We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Richmond Hotel, Liverpool”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #34 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We stayed here as a couple for two nights in August 2014.
Don't be put off by the immediate entrance. The hotel opened a year ago but is housed in what was the old head quarters of the transport system for Liverpool. Our room was accessed from one door in the corridor leading to three rooms which can either be used independently or as family rooms. Everywhere was clean, well appointed and still looked fresh and new.
The breakfast was plentiful with fresh fruit, self service hot food and the usual cereals toast etc.
We didn't eat there in the evenings.
It is well placed for Lime St. Station and the Albert Dock is about a fifteen minute walk away.
The staff on reception were pleasant and helpful.
At £70 per room per night b&b it was exceptional value.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Gail A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,225)
There are newer reviews for The Richmond, BW Premier Collection
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1,600 - 1,606 of 2,226 reviews

Reviewed 20 August 2014

at £150 per night with no breakfast included we felt this was a bit overpriced.The room had no mirror apart from in the bathroom so difficult for women to dry hair etc.The room was not serviced during our two night stay and we had two false fire alarms at 7.00 each morning.The plug in the bathroom did not work.
On the plus side the staff were all very good and very helpful

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank keith182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We visited for champagne afternoon tea as part of a voucher deal effectively getting it half price. We waited 45 minutes, with no explanation, for our food to arrive; the restaurant was only about one third full. The afternoon tea itself was very disappointing, even for the reduced price we paid- 3 small finger sandwiches, a shortbread biscuit, 2 small cakes and one very small scone each with jam & cream. The food itself was ok but I wouldn't return here for this as a full paying customer. I'd rather go to Panoramic, pay the same full price and receive an abundance of nice food, excellent service and views.

It's a shame as I do like this hotel. Although I've never stayed here I have been for Sunday lunch before which was great and I will return for. The bar/restaurant area is nicely decorated and there is a good cocktail list. However the staff on our visit, although very pleasant, were difficult to access; they didn't seem to walk past the tables at all and congregated on the far side of the bar from us seemingly standing around. We had to walk to the bar several times to ask for missing items, drinks orders etc.

Similar to an earlier reviewer, when we visited there were also tiny flies all over the mirrors in the toilet and a couple in the restaurant where we were eating. The toilets are below par when compared to high standard of decoration elsewhere so hopefully they will sort this out soon.

The Richmond does seem to be trying hard to get it right but isn't quite there yet. I doubt anyone will return for the afternoon tea until they are a little more generous and creative with the sandwiches and cakes.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Honest_Mr_n_MrsSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Richmond for the first time and upon arrival we were greeted by friendly professional staff. Our car was valet parked (nice touch) and although we were extremely early and our room was not ready we were checked in to save time later. One slight issue was when we did get our room it was not up to standard as it was small and smelled very damp. However we rang reception and were moved immediately to a much better room. The stay was very enjoyable with big comfy beds and it was nice and quiet. Rooms immaculate and bathrooms spacious. The only negatives would be the windows would not open so got a bit stuffy and the bedroom could do with a mirror!!! We took advantage of the free spa the next day to end a very great stay. Would definitely recommend this hotel

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank lisaSLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Nice upmarket hotel with a bit of class, clean, spacious, polite staff and good breakfast .will return thanks Richmond , Liverpool is a lovely place to visit for a fun weekend away and some lovely art museums

Room Tip: Didn't get to try spa and pool but it is just opposate
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

Stayed at the Richmond last week as part of a surprise birthday trip to Liverpool. Upon arrival the receptionists seemed kind and welcoming. The room itself was large, spacious and clean. Bed was suitably comfy, with no issues to report.
The bathroom was reasonably sized and looked beautiful. However the shower made a spectacularly loud clunky noise as soon as it turned on as if the shower head was about to fall through the ceiling, very unnerving!
We were treated to breakfast in bed the next morning which we ordered the previous night. A large plate of all sorts of food could be had, a wide range of choice!
Across the road was the Olympus spar which is part of the hotel. We went twice it was so good, a particular highlight of the stay.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lee_J1108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

we stayed here recently and chose the Richmond because it was central and sounded really good .. our room was like an apartment type but not very big although the bathroom was .. there was not enough drawer space in the room and no mirror so I had to use the television switched off as a mirror in order to plug things in and sit down whilst getting ready. . because there were three rooms in one all the water wastage from other rooms caused noise we heard rushing water one night which sounded like it was in our room but was actually someone flushing the loo .. also there is building work going on right outside and every morning we were woken up early by banging and knocking .. plus the curtains were enormous and had no pull rods on them so people had yanked them and therefore one set didnt shut properly . Overall we had a good time and the staff were lovely but this hotel would benefit from a few simple changes.

Room Tip: all the rooms are apartment style apparantly but I would ask for one farthest away from the building...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 1,951,242
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 98 in Liverpool
4,146 reviews
Hotel Indigo Liverpool
#12 of 98 in Liverpool
2,452 reviews
Central Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
Aloft Liverpool
#20 of 98 in Liverpool
1,074 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
Liverpool Marriott Hotel City Centre
Heywood House Hotel
#15 of 98 in Liverpool
1,597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Richmond, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Richmond, BW Premier Collection

Address: 24 Hatton Garden, Liverpool L3 2AN, England (Formerly The Richmond, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 98 Hotels in Liverpool
Price Range: £50 - £192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Richmond, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Richmond in City Centre, Liverpool is the perfect location, split between the business, education, leisure and retail sectors of the city. A luxury accommodation concept, The Richmond offers 4 Star Hotel Bedrooms, with interlinking capability into full serviced apartment, all with the usual benefits of a four star hotel. It's design, makes it most ideal for every style of visit or various length of stay. The property is a Grade II Listed iconic building. Offering free Wi-Fi throughout, Air-conditioning, Mini Fridges in all Rooms with complimentary fresh Milk & Water, Upscale Toiletries, Smart TV's, 24hr Room Service and Suites & Apartments also offer full Kitchen facilities. Furthermore, take advantage of other facilities including the "R" Bar & Brasserie boasting amazing Best of British dishes, and some onsite Car Parking. Finally for exclusive wedding & events, private dining or conferences in our three event rooms: The William & Kane Suite or Florentyna's offering up receptions of 200 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Agoda, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Richmond, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing