We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We have always eaten well here”
Review of Light of Bengal

Light of Bengal
Ranked #367 of 1,716 Restaurants in Liverpool
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
England
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“We have always eaten well here”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I suppose we have been going to this restaurant on and off for over ten years. The standard of meals has always been very very good though I think we tend to order the same thing. Different waiters have come and gone over the years but we have always found them very pleasant and welcoming. I am not quite sure who this "Mr Misery" is that seems to cause so much dismay !!! The other night an older man did come over at the end of the meal to as us if everything had been satisfactory - maybe it was the man referred to in other review, but he was fine. I have seen him before and whilst he may not be cracking smiles the entire night he was most certainly pleasant.The restaurant is very close to us and so is convenient but hand on heart I could recommend it to those even if they had to travel somewhat. The food is, to my mind, way above bog standard Indian fare and the prices are very very reasonable. All in all I think this is a very good Indian restaurant. It is true however that the decor is very dated but that doesn't bother us.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Grechophile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    21
    4
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
liverpool
Level 6 Contributor
89 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Unsure now.....”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We used to come here all the time and thought it was the best indian around without actually trying other places,once we'd tried others we realised that it wasn't the best at all,I've read some of the reviews and have to agree with some of the comments,we have rang on a number of occasions and asked them to reserve a particular table for a particular time only for the i'll call him the maitra d but he may be the owner,to give the table away,this because he feels that a phone reservation is not as valuable as someone actually inside the restaurant,the last time this happened was for my sons 21st birthday which was the last time we attended and will be the last time we attend,also we've been in there when they've been cleaning up while people are still dining,the maitra d has absolutely no manner about him very abrupt and never smiles when taking your hard earned,however I've never had any complaints about the food some my review is average to be fair,have to say the waiters are not a problem here and always happy to help,maybe if they get rid of mr miserable things will improve

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank deltheblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best for takeaway”
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Wonderful food with good portions and good value. Slow but worth it.

Never just turn up and order or you will wait about an hour so always telephone.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Manster72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Light of Bengal shines on...”
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I have been going to the Light of Bengal restaurant at least once a month for the past 14 years. I almost decided not to review it as I don't want loads of you to fill up the tables, but I was incensed by the previous reviewer. You will have a good experience here, good beer, friendly service and plenty to choose from on the menu...delicious curry, scrummy side dishes and friendly staff. I have had virtually every dish from this menu, and I never tire of going back. It's not haute cuisine but traditional curry house food, in fairly traditional curry house surroundings, and if that's what you are looking for there's none better in South Liverpool

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lola48-07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
“Poor service with excessive charging with no till receipt”
Reviewed 11 August 2013

We (party of two) have used this restaurant on a number of occasions and have always judged it as the average type of rundown Indian restaurant. On this occasion we turned up early on in the evening without prior reservation and were reluctantly given a window table which looked as if it was being kept for a party of four. We should have taken this reluctance to offer a table as a sign and moved on, however we didn't . All started well our drinks came quickly as did our poppadoms but after waiting over half an hour for our starters we decided to call it a day. I spoke to the manager who said he would check up on the status of the food and upon his return he advised us that it was not imminent. Having started our drinks (one pint and half a shandy )and consumed four poppadoms I brought out a ten pound note out of my wallet to pay which was snatched out of my hand without an apology or till receipt. My advice is be careful where you eat. There are a lot of more honest and customer focused Indian restaurants in the area

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Light of Bengal also viewed

Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 
Liverpool, Merseyside
Liverpool, Merseyside
 

Been to Light of Bengal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing