We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Could be so much better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Could be so much better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014

We booked The RIchmond as a get away treat as we had arranged to go to the theatre on the Friday night.
The hotel is in a good location for the city with approximatey 10 minute walk into the centre. Parking is available at a discounted rate at a nearby carpark which is one of the main reasons we chose this hotel.
When we arrived check in was rather chaotic to say the least. Unfortunately it seemed a wedding/hen party had turned up at the same time and the lobby was full wih people and baggage. The rest of us had to queue almost out of the building. After about 20 minutes we managed to check in and were given apartment 41 (if my memory serves me correctly!) Room 41 is situated on the ground floor and is directly next to the restaurant / bar. Once we got in the room we were very impressed. Very high ceilings, really well furnished and with plenty of space. Our first concern was that we were right on the street level so were worried about potential noise but as it seemed okay during the day we were not overly concerned. The only slight initial hitch was that there was no hairdryer in the room which is very unusual these days, however we asked reception and one was brought to us.
After settling in, we popped out to buy provisions so we could make our own breakfast in the well equipped kitchen and then set off to enjoy Liverpool.
Returning back to the hotel after the theatre around 11pm this is where the problems started. The noise levels are ridiculous! First of all, the plumbing system is a real problem if you have a room on the ground floor, if people flush the toilet in any rooms above you it sounds that niagra falls is about to come cascading through the roof. Now I'm all for water features but this is not quite what I class as relaxing, and believe me it happens a LOT! Secondly, the bedroom wall in our room was directly shared with the bar, so you have the soothing sounds of talking, laughing, banging and a wonderful choice of music trying to rock you gently off to sleep. Another issue is the fact that you are only a few metres away from the lobby so can hear the gaggle of hen parties screeching their presence on the way in and out. Once we got to around 2am we both had enough and went to reception to ask to change rooms.
Now the one redeeming feature of this hotel is the staff, they really are willing to help and friendly.
I explained the issue to the poor guy on the night reception and he offered us an alternate room for that night, however it would be needed back for a wedding the following day (we had booked for 2 nights and the hotel appeared fully booked the second night). We decided to take it as it was the only hope we had of having at least some sleep with the intention of cutting our trip short and heading home a day early if an alternative wasn't found.
The new room was great, just as spacious and lovely and quiet, we eventually had a much needed sleep until we were woken up by a member of staff entering (without knocking) early in the morning to clean it (obviously not been told that it was occupied so not their fault).
Thankfully a room was found for us on the second night, so we decided to stay. Things then improved a lot. We were put on the 3rd floor at the back of the hotel which was great. Again a nice room and thankfully, much more peaceful than the previous one (we did still get the obligatory yelling occasionally from the drunken wedding party heading back to their rooms and various points of the night, but thats not really the hotels fault)
In summary, this place could be great, the rooms are well equiped and certainly the staff I encountered tried their best. However I am of a strong opinion that the rooms on the gound floor, especially the rooms in apartment 4 are no way fit for guests due to the unacceptable noise leves from the plumbing and the bar. (clearly the hotel are aware of this as it has been mentioned in previous reviews I notice). Would I stay here again? Probably not, which is a shame as it does have potential.

Room Tip: Avoid ground floor rooms at all costs! Especially the 40's.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Klancs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,023 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    998
    608
    249
    110
    58
See reviews for
228
1,072
25
159
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (387)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cumbria, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

As I was on a break with my boyfriend we wanted a lovely hotel to stay in and that is what we got! The Richmond is located in the city centre and is only a short walk from Liverpool one and surrounding areas. I was worried that there would be an issue with noise but our room was so quiet and peaceful. The hotel itself is gorgeous and the room we were in (422) was comfortable and spacious with a large bathroom and walk in shower! And the most comfortable bed I have ever slept in!

We opted for the off site parking which was in a Qpark located a few minutes walk from the hotel, and was relatively good price for the two nights that we were parked there (approx £15), onsite valet parking is offered for an extra charge.

We only had breakfast at the hotel on one of the mornings and it was a self serve style cooked breakfast with cereals, pastries and numerous fruit juices available, It cost £8 a person and the staff were very helpful and friendly.

The only downside about the hotel was that there was no mirror in the room so I had to do my hair in the reflection of the telly, but that's only minor!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aneska93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glencoe, South Africa
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014 via mobile

When visiting Liverpool this is the place to stay. Best service during our trip in the uk. I can really recommend this hotel. very central, within walking distance from the station and city. make sure to do the hop on hop off bus tours, ask the friendly hotel staff to assist you with tickets. Hotel staff are very helpful. rooms are clean and comfortable. I can also recommend having breakfast and dinner at the hotel, great tasting food!!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michele W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Everything was excellent about this hotel, especially the staff. On arrival the Concierge Valet service was excellent. Check in easy, and with a smile. Map supplied of the area which proved most helpful throughout our stay. The staff at breakfast, were most helpful and smiling. A most enjoyable stay in Liverpool.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeskyStevens, General Manager at The Richmond, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 10 July 2014
Thank you so much for taking the time out to write a review.

We really do value your feedback and our team will appreciate the positive comments.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Steven Hesketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverool
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

What a lovely little find , friend and I went for afternoon tea , lovely place , presentation was lovely as was the sandwiches and cakes !! waitresses were friendly and attentive . Will certainly go again .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank lyandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchcombe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2014

Great hotel and great value. The hotel is stylishly fitted out and the team very friendly. The bathroom is large and has a choice of bath and a great shower. Beds very comfortable and the room I had was lovely and quiet. My room could be sold individually or as part of an apartment, so as a group travelling together this would be great, as you have an outer door and then 3 inner doors. It was my first ever visit to Liverpool and I would highly recommend this hotel to any other visitors.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank emma j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2014

Great hotel. Good location & very nice and spacious rooms. Ate in restaurant two nights & food was very good, although service on both nights was very slow. All staff we met were helpful & friendly. Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bacon1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#21 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,845 reviews
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Heywood House Hotel
#16 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,454 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Address: 24 Hatton Garden, Liverpool L3 2AN, England (Formerly The Richmond, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 99 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Richmond, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond in City Centre, Liverpool is the perfect location, split between the business, education, leisure and retail sectors of the city. A luxury accommodation concept, The Richmond offers 4 Star Hotel Bedrooms, with interlinking capability into full serviced apartment, all with the usual benefits of a four star hotel. It's design, makes it most ideal for every style of visit or various length of stay. The property is a Grade II Listed iconic building. Offering free Wi-Fi throughout, Air-conditioning, Mini Fridges in all Rooms with complimentary fresh Milk & Water, Upscale Toiletries, Smart TV's, 24hr Room Service and Suites & Apartments also offer full Kitchen facilities. Furthermore, take advantage of other facilities including the "R" Bar & Brasserie boasting amazing Best of British dishes, and some onsite Car Parking. Finally for exclusive wedding & events, private dining or conferences in our three event rooms: The William & Kane Suite or Florentyna's offering up receptions of 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Richmond, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing