We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Blackburn Lancs
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great stay”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Just back from a weekend in Liverpool and a one night stay at The Richmond,a great location and a quality establishment, we had a double room and a dinner bed and breakfast package, the dinner was worth the price alone, and the breakfast buffet was as good as any I have had anywhere, combined with staff who are clearly enjoying working there, it all made for a very pleasant experience, and one I would be happy to recommend or repeat.
If you do stay here be sure to visit the Ship & Mitre pub around the corner for the finest selection of beer in Liverpool.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank roverbiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,058 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    619
    254
    111
    61
See reviews for
231
1,090
26
164
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Booked this hotel for 1 night via Late Rooms so got cheaper rate which didn't include breakfast. I arrived late in the evening and checked out early the next day for work, so only spent about 10 hours there in total. The first thing I noticed was the musty smell of the room. The room was big with a very high ceiling, however the window faced into a dark alley and the ceiling and walls looked like they needed attention as there were cracks and dirty marks.

There was a small cupboard with hangers but the door of the cupboard was quite 'distressed' looking...and not in a good way. It needed at least another coat of paint and looked like it had just been shoved on there without much thought. There was no full length mirror, in fact no mirror in the bedroom at all.

The bathroom door did not fully shut and although the bathroom was quite large, the sink was placed very close to the radiator/towel rail, which made the space seem tighter than it ought to have been...given there was plenty of wall space for the radiator elsewhere. There were no towel hooks on the door/walls, so the towels (which were not like 4 star hotel towels as they were hard and starchy) were hung on the radiator, taking up an extra inch or so of space by the sink that would've been helpful given the tight space. The fact that the radiator was boiling hot made things even trickier...and I am a small person!

As I didn't have breakfast booked, I wanted to make a cup of tea or coffee in my room in the morning. I did not dare to boil the kettle as it had a thick black crust on the bottom of the kettle which smelled awful. You really need to put a new kettle in that room!

The bed was comfortable. And the tv was absurdly huge...so good if you like that kind of thing. The staff on reception were helpful and friendly - so it wasn't all bad. But I wouldn't stay there again.

Room Tip: Avoid room 243 if possible!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nat_jaeger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
roldan. Murcia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Lovely welcome, exceptionally friendly helpful staff, from the minute you walked through the front door, they made you feel special. Nice big rooms, not sure I like the kitchen and dinning in the bedroom! I would not like to entertain in it. Vary clean. Had a problem with the internet and they came up twice yo sort it and then I had to move rooms, but they gave me a bottle of worn for my inconvenience. Great location and no noise. DEFINATELY stay here again! Nite to GM your staff are a credit to you!

Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank lynette080660
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeskyStevens, General Manager at The Richmond, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for your wonderful comments.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us here at The Richmond and will be sure to pass on your comments and feedback to our team, they really do appreciate it.

Hope to see you again on your next visit to Liverpool.

Kind Regards

Steven Hesketh
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk wirral
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here last night on 1st impression looked very nice . Room was ok but cold and very dark no wardrobe or hanging space at all . Massive tv bed was comfy but could only really get in out one side . Bathroom had a musty smell shower flooded the floor had to throw the towels down .. window was in a dark dingy alley so hence the darkness in the room . Eve meal was ok soup was warm but not hot had to ask for butter for roll ... brie starter was overcooked ... beef main was dry and bit solid for a long cooked piece small portion too. We didnt have a sweet ... breakfast was self service fruits cereals ect great but hot buffet was awfull bacon sausage like rubber and luke warm dissapointing many hotels niw do not cook breakfast fresh .. asked for 2nd pot of tea the same teabags used and was like hot water .... we had this on a big daily deal voucher at £99 not sure whether room be any better if booked differently .. very close walking distance to attractions bars restaurants ect . Msny hotels in liverpool so wont try again

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank c8burg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeskyStevens, General Manager at The Richmond, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review.

We are sorry your stay with was not as enjoyable as it should have been.

We appreciate feedback from our guests and will take on board all of your comments to see where we can make improvements.

We would very much like the opportunity to welcome you again to The Richmond.

Kind Regards

Steven Hesketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maffra, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We arrived at The Richmond not knowing what to expect of both the hotel and Liverpool. Both are fantastic. Not only was our room spacious and beautifully furnished but the staff were fantastic too- nothing was too much trouble for them. We feel as though we have become a part of the family here after only a few short days. Les, the concierge, was extremely helpful in suggesting and organising sightseeing, restaurants and pubs for us to go to. We will definitely be back!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Denise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeskyStevens, General Manager at The Richmond, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for such a lovey review of The Richmond.

We are thrilled you had such an enjoyable stay with us and are so pleased with your wonderful comments.

We will be sure to pass on your feedback to our team members.

Hope to see you again when you are next visiting the UK.

Kind Regards

Steven Hesketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LA, California
Level Contributor
55 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

We paid about the same for a suite at the Richmond as we might have elsewhere for an ordinary room. The suite was very large, with a full kitchen and all done in excellent taste. The best ratio of quality and price of anywhere we stayed during our 10 day UK trip.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hypefreetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeskyStevens, General Manager at The Richmond, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review The Richmond.

We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and really do appreciate the feedback.

We hope to see you again next time you are visiting Liverpool.

Kind Regards

Steven Hesketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tonbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed in a 4 bedroom apartment. Absolutely fantastic hotel. Staff were amazing and friendly, they couldn't do enough for us. At breakfast they went out especially to buy soya milk from a shop when requested. The concierge managed to book us in last minute at a restaurant called Delifonseca in Stanley Street, the food was fabulous, large portions and very reasonable.

Unfortunately wasn't able to fit in the spa/sauna across the road, which was a shame, just not enough time in one weekend.

The only downside was a couple of the rooms in the apartment had slight damp on the walls, but I'm still giving this place 5 stars because you just couldn't fault the service. The bar is also 24 hours, what more do you want!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rachel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeskyStevens, General Manager at The Richmond, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 9 June 2014
Thank you so much for your wonderful review!

It is great to hear you had such an enjoyable stay with us for your friends Birthday celebrations.

We will be sure to pass on your lovely comments to our team.

We look forward to seing you again soon.

Kind Regards

Steven Hesketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 912 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,890 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#19 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heywood House Hotel
#16 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,477 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,323 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Address: 24 Hatton Garden, Liverpool L3 2AN, England (Formerly The Richmond, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Richmond, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond in City Centre, Liverpool is the perfect location, split between the business, education, leisure and retail sectors of the city. A luxury accommodation concept, The Richmond offers 4 Star Hotel Bedrooms, with interlinking capability into full serviced apartment, all with the usual benefits of a four star hotel. It's design, makes it most ideal for every style of visit or various length of stay. The property is a Grade II Listed iconic building. Offering free Wi-Fi throughout, Air-conditioning, Mini Fridges in all Rooms with complimentary fresh Milk & Water, Upscale Toiletries, Smart TV's, 24hr Room Service and Suites & Apartments also offer full Kitchen facilities. Furthermore, take advantage of other facilities including the "R" Bar & Brasserie boasting amazing Best of British dishes, and some onsite Car Parking. Finally for exclusive wedding & events, private dining or conferences in our three event rooms: The William & Kane Suite or Florentyna's offering up receptions of 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Richmond, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing