We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Fantastic Experience”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

I visited the hotel on Friday 18th July for a charity event. The food, organisation and staff are first class. The surrounding are unique and modern. I great option for your event.
Rita Hunter
Director
Rita Hunter Travel

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rita H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeskyStevens, General Manager at The Richmond, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear Rita,
Thanks so much for hosting your event with us and great to hear it was a fabulous success. Your comments are most appreciated and look forward to seeing and hosting many more for you!

Kind Regards
Steven Hesketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,034
    633
    256
    115
    65
See reviews for
240
1,108
26
165
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (399)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Solihull, UK
Level Contributor
707 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 555 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

I think this hotel is like Marmite – you either love it or you hate it.
I stayed here looking for a City Centre location to get to and from the Open Golf Championship at Hoylake. It is right in the middle of the City Centre, although without any directional signs that I found and ‘up a sidestreet’. Car Parking is an issue, I used the Dale Street Car Park which is a very clean 24/7 Car Park. I used the discount card from the Hotel and paid £16 for 42 hours parking. I did however have a problem on leaving. I inserted my card to leave and the machine referred me to the non-existent cashier. I rang for assistance and waited 10 minutes to get through. I was told someone would be on their way but could take up to 30 minutes. I rang the help line and got through to a Call Centre in the Netherlands!!! Very poor service - frankly it was a huge downer on my stay. No fault of the hotel.
The hotel is converted from a former Municipal Building and definitely feels like that. It is an Apart-Hotel and rooms vary in size and some apparently have cooking facilities. My room was on the first floor and one of 3 rooms in an ‘apartment’. There is a lift and 3 sets of stairs. The corridors are wide and plainly decorated. The room itself was a double. It measured 6m x 6m in totak with the bathroom of 2m x 2m. The bathroom was built within the confines of the original space and so had a false ceiling in which the air conditioning was installed. This was very efficient and fully controllable. The room had high windows starting at head height with floor to ceiling drapes. The room had plain cream walls and a plain pale brown carpet. The bed was a large double ample for a full stretch out. The headboard was a high quilited backboard. The wardrobe was an integral unit with a safe. The furniture was completed by a single desk chair. Desk unit and 2 bedside tables in dark wood. There was a fully stocked mini-bar (Coke £2.50 & beer £4.50) and a hospitality tray. The bathroom had a wash-hand basin and a wet area with 2 shower heads (normal and drench).
The room worked well. The hospitality tray was adequate, the black out ok, lighting levels were ‘mood’ – just ok, and the bed comfortable. There were ample pillows and toiletries and towels were very good. The desk arrangement was convenient for working. The wifi was excellent. Huge television with clear explanatory screen to start with Freeview and other services.
There were some issues, that others might find annoying, reception was a little perfecuntory (I wasn’t told how to get to my room) though I found the other reception staff I encountered much more positive and I found the pre-arrival eMails a nice touch with a very friendly and positive tone), the room wasn’t completely serviced – the waste paper bin wasn’t emptied and the part used toiletries not replace. The Room was clean on arrival and after servicing. The hospitality tray only was provided with ground coffee – fine, but there was no instant alternative or decaff or hot chocolate.
Also the hotel has had to use internal plumbing so every few minutes (or so it seemed) the sound of waste water came cascading down behind the wall of the bathroom. It is as well a City Centre hotel in the University area – late night revellers, constant calls of seagulls, background noise of traffic and an 0530 arrival of three fire engines to the building opposite – all suggest if you are looking for peace and quiet somewhere else might be a better choice.
My score (out of 10): Location 9; Car Parking 8; Accessibility 6; Reception/Check Out 7; Size of Room 8; Facilities in Room 7; Facilities 5; Hotel Decor 8; Service 7; Value for Money 7.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Topkoppite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeskyStevens, General Manager at The Richmond, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Wow! I cant help but start with commending you on your own achievement of reviews, it is actually personally for me - a favourite when I read reviews from those that have reviewed so many, so seriously well done and great achievement.
On to your review, I again have to commend that you have wrote a true and honest reflection of your stay and this highlights some area's for us to relook at and address.
As an independent Hotel we have converted the former Merseyside Transport Building, in what has been a huge job of this Grade II listed building. Your review has been communicated in a very thorough and constructive manner and we appreciate this as we continue to strive to improve, deliver and enhance our offering in this growing competitive market.
The team and I appreciate your review and would love for you to come back in the future, as we continue our journey to grow and enhance the Richmond.

Thank you & Kind Regards
Steven Hesketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed in the apartment. Good clean, comfortable room. Chandelier in room did not work but was only staying the night. Breakfast very good. Was in walking distance to all amenities. Would definitely recommend this Hotel/Apartment.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Joan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeskyStevens, General Manager at The Richmond, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thanks kindly for your lovely review, sorry to hear about the chandelier, certainly should of worked, but glad to hear it didn't hinder the stay and all else was great.
The team our aware the small items like that make the difference in achieving the perfect score, so appreciate your honest and constructive feedback.
Kind Regards
Steven Hesketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lydd, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
140 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Set in the centre of the city and close to Lime Street station and Liverpool One, The Richmond is a very pleasant place to spend a night. The standard room is adequate in size but not overly large but for a 1 or 2 day stay, it's fine. The bed is comfortable, the bathroom clean and well equipped and there are tea and coffee making facilities. Would definitely be back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jonathan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cramlington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Friendly staff and a great hotel, right in the heart of Liverpool.

Short walk to centre of town or the docks, Liverpool's central perk coffee shop is directly opposite and there is use of the health spa across the street included

Will definitely use again

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PMPhotoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for a city break in Liverpool and found the hotel to be well located with easy access to city centre. The apartment design was different and was easy to get lost if you weren't concentrating. The room was small but cosy and well equipped. My wife and I eat in the bar on the first night and whilst the menu was simple it was very tasty and apart from a few loud droppers by we enjoyed the atmosphere. One slight drawback was the car park which was two blocks away and difficult to find. It should also be noted that the parking rate was £8 a day which whilst isn't bad for an overnight stay but could get expensive for a longer stay. That aside, I can't quibble and is a good option for a stopover.

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Rhodri D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Recently stayed for a mid week break. Lovely hotel, friendly staff and excellent food. Didnt make it to the Spa as so much to do in Liverpol Town Centre. Ideal located and central to all amenities. Taxis very cheap to get anywhere outside of town.

Room Tip: Wqe stayed in a room near to reception and the bar. Easier for access to bar and quick access to Roa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tracie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HeskyStevens, General Manager at The Richmond, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Such a lovely review.

Thank you so much for taking the time to share your comments.

So pleased to hear you had an enjoyable stay, please come and visit us again soon!

Kind Regards

Steven Hesketh
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
3,959 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#21 of 97 in Liverpool
950 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#13 of 97 in Liverpool
2,347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
1,364 reviews
Heywood House Hotel
#17 of 97 in Liverpool
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond, BW Premier Collection

Property: The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Address: 24 Hatton Garden, Liverpool L3 2AN, England (Formerly The Richmond, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 97 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Richmond, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond in City Centre, Liverpool is the perfect location, split between the business, education, leisure and retail sectors of the city. A luxury accommodation concept, The Richmond offers 4 Star Hotel Bedrooms, with interlinking capability into full serviced apartment, all with the usual benefits of a four star hotel. It's design, makes it most ideal for every style of visit or various length of stay. The property is a Grade II Listed iconic building. Offering free Wi-Fi throughout, Air-conditioning, Mini Fridges in all Rooms with complimentary fresh Milk & Water, Upscale Toiletries, Smart TV's, 24hr Room Service and Suites & Apartments also offer full Kitchen facilities. Furthermore, take advantage of other facilities including the "R" Bar & Brasserie boasting amazing Best of British dishes, and some onsite Car Parking. Finally for exclusive wedding & events, private dining or conferences in our three event rooms: The William & Kane Suite or Florentyna's offering up receptions of 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Odigeo, Lastminute, Hotels.com, Prestigia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Richmond, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing