We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service, damp on walls”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
L3 Living at Irwell Chambers
1 review
“Poor service, damp on walls”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

I just stayed at Irwell Chambers for 6 nights.
The apartments appear clean and modern on first arrival however
like other reviewers I found the servicing non existent.
No new clean towels or bedding or any cleaning or servicing of any kind for the whole of my stay (6 nights),
No towel rails or hooks in the bathroom so difficult to dry towels,
No waste bin in the kitchen so had to just pile rubbish in one corner,
Large damp patch on wall behind television which got bigger every time it rained,
Poor quality mattresses which make for an uncomfortable nights sleep and bad back in morning.
Heaters seem inadequate, I wouldn't like to stay here in winter, it was cold in August!
WiFi was also erratic and slow
Also an odd smell (stale cigarette smoke?) when you enter the building.
No information was offered to me in case of emergency and there are no customer service packs at all.
The lift was out of action so two large flights of stairs to climb.
I was disappointed with the apartment and would not stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    7
    5
    6
    9
See reviews for
13
15
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

This must be the best value for money in Liverpool! We stayed for two nights at a cost of only £60 for the whole apartment, which was clean, modern and comfortable and very close to the city centre. The staff were friendly and helpful.
On our arrival there were no signs at the exterior to indicate that it was a hotel so we were confused about which entrance to use; we phoned the number given on our booking documents and someone came immediately to let us in and show us round. Maybe a small sign on the door to show that it was L3 Living wouldn't go amiss.
The windows in the apartments are not double glazed so we didn't sleep very well the first night because of the constant squawking of seagulls outside but this is only a minor negative.
We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

We stayed here at the end of June for 2 nights. Apartments are well equipped but there is a damp musty smell as soon as you enter. On arriving at the apartments there is no one there to meet you so you have to call a number which we did and they said one of the builders would let us in, he proceeded to ask for payment which we were stupid enough to hand over without getting a receipt, then when we came home I was checking my bank statement and lo and behold they have taken payment from there as well. Hence the reason for late review but I have emailed them on a number of occasions got one reply back and nothing since my last 3 emails. So beware on how you pay. Hopefully I will eventually get my money back

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sheels89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
richmond
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Have stayed at merchants quarters several times and due to it being full we decided to try Irwell Chambers . I guess we where spoiled by Merchants ! This place was just OK ...if it was my first stay either L3living it would've been my last . Elevator was being built during our stay so it was exhausting being in a walk up apartment . No one told us where to take the trash .wifi didn't work . The Apartment had a view of a gay bathhouse and the noise from the city bar late at night was annoying ...great location for the Grocery store and moorefields station but they where the only good points !

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ringo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Liverpool hotels

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 July 2014

I stayed in number 24 for seven nights and wish I had pushed for a change of apartment. On arrival there was a horrid smell which I thought was damp. However this worsened and I recognised it as stale smoke. Although a double lock on the door (which I used every day) I had the sense someone had been in my place as the double lock was never on in the evening. These are not serviced apartments so what we're they going in for? Clean towels? Bins emptied? Or maybe just a nose around or a smoke??? There was no change to my apartment, bins still overflowing and towels where I left them. Luckily I didn't have anything worth stealing! I reported the fact I thought somebody was going in but was met with a very non reassuring attitude. This aside, only one tea towel, a shower that didn't rise up and down, a fridge that makes a racket, no backs on remote controls, a mould stained bathroom floor, windows that don't open and you can't see out because they haven't been cleaned since god knows when, a bedroom that is flooded by a street light - over a wine bar so be prepared to be woken up at 3am, not only by drunks but by a road sweeper..... you call yourself four star??? Really? Let's say I won't be coming back and I recommend you don't stay here either... Maybe just a bad experience but I won't be going back to find out and I certainly will not be recommending!!!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Helen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Stayed here with 3 other people. There was no reception and we could not enter the complex in arrival . We had to phone a landline number that transferred to a mobile number. An out of hours member of staff (5.15pm) answered and arrived 15 minutes later to let us in. We were taken to wrong apartment initially and then to correct apartment. The staff member told us we could leave our bags with her when we checked out and collect them after the football match. However, on the departure day a different member of staff told us that this was impossible and the other staff member had given us the wrong information. That same member of staff had knocked once and walked in to our apartment at 10.15am to remind us that check out was at 11.am sharp. We had to pay for so called free wifi .

Room Tip: Not our room (27)
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TracyBridgette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Called to ask about check in, there was someone to meet me as planned. Stayed in appt 7 and I was pleased as soon as I entered the building. The appt was well equipped and I quickly made myself at home. Prepared a lovely lamb roast dinner and enjoyed a very pleasant evening. The appt is located just behind the Town Hall so is close to all bars/shops. I would stay here again and would recommend these appts if you are looking for more than just a hotel room

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sharen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
Z Hotel Liverpool
#18 of 97 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,345 reviews
Central Liverpool
Merchant Living Serviced Apartments Limited
Central Liverpool
L3 Living - The Merchant Quarters, Liverpool
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Liverpool
The Racquet Club Hotel & Ziba Restaurant
Central Liverpool
The International Inn & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L3 Living at Irwell Chambers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L3 Living at Irwell Chambers

Property: L3 Living at Irwell Chambers
Address: Union Street, Liverpool L3 9TZ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool > Central Liverpool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 101 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — L3 Living at Irwell Chambers 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your L3 Living at Irwell Chambers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing