We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very good”
Review of The Bank Bar and Brasserie - CLOSED

The Bank Bar and Brasserie
Price range: US$22 - US$46
Cuisines: International, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene
Dining options: Private Dining, Reservations
Description: The history behind this Grade II listed Liverpool Bar and Brasserie is very interesting. Founded by two brothers Benjamin and Arthur Heywood, the Heywood’s building was built in 1799 and is Liverpool’s oldest bank building.Now home to one of the ‘coolest’ bar brasserie's in Liverpool, The Bank, It incorporates much of the original features. Laden with all the modern luxuries we have now come to expect, The Heywood’s Building retains it spectacular design and architecture.Come and enjoy our International cuisine or just relax in our stylish bar with cocktails and enjoy our live entertainment.Wedding breakfasts can be arranged in our restaurant, with wedding receptions being held for up to 130 guests. After the reception, guests can head downstairs to our secret bar which holds up to 80 guests.Bartenders will serve your favourite blend of drink or cocktail. With your own personal DJ or band, when the music starts flowing you can move to the dance floor and dance the night away.
Reviewed 18 December 2013

I love this place. I loved it when it was called something else and I love it even more now. Great food great service. I should go more often; I forget how reasonably priced it is. It's not cheap - it's not Wetherspoons, but if you like good food in beautiful surroundings you'll love this place. I'm gonna take me mum there for the festive dinner, I went the other day with me mate and it was a very nice steak, some places it's hit and miss having it rare or blue but I was very happy with this one. They had nice entertainment too a nice lady sang and played guitar for me. I did have a bad experience there once but that was because I took a girl I'd just finished seeing there and she wept throughout, but she thoroughly enjoyed her meal too and it didn't ruin mine. I've learned my lesson since then though I just take them for a burger instead.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Henry29104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2013

Visited bank bar & brasserie on 14th December with party of 17. We were seated on arrival and left for 15 mins without being offered a drink. Had to ask twice before anyone came over to take our drinks order. Food was served promptly (pre ordered) but was luke warm at best. I had steak which was full of fat and gristle. Would probably get a better cut at asda smartprice.
Overall poor service and terrible food at too high price.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Dave W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasKennedy, General Manager at The Bank Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Hi Dave,

Thanks for the review and apologies that you left disappointed with our Christmas Menu. We have had many great compliments about our Party Nights and I am sorry that you did not enjoy your evening.

We will use your feedback for our future improvement.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 December 2013

We went for a meal 13th december, food was awful The Turkey Dinner was freezing gravy was cold meat was cold vegetables where rock hard and the potatoes where not cooked
the people who had the steak left it as it was full of fat and grizzle the prawn cocktails for starters had 2 prawns in it a party of about 14 and not one of us enjoyed definatley will not go back there again we where going to all have a dessert but decided we could not throw more good money away

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank maza1232013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasKennedy, General Manager at The Bank Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for choosing The Bank Bar & Brasserie and thank you for posting a review about your experience.

Your feedback is greatly appreciated as we continually look for ways in which to enhance the product and service that we offer to our guests.

Please accept my apologies that you left disappointed with your experience and I hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again in future.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2013

I was one of the party who was disappointed at Sunday lunch on 1st Dec (see earlier review) and had further doubts when a few days before our office's planned visit on 13th Dec, the restaurant changed the Christmas menu we had booked on months before. However we went anyway and the difference in experience was marked.The revised menu was fine, the quality of standard dishes such as pate was greatly improved and the desserts especially went down extremely well. (Even though many of us were full, we gorged on Christmas Pud; Lemon Torte or Chocolate gateaux because they were all so delicious.) It was not perfect. The plates could have been hotter to keep the food warmer for longer and the turkey portions could have been a little more generous. On the whole though the food and service was good. This was the experience that we had hoped for on 2nd December so let's hope that lessons were learned from our earlier complaints and this standard sustains and continues to improve.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JudRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasKennedy, General Manager at The Bank Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for posting a second review about your experiences with us here at The Bank. I'm delighted that you have noticed positive improvements in the service that we provide and have passed your comments onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2013

Restraunt was empty, it was a Thursday evening around 7pm, there was one other table of two. We arrived and orderd drinks, then orderd food - I orderd scollop and belly pork with apple and fennel salad
My dish arrived with no belly pork which I brought to the waitresses attention to which she took back the plate to the serve were we could see the chef be very aggresive towards the complaint, he the threw a bit of chicken on the dish and sent it back to me , the waitresses explained there was no belly pork - why was this not stated when I orederd
I did not want chicken so again the dish was returned, I finally got the dish back minus the pork to my suprise the dish had no fennel in the salad which was stated on the menu , so two main elements were missing from my dish
My three friends got burgers and chips - the chips were raw in the middle and one of the burgers stone cold in the middle
After complaining and having the items taken off the bill we could see the chef in the open front kitchen being only what I can call narky and not interested
I then emailed the Bank to tell the management of how dreadfull are experiance was - to receive No Reply What so Ever
The only good thing in there was the waitress who was very attentive and looked like she got it in the neck from the angry uncapable chef

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MrReview2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ThomasKennedy, General Manager at The Bank Bar and Brasserie, responded to this reviewResponded 21 December 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review your dining experience with us via TripAdvisor.

Please accept my sincere apologies that you did not receive our usual high standards of quality and service during your visit. I have discussed the issues you have highlighted with the team in order to improve our service in future.

We endeavour to act on all positive and negative feedback that we receive and I apologise that you did not receive a reply to your original email. I would be more than happy to discuss your experience with you should you wish to contact me directly on 0151 224 1444 or via email gm@heywoodhousehotel.co.uk

Thomas Kennedy
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Bank Bar and Brasserie also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing