, maybe controversially, that they were designed by a man as the little touches were lacking. For example, although the shower was fabulous there was no shelf in the cubicle for shampoo etc, no towel rail or even hooks for towels, no toilet roll holder and most surprisingly no mirrors in the bedroom other than a smoked glass one on the wardrobe, which wasn't ideal for doing hair & makeup. It's the first time I've dried my hair in the reflection of the tv! The bed was a standard size double and had seen better days, we were surprised that it wasn't a king, again being a luxury hotel. If the management team gave some thought to what their guests need and add in the thoughtful finishing touches, this could be a great place to stay. As it was although we enjoyed our stay, we left feeling a little underwhelmed.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heywood House Hotel
#16 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,478 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Address: 24 Hatton Garden, Liverpool L3 2AN, England (Formerly The Richmond, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Richmond, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond in City Centre, Liverpool is the perfect location, split between the business, education, leisure and retail sectors of the city. A luxury accommodation concept, The Richmond offers 4 Star Hotel Bedrooms, with interlinking capability into full serviced apartment, all with the usual benefits of a four star hotel. It's design, makes it most ideal for every style of visit or various length of stay. The property is a Grade II Listed iconic building. Offering free Wi-Fi throughout, Air-conditioning, Mini Fridges in all Rooms with complimentary fresh Milk & Water, Upscale Toiletries, Smart TV's, 24hr Room Service and Suites & Apartments also offer full Kitchen facilities. Furthermore, take advantage of other facilities including the "R" Bar & Brasserie boasting amazing Best of British dishes, and some onsite Car Parking. Finally for exclusive wedding & events, private dining or conferences in our three event rooms: The William & Kane Suite or Florentyna's offering up receptions of 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Richmond, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing