We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of May's House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
May's House
Certificate of Excellence
norfolk
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2014

We stayed at mays Hotel recently whilst our son recovered from surgery .We were contacted on the day of our arrival to give an ETA and a further txt from us 30 mins out of Liverpool ensured that we were met at the door on arrival.The staff could not have been more helpful and obliging and made sure that we had a ground floor apartment and kept enquiring to see if there was anything else that we required. Thank you Ryan
.The apartment was clean very comfortable and spacious and had everything we needed.
If one was planning to cater onsite to any degree you would need to bring extra utensils for cooking and serving food coffeepots etc . There were more than enough pots and pans plates glasses cutlery and cups.
It is easy 15-20 min walk into the centre of Liverpool and there is an excellent and very frequent bus service No 82 (every 8 mins) into Town situated at the top of the road with stops in both directions.
A big bonus to this place is that there is free and reasonable parking onsite and in the street if the small carpark is full . We never had a parking problem coming to and fro from the hospital

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mooredup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    37
    10
    4
    7
See reviews for
24
41
1
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

After coming back from holiday and go to pay for petrol i notice I can not due to May house taking £100 from my account without any notice! No phone call, email or voice mail. horrendous management and what worry's me still is that they have access to my account whenever they feel!

Unacceptable and taking the matter further. Beware!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank nick h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oppegard, Norway
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2014

The internet connection was very bad in our apartment, but ok in the lobby. Didn't get enough clean towels when we asked for it, but the friendly staff sorted it out(perhaps due to our bad english). Beds good enough and in total quite spacious for 6 guys. No problem walking into town, but can feel long for small children or elderly people. 15mins walk to closest super market.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thostorm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

Me and 3 of my friends from Manchester stayed here on the 1st march for one of my friends birthday. We was greeted off the girls there, one girl showed us too our room, she was lovley and asked if we needed anything. We was very very very happy with out apartment it had everything in there, lovley and clean, very big, fresh clean bedding, extra bedding and clean towels. We could see the river Mersey out of the bedroom window, It was miles more than what we expected! The location couldn't have been any better, it was only £3.00 in a taxi away from concert square where we had a great night out! I would recommend this hotel to anyone who stays in liverpool! It is 1000% worth every penny. Me and the girls will be back soon to stay here! They are hands down the best apartments we have stayed in! Thankyou to the girls who work there, you made our stay extra special!

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nataliejayne23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 February 2014 via mobile

Loved this place. We were a group of girls staying for the weekend. Our apartment was huge! Kitchen and bathrooms spotless. Owners couldn't do enough for us, really helpful and sweet.
Perfectly situated for Liverpool Centre. Would not hesitate to stay there again, in fact I've been looking for an excuse!
Only suggestion would be Ten girls getting ready for a night out could have done with a few more mirrors and a bin in the bedrooms. Minor thing though.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank RouteSixtySixGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2014

I stayed at Mays house for Monday til Friday in early February 2014 whilst attending a course at Liverpool Uni.

I found the apartment to be a very good size and have all the amenities I'd expect; large bedroom with dresser and cupboard. large bathroom with bath and shower. kitchen with toaster, microwave, fridge (don't think it had a freezer compartment but it might have) and then some leather sofas, TV with built in DVD and coffee table.
There were pots and pans, plates, cups and glasses so you weren't too limited on first impression.
After living there for a few days I had a few very minor gripes such as lack of a sharp knife and colander in the kitchen but the main issue was the lack of wifi which is very important to me so i could do my uni coursework. I asked to get this fixed and to be fair the guys running the apartment were very apologetic and made a effort to rectify it but said they were awaiting engineers. The TV also had such a poor signal it was unusable.
A few days later and a visit from the engineers had rectified both problems and at every point an effort was made to help me out.

The location was very good, 10 minutes from the town centre, 30 from the uni and about 5-10 from the anglican cathedral. I believe there was a tesco nearby in Toxteth but I didn't visit that.

After a week the apartment seemed quite spartan/sterile with very limited decoration but the important things such as bed/sofa were very comfortable and quiet and for the price I can't complain at all!

Slightly thicker curtains in the bedroom would help as the white fabric blinds did not stop much light!

I'd definitely return for that price!

Room Tip: Room 8 had weak wifi signal (possibly temporary issue) and is on the road but the road was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aledj2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Stayed at May's Place for 2 nights with my daughters, shared a one bedroom apartment. The place was immaculate, had everything you need and more. The staff were great with us, nothing was to much trouble.
The location was fab only £3.00 taxi into centre. I would definately recommend Mays Place.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Keeley38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Liverpool hotels
Jurys Inn Liverpool
#20 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,259 reviews
The Nadler Liverpool
#1 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,779 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pullman Liverpool
#6 of 99 in Liverpool
4.5 of 5 bubbles 869 reviews
The Dolby Hotel Liverpool
#42 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Central Liverpool
The Liner Hotel
The Liner Hotel
#25 of 99 in Liverpool
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to May's House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about May's House

Property: May's House
Address: 102 Mill Street, Liverpool L8 5UD, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Merseyside > Liverpool
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 99 Speciality Lodging in Liverpool
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — May's House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are a serviced apartment provider, based just 5 minutes from the centre of Liverpool. Our apartments offer so much more space, flexibility and functionality than any hotel. Our concierge service has been adapted to ensure that you make the most of what our amazing city has to offer. Mays House endeavors to ensure your experience is that of a 'Home-From-Home' feeling. May's House also offers free wi-fi and free parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your May's House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing