We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Suprised” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bank Bar and Brasserie - CLOSED

The Bank Bar and Brasserie
Price range: US$22 - US$46
Cuisines: British, French, International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: The history behind this Grade II listed Liverpool Bar and Brasserie is very interesting. Founded by two brothers Benjamin and Arthur Heywood, the Heywood’s building was built in 1799 and is Liverpool’s oldest bank building.Now home to one of the ‘coolest’ bar brasserie's in Liverpool, The Bank, It incorporates much of the original features. Laden with all the modern luxuries we have now come to expect, The Heywood’s Building retains it spectacular design and architecture.Come and enjoy our International cuisine or just relax in our stylish bar with cocktails and enjoy our live entertainment.Wedding breakfasts can be arranged in our restaurant, with wedding receptions being held for up to 130 guests. After the reception, guests can head downstairs to our secret bar which holds up to 80 guests.Bartenders will serve your favourite blend of drink or cocktail. With your own personal DJ or band, when the music starts flowing you can move to the dance floor and dance the night away.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Suprised”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had a normal booking in here last night and after reading some of the more negative reviews we were very apprehensive in going.
When we arrived the place was a bit empty but it was a Sunday evening and most places are empty to be fair.
Our food from starters to desert was cooked to perfection by what seemed a very young, happy looking female (makes a change) chef, the staff were polite and service was excellent, we would like to return at a busy time to see if it remains the same, we also found out that the owner of the Hotel next door, Heywood House, which is one of Liverpool's best, (we have stayed many times) now owns this restaurant so we imagine that soon negative reviews will soon stop.
Over all, we thoroughly enjoyed it and probably one of the best meals we have had for a long time, Thanks, we will return for a very tasty looking Christmas menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank usthemandnotyou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasKennedy, General Manager at The Bank Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your dining experience here at The Bank Bar & Brasserie.

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your meal and will be returning to celebrate the festive season with us.

Don't forget to pre-order drinks for your Christmas meal as we have some great offers on pre-ordered wine, beer and even our Big Bank Cocktail Bowls!

Thanks again,

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    9
    8
    6
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good deal from Wowcher”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

First time I had been since it had change and it was as good as ever. I had purchased one of the deals from Wowcher and it was a very nice.

My only complaint would be the starters were very small but the rest of the meal more than made up for it.

I had fishcakes to start or I should say fishcake and my partner had pate. We both had lamb shank for our main and it was beautiful, the lamb were very tender and just fell off the bone.

For pudding I had cherry bakewell cheesecake and my partner had panicotta (please excuse the spelling!!) and they were gorgeous. Would definitely go again.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank alison p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasKennedy, General Manager at The Bank Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Hi,

Many thanks for posting a review on Tripadvisor. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and have passed your comments onto the team. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
48 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Awful. Awful. Awful.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

Nothing good to say about this whatsoever.
We bought a Wowcher for a 3 course meal and 2 cocktails. We were seated immediately by a nice lady on the front then it spiralled downhill from there.
It took a half hour for our first drink to arrive despite asking the waitress where it was. Each time the 'we're really busy at the minute' excuse came despite there being only approx 7 tables occupied. Asked for water, jug given. No glasses. Had to use wine glasses.
Starter of fishcakes came and pate. Only 1 fishcake. Raw garlic chunks on the pate. Still no drink. Drinks finally came 2 mins before mains. Rump steak medium rare and lamb shank. Steak was extremely well done and resembled that of a Tesco value steak and chips looked like the previous nights chips warmed up. Lamb was sound.
Wine menu then taken away without asking if we'd actually like any. Told waitress of poor steak and told "oh really that's a shame".
Finished drinks.
Left without dessert.
Absolute 100% worst dining experience of my life. Staff appeared directionless. Must have been managers night off.
All this and a guitarist/singer lady who was indeed very talented but also turned up extremely loud making the whole ordeal rather weird. Like we were at a gig eating food rather than the other way around.
We'd made reservations for here the week before via Toptable in the afternoon and when we turned up the place was closed. No emails/messages were sent to explain this.
The whole experience was dross. Abysmal.
If you go here you are an imbocile.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NoraMean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasKennedy, General Manager at The Bank Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience with us here on Tripadvisor.

Please accept my apologies that you did not enjoy your meal at The Bank and apologies also for any confusion with regards to the Wowcher deal.

We aim to exceed expectations of all our guests and I disappointed that we failed to achieve our aim on this occasion.

Your comments are very much appreciated and thank you for highlighting the problems you encountered. We will continue to invest in staff training to ensure we are able to meet higher standards of quality and service on a more regular basis.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
“Not so much of a Wow in our Wowcher, but did hear a "can't be ars3d."”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

We have been to this restaurant before and on that occasion had received good service and food but unfortunately this time round it was a completely different experience.

This time we had purchased a Wowcher deal for the restaurant. Our deal was for a 3 course meal from the a la carte menu with 2 cocktails. On arrival we were't greeted but just told to find our own table by the staff who were talking together in a corner of the restaurant.

Our waitress was very pleasant but presented us with a piece of paper with the "standard deal" menu we assume the restaurant use for other deals. When questioned regarding the a la carte menu we were told this is the menu for all deals including Wowcher. Unhappy with this we of course questioned it and showed the original deal listing on the Wowcher site.

Off she went and spoke to the manageress on duty this evening and returned saying it was Wowcher's fault and that the advert was at fault. Unfortunately we are not so easily fobbed off and informed our waitress that we had no communication from Wowcher to inform us of any mistake and would like the deal we had purchased, e.g., from the a la carte menu.

The waitress duly went and spoke to the manageress again, when we overheard the manageress say "I can't be "ars3d" arguing" and we were presented with the correct menu.

Unfortunately for us a number of items were not available tonight taking us very close to the original paper menu we were initially offered (shock eh?).

Overall the food was poor and even at the price we paid we were left a little disappointed.

I dare not ask how many Wowcher customers have been fobbed off with the special deal menu rather than receiving the deal they actually paid for.

We were disgusted by the attitude of the manageress and politely told the waitress to advise her not to speak so loudly in ear shot of the customer in future.

Also the temperature in the resturant was turned down and it became cold during our meal. ???

  • Visited November 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Anthony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasKennedy, General Manager at The Bank Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Many thanks for taking the time to review your experience with us.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you left here disappointed and not wanting to return. As you state in your review, we have been in discussions with Wowcher due to the mistake on their website to which we were informed that all customers would receive an email notification with an explanation. The Wowcher deal runs from our Bank Banquet menu to which we did extend to offer a wider range of choice to Wowcher guests.

Thank also for bringing to my attention the issues you encountered with a member of our team. I have discussed your comments with the team member internally.

Once again, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused during your visit and thank you for your review.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wirral
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Woocher ”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013 via mobile

First time visit for me, and I found it to be very nice . Starters ok main course good value for what we paid on our deal . Service was good very friendly and made us feel welcome. Would I recommend to friends yes

Helpful?
Thank Nellie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasKennedy, General Manager at The Bank Bar and Brasserie, responded to this review, 29 October 2013
Hi Nellie,

Thanks for the review. I'm glad you enjoyed your meal and especially the service that our team provided for you.

I have passed your comments on to them and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bank Bar and Brasserie also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing