We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite good enough”
Review of May's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
May's House
Certificate of Excellence
Oppegard, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Quite good enough”
Reviewed 12 March 2014

The internet connection was very bad in our apartment, but ok in the lobby. Didn't get enough clean towels when we asked for it, but the friendly staff sorted it out(perhaps due to our bad english). Beds good enough and in total quite spacious for 6 guys. No problem walking into town, but can feel long for small children or elderly people. 15mins walk to closest super market.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thostorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    40
    14
    4
    13
See reviews for
29
44
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

Me and 3 of my friends from Manchester stayed here on the 1st march for one of my friends birthday. We was greeted off the girls there, one girl showed us too our room, she was lovley and asked if we needed anything. We was very very very happy with out apartment it had everything in there, lovley and clean, very big, fresh clean bedding, extra bedding and clean towels. We could see the river Mersey out of the bedroom window, It was miles more than what we expected! The location couldn't have been any better, it was only £3.00 in a taxi away from concert square where we had a great night out! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who stays in liverpool! It is 1000% worth every penny. Me and the girls will be back soon to stay here! They are hands down the best apartments we have stayed in! Thankyou to the girls who work there, you made our stay extra special!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataliejayne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. We were a group of girls staying for the weekend. Our apartment was huge! Kitchen and bathrooms spotless. Owners couldn't do enough for us, really helpful and sweet.
Perfectly situated for Liverpool Centre. Would not hesitate to stay there again, in fact I've been looking for an excuse!
Only suggestion would be Ten girls getting ready for a night out could have done with a few more mirrors and a bin in the bedrooms. Minor thing though.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RouteSixtySixGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed at Mays house for Monday til Friday in early February 2014 whilst attending a course at Liverpool Uni.

I found the apartment to be a very good size and have all the amenities I'd expect; large bedroom with dresser and cupboard. large bathroom with bath and shower. kitchen with toaster, microwave, fridge (don't think it had a freezer compartment but it might have) and then some leather sofas, TV with built in DVD and coffee table.
There were pots and pans, plates, cups and glasses so you weren't too limited on first impression.
After living there for a few days I had a few very minor gripes such as lack of a sharp knife and colander in the kitchen but the main issue was the lack of wifi which is very important to me so i could do my uni coursework. I asked to get this fixed and to be fair the guys running the apartment were very apologetic and made a effort to rectify it but said they were awaiting engineers. The TV also had such a poor signal it was unusable.
A few days later and a visit from the engineers had rectified both problems and at every point an effort was made to help me out.

The location was very good, 10 minutes from the town centre, 30 from the uni and about 5-10 from the anglican cathedral. I believe there was a tesco nearby in Toxteth but I didn't visit that.

After a week the apartment seemed quite spartan/sterile with very limited decoration but the important things such as bed/sofa were very comfortable and quiet and for the price I can't complain at all!

Slightly thicker curtains in the bedroom would help as the white fabric blinds did not stop much light!

I'd definitely return for that price!

Room Tip: Room 8 had weak wifi signal (possibly temporary issue) and is on the road but the road was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aledj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed at May's Place for 2 nights with my daughters, shared a one bedroom apartment. The place was immaculate, had everything you need and more. The staff were great with us, nothing was to much trouble.
The location was fab only £3.00 taxi into centre. I would definately recommend Mays Place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keeley38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 February 2014

Just back from a weekend in Liverpool staying at May's House with a group of friends for my birthday. We stayed in the Penthouse which was absolutely spot on- just what we needed. We were met by a lovely lad who carried our bags up, showed us around and was just really friendly. The apartment was clean and spacious and brilliantly located for Liverpool One and Albert Docks - couldn't fault it. Thank you

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Alison B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Me and the lads visited Liverpool and stayed at Mays house. The staff here were great when we got to Mays house to our surprises we got upgraded to the penthouse instead of being in separate rooms, we were delighted. The penthouse was brilliant every room in there was huge! The whole apartment were really clean, and you could tell that the apartments are new as everything was very modern. We felt really safe in the flats and couldn't thank the staff enough for everything they done for us, they even gave us a late check out. Every time I visit Liverpool now I will be staying at Mays house apartments and I would recommend this place to all.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank john d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Central Liverpool
30 James Street, Home of the Titanic
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Nadler Liverpool
#2 of 97 in Liverpool
4,065 reviews
Travelodge Liverpool Docks
#51 of 97 in Liverpool
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May's House

Property: May's House
Address: 102 Mill Street, Liverpool L8 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 106 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — May's House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a serviced apartment provider, based just 5 minutes from the centre of Liverpool. Our apartments offer so much more space, flexibility and functionality than any hotel. Our concierge service has been adapted to ensure that you make the most of what our amazing city has to offer. Mays House endeavors to ensure your experience is that of a 'Home-From-Home' feeling. May's House also offers free wi-fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your May's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing