We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Afternoon tea lovely- service shocking!!”

PIMA bar at the Hilton Liverpool
Ranked #556 of 1,700 Restaurants in Liverpool
Cuisines: Bar, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Bar Scene
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Drinks, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Afternoon tea lovely- service shocking!!”
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I booked in here for afternoon tea for a friends birthday the place itself it's lovely the food was very nice doesn't look like you get a lot but it really fills you up. There was an lady working the afternoon tea area who was very rude to most people but was completely ignoring us really felt like she was looking down her nose at us this made our experience unpleasant and every table around us got a check back but we didn't, all the tables around us got cleared away nope not ours 45minuets we was sat there with the empty board and plates. I don't understand why we were treated like this because out of everyone there we were ordering more drinks really made the experience unpleasant and had put me off going back !!

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimberley271187
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    42
    25
    30
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Superb!!”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Afternoon tea was an early Mothers' day treat from my daughter.
Genuine friendly greeting,taken to a choice of tables & given Afternoon tea menu.
We opted for the Pink Champagne choice.
The pink Champagne arrived in fluted glasses with half strawberries on the rims.
The cakes & sadwiches arrived on a wooden stand in fitting with the modern decor of the hotel.
A delicious selection of sandwiches & what tasted like home-made cakes followed.
Then a choice of teas or coffee,we chose Earl Grey to finish what i can only say was the best afternoon tea i've ever had.
We shall definately return.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sheepio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
243 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Had a wonderful meal here, yes expensive but fantastic.
they do deals which looked good, we didn't as I fancied something off the main menu.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank 186336John_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Birthday cocktails”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

My sister organised a girlie treat for my birthday and we were booked in to PIMA for cocktails before heading somewhere else for lunch. After and uncomfortable few moments in the revolving door (I managed to get stuck) we were shown to our booth and provided with menus. My Mum is in a wheelchair and there was plenty of space to navigate around, and for her to sit at the entrance of the booth and reach the table. In fact it didn't feel like she was in her wheelchair at all. The staff were friendly and helpful and the cocktails were fabulous. I was then presented with a beautiful plate with two little cakes on it and the words Happy Birthday scrolled in chocolate - I thought my sister had arranged this, but she hadn't - not many establishments go that extra mile nowadays and this was a lovely surprise. We will most definitely be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sally N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Llandudno, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good music and great atmosphere.”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Really good music on Sat 28th Dec and great atmosphere.
Drinks of reasonable prices.
Recommend popping in.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank BecGav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed PIMA bar at the Hilton Liverpool also viewed

 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to PIMA bar at the Hilton Liverpool? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing